Non-trimmable Roms

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by joeinnit, Aug 8, 2006.

Aug 8, 2006

Non-trimmable Roms by joeinnit at 11:55 PM (1,311 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. joeinnit
    OP

    Newcomer joeinnit Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    so far I've found:

    Nintendogs - Best Friends
    Kirby - Canvas Curse
     
  2. ron555

    Member ron555 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Aw, FUCK.


    Are you sure??? I trimmed it with the supercard!
     
  3. Topsy

    Member Topsy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Canada
    I trimmed it on a G6 Lite and had no problems... I think I'm on like world 4-2...
     
  4. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    I trimmed it as well, and the game played fine. I used soft reset, dofat, trim.
     
  5. Kilko

    Newcomer Kilko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    What does it mean when you "trim" a rom?
     
  6. Mactaetus

    Newcomer Mactaetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    I wonder too.
    Can anyone please explain?
     
  7. accolon

    Member accolon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Germany
  8. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    New Super Mario is trimmable for single player. No, I've never testing local wireless play, but I have heard numerous folks say that if you ever want to play wireless (excluding Wi-Fi Connection), you should never trim any ROMs that you intend to play.

    Also, Nintendogs runs fine here trimmed.
     
  9. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    NSMB works just fine for me in multiplayer trimmed, . Well, to be perfectly honest, one rom was untrimmed and the other trimmed so i assume both rom trimmed would work too.
     
  10. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,705
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nearly all roms have some junk FF's or 00's at the end of the rom you can drop without issue.
    A few GBA titles (mother 3 and Riviera are 2 that spring to mind) have a few junk bytes at the end that can be erased with a hex editor leaving it to be trimmed normally.

    Some early intros on GBA roms as well as a few translations and other hacks have their code put at the end of the rom too.
    The "pure" version of GBA Silent Hill has a date at the end of the junk section too which can cause ripping issues.

    The other form of ripping (linked in my signature for those that want more info) whereby you drop movies/languages/swap out sound for smaller versions... can be done on nearly all roms but it does not always produce a worthwhile result (sometimes you only lose 2 megs or so).
     

Share This Page