Hacking Nintendont

sharkticonnz

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
187
Country
New Zealand
Hi all sorry if its been covered before. Im using wiiflow lite on wii u (vwii) running nintendont through it. I is possible when exiting a gamecube game to exit to wiiflow instead of the vwii menu?
 

cueropedo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
55
Country
United States
Hi, just a suggestion, someone should update Nintendont so you can change the settings without the need to launch a game, it's pretty annoying when you have made Wii U VC Injections for GameCube and don't use the USB/SD in vWii.

Also, Wii U GamePad doesn't seem to work anymore on my games when I use said injection, not sure if someone has the same problem, or can help me, thanks.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,095
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
5,982
Country
Portugal
Hi, just a suggestion, someone should update Nintendont so you can change the settings without the need to launch a game, it's pretty annoying when you have made Wii U VC Injections for GameCube and don't use the USB/SD in vWii.

Also, Wii U GamePad doesn't seem to work anymore on my games when I use said injection, not sure if someone has the same problem, or can help me, thanks.
cant be done it would be a huge update, nintendont has no graphic interface so once the games are running there is not graphic stuff to pull from, since nintendont itself doesnt have any graphic controll at all, so you would need to write one from scratch.

Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498 also
the wiiu gamepad will be player 1 if no hid is connected to usb ports, if an hid is connected to usb ports wiiugamepad goes to player 2, so if you have 498 and gamepad doesnt work it means you have a usb controller connected and gamepad is player 2
 
  • Like
Reactions: grimson

cueropedo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
55
Country
United States
cant be done it would be a huge update, nintendont has no graphic interface so once the games are running there is not graphic stuff to pull from, since nintendont itself doesnt have any graphic controll at all, so you would need to write one from scratch.

Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498 also
the wiiu gamepad will be player 1 if no hid is connected to usb ports, if an hid is connected to usb ports wiiugamepad goes to player 2, so if you have 498 and gamepad doesnt work it means you have a usb controller connected and gamepad is player 2

Hard to believe such a simple change would require that big amount of work, but oh well.

Anyway, I fixed my problem, it looks like my nincfg went corrupt or something like that, I made another and now it's working fine, not sure how it went corrupt though.

Maybe easier to build a program that let you build the nincfg file on your PC, it's easier that having to swap SD Cards and install a GC just to change Nintendont settings.

Also the updater seems broken.

Thanks for the help!
 

N7Kopper

Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
884
Country
United Kingdom
cant be done it would be a huge update, nintendont has no graphic interface so once the games are running there is not graphic stuff to pull from, since nintendont itself doesnt have any graphic controll at all, so you would need to write one from scratch.

Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498 also
the wiiu gamepad will be player 1 if no hid is connected to usb ports, if an hid is connected to usb ports wiiugamepad goes to player 2, so if you have 498 and gamepad doesnt work it means you have a usb controller connected and gamepad is player 2
A better suggestion (if it hasn't been done in a latest version I missed) is to allow Nintendont to take loader arguments in Wii VC mode. Both the latest Homebrew Channel and most loaders support Wii VC now.
 

cugel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
416
Country
United States
Make sure you are on latest nintendont for the gamepad to work latest is 498

How do you update Nintendont, exactly? I downloaded the latest loader.dol and renamed it to boot.dol and overwrote it on my sd card. It still says it's version 6.489 from Oct 2019. The "Update Nintendont" option doesn't seem to do anything and trying the other update menu entries crash my Wii U so hard I have to pull the power cable.
 

cugel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
416
Country
United States
I guess the version number isn’t being updated properly. The link I gave is from 13 days ago.

EDIT: According to the NintendontVersion.h the version should display 6.498.

Could it have something to do with the forwarder I'm using? I wouldn't think that would be an issue but it's the only thing I can think of.
 

cugel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
416
Country
United States
Try loading Nintendont directly from the Wii Homebrew Channel.

