No idea what to do. USB loader GX hangs.

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by thejellydude, May 11, 2010.

May 11, 2010
  1. thejellydude
    OP

    Member thejellydude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    At this point I've tried so many things, I have no idea what to do. I'm currently on 4.2, using to guide found here: http://gbatemp.net/t171901-modify-any-wii-4-2-below
    As soon as I boot the loader though, all I ever get is a black screen with white text that goes as such:
    IOS 236 not found, Reloading into 36
    Starting up
    Initializing Controllers
    Initializing USB(wake up)
    Reloading Ios 249... 0
    Init ubfs... 0
    Initialize sd card
    Initialize usb device
    and then it hangs.

    I've had it work once or twice, but I just can't make it work anymore. It won't load from the channel or .dol
     
  2. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Almost definitely something wrong with your USB device. I don't know very much about USB loaders, but I do know you have to format it correctly (to wbfs). Did you do that?
     
  3. thejellydude
    OP

    Member thejellydude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Yes sir. And as I mentioned, it worked once or twice, and then stopped. I've tried reformatting it as well.
     
  4. nikeymikey

    Member nikeymikey Waiting for SALT to rescue the Wii U Scene!!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try a different loader, such as Configurable USB Loader. See if your drive works with that, if so you have 2 choices.....

    Stick with CFG USB Loader or track down the problem with GX.
     
  5. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    u should update your gx loader as well
     
  6. thejellydude
    OP

    Member thejellydude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Interestingly enough, I completely redid my mod, starting from my just-bought-wii NAND. Now USB load GX loads, but a lot of the time it crashes. (Just a black screen) Anyone else get this error?

    *Edit*
    I installed the channel under IOS36. Does that make a difference?
     
  7. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using CIOS 38 rev19? If so downgrade to rev14 (just install it over, dont delete anything!).
     
  8. thejellydude
    OP

    Member thejellydude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    I've reinstalled everything again, and updated and redownloaded everything. Now the code dump goes a little further.

    IOS 236 not found, Reloading into 36
    Starting up
    Initializing Controllers
    Initializing USB(wake up)
    Reloading Ios 249... 0
    Init ubfs... 0
    Initialize sd card
    Initialize usb device
    Loading fonfiguration
    Reloading IOS to config setting (222) -2

    Anyone know what this is?
     
  9. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Have you tried the suggestions I posted in the other thread especially the one where you start up GX and only power up your usb when you get to the error message about slow usb. Your latest thread would also indicate to me that you have not deleted the config files like I suggested.
     
  10. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    try uloader
    pimp my wii
     
  11. thejellydude
    OP

    Member thejellydude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Tried both, and just realized I deleted the wrong config files. (I use the same MicroSD card for my Wii and DS)
     
  12. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Still could be your USB device. Have you tried another loader like someone else suggested?

    I had a wierd HDD once before. Formatted it to WBFS, loaded games onto it with WBFS Manager, connected it to the Wii, fired up USB Loader GX, game list came up and could scroll but when ever you tried to press 'A' on anything, everything would freeze.

    I was almost certain it wasn't the HDD untill I tried it on another Wii and the same thing happened.
     
  13. mantaray

    Newcomer mantaray Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Wow, this is exactly my problem.

    I have the same boot report like thejellydude, just before GX loader hangs.
    It happens when I tried to set the IOS from 249 to 222, in the option menu before.

    Any solutions please? I'm awfully newbie for this softmod's biz.
     
  14. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have cIOS222 installed in the first place?
     
  15. mantaray

    Newcomer mantaray Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    I don't think so. I'm a bit confused about the IOS settings when I tried to play Monster Hunter Tri.

    Is there anyway I could reset the IOS setting in the GX Loader itself? It worked fine before.



    --------------------------------



    Edit : Phew, solved!!
    After deleting the gxglobal.cfg in the config folder, I finally got the Loader to boot normally again!
     
  16. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    delete the config files guys
    ESPECIALLY if you set it to load thru 222 and you dont have it, thats why it hangs
     

Share This Page