NitroSwan - A WonderSwan emulator for NDS

plasturion

temporary hermit
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
806
Trophies
1
Location
Tree
XP
2,426
Country
Poland
I'm using DS Lite with R4/wood and as for me sound button (select) works fine for wsc games on latest release (0.3.6). Also there's no issues while launching the game.
 
Last edited by plasturion,
  • Like
Reactions: Indy13

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
462
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,846
Country
France
does this emulator work much worse on DS than on 3DS or what? saying it's not in playable state is ridiculous from my experience, it's way past playable for most games, but maybe on DS it's very different? i suppose..?

The main problem of the DS fat/lite is the lack of RAM. Many games cannot be launched. The speed is OK.
To me, adding the abality to use a RAM expansion for old hardware would be very nice (same for NGPDS)
 

plasturion

temporary hermit
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
806
Trophies
1
Location
Tree
XP
2,426
Country
Poland
I wonder is it possible to fix some PCM sounds or disable. For example Kaze no Klonoa doesn't shout "Wahoo!" while jumping, but there's some shattered sounds instead. (as for me, better if he could be quiet, however I can used to this scratches even I beated the whole game lately and it's pretty great. Moonlight Museum In gray colors still feels and looks way better than gba competitor. There's more dificulty and has unique timing levels) The same shattered sounds are in example in Puyo 2, while moving a jellybean, or select stages. It makes unplayable with sounds.
In first post we read...
Basic sound emulation though no sample support yet.
so that explains the current state, I wonder if adding sample support will slow down emulation, but maybe some speed improvements are still possible. Looking forward for it.
For ws games only black and white color pallete works... there's some options that provides other colors (i guess like with custom color polarizer effect) but it won't work for me. It would be cool to add some colorizing effects like gbc does for gb games. Let's say geen-blue background palette and red tones for sprites. Or even better, Wonderswan has 3 layers (background, foreground and sprites), I wonder is it possible to give each of them different palette. I did some screenshots of separeted layers with oswan, edited colors and join them again, so this is how it could look like.
mixed.png

Anyway thanks for improving this emu. I'm happy how great it works for ds lite now and really enjoy it.
 
Last edited by plasturion,

wavemotion

Benign Geek
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
716
Trophies
1
XP
5,042
Country
United States
@FluBBa - had a really enjoyable sit-down with this emulator this weekend. Judgement Silversword is a must-play. I also got a chance to really dig in on Dicing Knight which is brilliant (apparently it was a homebrew that went commercial). The only problem was a bit of slowdown - it seems to be close but running about 80-85% normal speed on the DSi. I realize you're pushing maximum speed with some tight assembly code... not sure if you've tried a frameskip (say, rendering 75% or 50% frames) ... if that game could come up even just 10% in speed (a tall task, I know) it would be an example of a system exclusive that MUST be played by every classic gamer.

Thanks for your efforts here!
 

FluBBa

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
155
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.ndsretro.com
XP
1,345
Country
it seems to be close but running about 80-85% normal speed on the DSi.
Yeah, same with (almost) all games, the WS is default configured to run @75Hz, Firelancer is a home-brew that actually changes this to 60Hz to get more time in VBlank. I might take a stab at changing the DS update frequency but I'm not sure it can run @75Hz.
I will take a look at ch2 sample playing, at least turn it off if I can't get samples playing easy.
 

TheBeverage

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
77
Trophies
0
XP
553
Country
United States
Hm, I can't get Makai Toushi Sa-Ga's English patch to load. I get a "File to large"[sic] error. I am not sure what I'm doing wrong as someone else in the thread seemed to have it booting. I have the BIOS installed and am using an AceKard 2i on a DSi XL.
 

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
462
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,846
Country
France
m, I can't get Makai Toushi Sa-Ga's English patch to load. I get a "File to large"[sic] error. I am not sure what I'm doing wrong as someone else in the thread seemed to have it booting. I have the BIOS installed and am using an AceKard 2i on a DSi XL.

You use a flash card meaning you are limited to 4mb RAM which is not enough to load the ROM. You need to install Twilight menu on your internal SD card. You will gain access to 16mb RAM and 133Mhz CPU clock.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/1M4SCvbudCE