No more anchor tags?

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by DeltaBurnt, May 15, 2010.

May 15, 2010

No more anchor tags? by DeltaBurnt at 3:05 PM (1,732 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    It seems like someone disabled the anchor tag BBcode which lets you link to exact spots in posts.

    It used to work like this:

    Code:
    [anchor]link-name[/anchor]
    
    [link=link-name]This would link to the anchor above[/link]
    But now the anchor tag shows up like regular text :\
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    CODE strange, I can't get the anchor tags working anymore :(
    i removed those
    they were causing problems when editing threads

    [​IMG]

    Too bad because I use them a lot for my bigger topics :/
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Aww, too bad, I thought of using these in my FAQ but now I guess there will be no need to do that anymore [​IMG]

    But, it's not much of a hassle to just scroll down a bit [​IMG]
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a post with tons of them in http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...up-your-acekard they never caused me any problems with editing the post. [​IMG] Removing the tag has caused problems when editing it though, if I edit it now they appear as html.

    I'm willing to bet disabling them has caused 10x time problems editing posts than before.

    Still no tables either, practically every forum on the planet which uses BBCode has the BBCode tables enabled.
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I don't know any other forum which has them...
    (Eventhough it's easy to add them, you just replace < > by [ ] and it should work)


    Also quite funny that I can't use HTML in the sections I need the anchor tag [​IMG]
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if not someone has posted code to do them http://forums.invisionize.com/index.php?au...rial&id=266

    I've edited and saved my post with anchors in over 50 times and never had an issue. I've had tons of issues with the thumb tag causing the entire post to go blank though, but even then all you have to go is press the back button in the browser and you are back to the editing screen with your post intact. I've also had the odd occasion where inbalanced square brace has caused the entire post to go blank, but that's my fault.

    Can't Shaun create a quick user group to allow those who have used the anchor tag in their posts/ guides/ faqs to use them? So they can continue to edit those posts which already contain them, with the understanding that if it breaks or deletes their posts, it's tough luck as you were warned. Those that have never used the anchor tag before won't miss them.
     
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    That seems to be a blog for IPB 3.0, we're running IPB 2.3, so group permissions per BBcode aren't possible.

    Also, IPB doesn't have them default, it was just an example.


    Either way, as I said I never had problems with the anchor tags and would love to see them back. I wonder if the system un-parses it when posted as HTML [​IMG]
     
  8. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Aww [​IMG]

    I use them in some of my bigger topics too :\

    First you make signatures shorter, now you take out anchors?

    COSTELLOOOOO!
     
  9. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This.

    D:

    I had them in my PSP guide...
     
  10. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know i'm griping, but is this change permanant?
     
  11. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know, although I checked my guide and it's still anchoring. [​IMG]

    Didn't check the unparsed view, but it's probably still the BBCode anchoring.
     
  12. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dare you to edit it...

    If it were me i'd remove the spoiler tags, there isn't much in them and you have you have your anchor tags XD
     
  13. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anchors breaking posts? Noooo it's the thumb tag which does.

    I swapped a couple of img tags for thumb in my acekard guide http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=218103, and it saved fine. The post is fine too, until I go to edit it. Instead of editing the post I see, All I see is:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Try quoting my post in the guide, and you'll see what I mean.

    Bugger. Have a saved copy though, so no biggie. Not the first time the thumb tag has done it either, seems to happen often.
     

Share This Page