No real NTSC Support with PAL Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by BigEN, Mar 4, 2009.

Mar 4, 2009
  1. BigEN
    OP

    Newcomer BigEN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Greece
    Hey guys,

    sorry for asking if that asked before. I searched for it, but did not found something.
    So I decided to start a new thread...

    I'm running cioscorp and Preloader 0.28, and Starfall (all hacks enabled).
    And my Wii is on PAL with RGB Cable.

    So, I'm not able to run NTSC-Games in a right way.

    When I enable

    - Force Disc Region
    - Force Disc Region 2
    - Disc Area Check

    The game starts in Disc Channel but with a red screen

    ---

    When I disable

    - Force Disc Region
    - Force Disc Region 2

    but enable

    - Disc Area Check

    the game does not run, I get a black screen and the Wiimote disconnects



    So, I have no idea what to do?
    I'm thankful for any help!
     
  2. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    only use region free 1 [​IMG]
     
  3. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure what the options are on your set up, but when I run NTSC discs through the Gamma Loader selecting "Force PAL 60" fixes the red screen for me on the oldish TV I've got upstairs which doesn't like NTSC signals.
     
  4. BigEN
    OP

    Newcomer BigEN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Greece
    But as I wrote, I use cioscorp / patched IOSes and don't want to use any Backup Launcher.
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You may find a solution for about 50% of import games. There should be some patch that forces PAL video mode for all games. But about 50% of import games freeze with a green screen if you force the video mode to PAL if it's a NTSC game, some of them can be patched to PAL video modes, some not(Rygar for example can't be patched).

    You have to wait for a real cIOS that is able to force any video mode with any application/game.
     
  6. D-Jay

    Member D-Jay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I agree with that.
    There's no 100% solution available yet.
     
  7. BigEN
    OP

    Newcomer BigEN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Greece
    Thanks for the hint.
    A patch for Wii or for each game disc?
     

Share This Page