no DVD error

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Grish, Sep 21, 2009.

Sep 21, 2009

no DVD error by Grish at 7:49 AM (4,511 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Grish
    OP

    Newcomer Grish Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Philippines
    I was asked to update 2 hard modded wiis and one virgin wii to 4.1
    I used the 3 guides sticked here and was succesfully able to update all the wiis and the virgin now runs fine with neo gamma.

    I'm having one problem though with one of the hard modded ones. It can't read any guitar hero world tour or rockband 2 DVDs. It doesn't show on the disc channel and if I try using NeoGamma I get the no DVD (n) error.
    All other discs work fine, I've been able to run other backups without a hitch (so far tried punch out, muramasa, SSBB, and GH3) but I can't run guitar hero world tour, smash hits, or rock band 2.

    I've tried reburning the discs on different medias and all my burns so far works on the other wiis (the hard modded and the soft modded ones) but not this particular one.

    It seems like this wii can't read specifically gh wourld tour and up and rockband 2. Games that have band peripherals?

    Any ideas on what the problem could be?

    Thanks again to the community for the wonderful guides, I have learned a lot [​IMG]
     
  2. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Country:
    Philippines
    pre nasagot ko na yan dito search mo na lang

    to sumarize just remove or disable the modchip, i got a d2c modchip, just remove the 3.3v and ground so you could easily install it back
     
  3. Grish
    OP

    Newcomer Grish Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks for the reply!

    The owner of the wii still wants to run games through the disc channel and not use a loader. Just like the other hard modded wii.
    If it's a mod chip issue does that mean I need to upgrade the firmware?

    If that's the solution, my only issue is can upgrading a mod chip's firmware cause a brick
    and I still don't know what mod chip the wii has since it's not mine to begin with...

    but if I can't get the mod chip to work with these games I'll try out your suggestion. Thanks [​IMG]

    Anyone else had problems with band games with their mod chip and got it working?
     
  4. SirTempest

    Member SirTempest GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    upgrading the fw of a modchip won't brick your wii
    i have a d2pro and sometimes have the probleme, that the drive doesn't take in the whole disk, a few millimeters are missing. the easiest way for me was to start gecko and select load game.it said no dvd but the disk was taken in correctly then. maybe this is the same problem like yours. a fw-update for the chip couldn't fix this problem
     
  5. Grish
    OP

    Newcomer Grish Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Philippines
    so you encounter this problem randomly with other games? I've seen that problem happen, where the disc goes in but the wii makes a funny noise and the disc isn't read. Usually ejecting and inserting the dvd worked fine.

    the thing is with my issue I only have problems so far with games with band kits: guitar hero world tour, smash hits, rockband 2. Guitar Hero III works though.
    Funny though that disabling the mod chip worked for Happydance.

    I'm not ready yet to open up the wii and disable the mod chip because I don't know what the mod chip is yet nor I have any experience in hard modding a wii. Although if it does require some upgrade on the firmware or the mod chip on the wii is really defective then I'll have no choice but to disable it.

    any other suggestions?
     
  6. Grish
    OP

    Newcomer Grish Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hey guys I noticed that rockband beatles works fine with the wii. It's just the guitar hero series and rockband 2 that doesn't work. The only thing I noticed is the iso files that I use have a console-ID of S while rockband beatles has a consol-ID of R like all the other iso files I've tried which work fine on the wii.

    I want to try modifying the guitar hero world tour iso to have a console-ID of R instead of S. A little bit of research has led me to wiiscrubber but I don't know which part in the partition I should edit to modify this.

    What does wiibrockblocker read to get the info such as the console-ID.. better yet, what should I edit on the iso to change the console-ID. I'm not sure this will work but I want to give it a shot...
     
  7. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Country:
    Philippines
    if you hardmodded 2 wii's already, disabling the modchip by removing 2 wires are nothing of a task than installing all wire of a d2cpro modchip.
     
  8. Grish
    OP

    Newcomer Grish Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Philippines
    No I didn't hard mod the consoles, and the person who owns the wii would like to use the disc channel instead of going into HBC or using another channel. They don't want me to disable the modchip. So i'm just checking what else I can do for them before I tell them the only way is to disable the modchip as you've suggested [​IMG]

    Only band game that works with that wii is RB:Beatles. I just noticed that all the other band games have a console ID of S(unknown) according to wii brick blocker. RB:B has a console ID of R(wii). Long shot I know, but who knows it might work if I change the console ID. Although every time I try to change the boot ID using wiiscrubber I get an error [​IMG] Any other way I can change the console ID of an ISO?

    Just want to give it a shot so I can tell the owners I tried everything I could think of [​IMG]
     
  9. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Country:
    Philippines
    i don't think it has anyting to do with the disc id, if it does then antthing with that s in the id you saying won't play on the wii

    if they still want to use disc chennel then just install cioscorp 3.4 the will will play almost any disc through disc channel and just play problematic games with neogamma. it will fudction just like a modded wii and you won't even notice that you have no chip. just cios corp and the right setting for preloader and all games are good to go on disc channel even ghost buster.
     
  10. Grish
    OP

    Newcomer Grish Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yeah I offered the owner to install cioscorp but they didn't want me to install it. They just wanted to safely upgrade to 4.1 and update the homebrew stuff. They still wanted to use the mod chip and use disc channel.

    Anyway I finally managed to find out what to edit for the disc ID. I used a hex editor but I also came across an app called WII ISO Renamer (just google it). I changed the disc ID with the console ID set to S to R and it worked!

    So it seems for some chips it can't read discs with a console ID of S / disc ID that begins with S. So you'll need to change the S to R. So far the band games except beatles have this ID. Hope this helps someone.

    Thanks all for the replies and taking the time to read this [​IMG]
     
  11. leonu

    Newcomer leonu Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I have Wii with D2CPro modchip on System Menu 4.1 and got the "error: no dvd(n)" error when launching some game such as
    New Super Maio Bros. Wii (SMNE01),
    Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Ultimate All-Stars (STKE08),
    Marines: Modern Urban Combat (SMAENR),
    Rec Room Games (SRRENR)
    in Neogamma v8 RC1 with IOS249 rev17.

    After using WII ISO Gametitle Renamer to change game id of New Super Mario Bros. Wii iso file from SMNE01 to RMNE01.
    and burn it.

    I can play the game.

    Thank you so much Grish.
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Don't revive threads.
     
  13. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Reviving threads to complain about things in the stickies are one thing, but his post offered thanks and a bit of info for other people who might have had the same problem.

    Better than starting a new thread though, amirite?
     

Share This Page