I had a different forwarder I was using previously and using that fixed the issue. I guess the forwarder I was using has an old version of Nintendont built into it, I had no idea that was possible.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,560
Trophies
1
XP
12,690
Country
United States
I guess the version number isn’t being updated properly. The link I gave is from 13 days ago.

EDIT: According to the NintendontVersion.h the version should display 6.498.

I just tested it about thirty minutes ago. that's what mine says:

upload_2021-9-18_8-43-53.png


--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

nm, looks like he fixed it.
 

KungBore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 9, 2020
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
184
Country
Brazil
Great news for Starfox fans!

The deflicker filter can be properly disabled by patching the game's Start.dol.

Steps:
1. Use GCRebuilder to extract SystemData/Start.dol from the game's ISO
2. Open Start.dol in a hex editor (eg. HxD)
3. Change the string 07070C0C0C0707 at offset 0x333894 to 00001516150000
4. Import the modified Start.dol back into the ISO (right click start.dol > import...)
5. 'Save changes'

It's also recommended to set Nintendont video width to Auto for this game, otherwise it seems to glitch and offsets the raster to one side, cropping some pixels.

However that may be fixable by patching the video mode structure in Start.dol to the desired width, but the geometry seems okay at Auto width so I haven't bothered with that yet.

Note this is for the NTSC version of the game; I am not sure if the PAL version uses a different vfilter than 07070C0C0C0707.

Interestingly, 07070C0C0C0707 is the same vfilter used by Mario Kart Wii.

edit: just to clarify with Starfox Adventures, when you first load the game, Nintendont correctly patches the vfilter out, and the main menu looks crystal clear. However loading a save game re-instates it, and exiting out to the main menu reveals the filter is now in effect. Thus, patching is necessary for this game.

edit2: after trying to modify video mode section to adjust the video width, I had no luck. I speculate Rare are setting the video width programatically which obfuscates the values in the hex data. It is possible to observe this as when the game initially launches it obeys our custom viWidth setting, but then at the main menu the width abruptly changes to 660. This is consistent with Extrems data for external resolution of 660, and my own observation using tape on my screen to match the width in the Nintendont menu when set to 660. So with a 480p output we end up with a 2.2% horizontally squished image since width should be 676 for 480p due to the 2.2% narrower pixels of 480p vs 480i which Nintendo's video interface is not compensating for. 2.2% is not the end of the world though :)
Does this fix work for Soul Calibur 2?
 

Maeson

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,979
Country
Yes, but it disables the fading to black effect when going through different screens. Not realiy much of an issue considering the increase in picture quality.

On the deflicker thread I talked about it with Nooblet Cheese, but I do not remember which page.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KungBore

KungBore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 9, 2020
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
184
Country
Brazil
Yes, but it disables the fading to black effect when going through different screens. Not realiy much of an issue considering the increase in picture quality.

On the deflicker thread I talked about it with Nooblet Cheese, but I do not remember which page.
Oh, that's interesting. Would you happen to know why disabling it in Dolphin doesn't affect the fading effects, and in real hardware, it does?
https://ppltoast.wordpress.com/2018/05/11/a-small-look-into-the-gamecubes-copy-filter/

I've tested disabling the Copy Filter in Dolphin and the fading effects work fine.
 

ccfman2004

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
2,612
Trophies
0
XP
2,246
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: KungBore

NoobletCheese

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
599
Country
United States
Does this fix work for Soul Calibur 2?


Unfortunately not, it needs the GXSetCopyFilter patch -- https://gbatemp.net/threads/possibl...de-flicker-filter.477163/page-10#post-9492091

And as MaeseJesus mentioned you will lose the screen fade effects in the menus which feels a bit weird.

For reference here were all the discoveries in that thread
https://gbatemp.net/threads/possibl...de-flicker-filter.477163/page-20#post-9514246


Oh, that's interesting. Would you happen to know why disabling it in Dolphin doesn't affect the fading effects, and in real hardware, it does?


At first I thought Dolphin was just removing the blending coefficients by setting them to 0's
eg. 08 08 0A 0C 0A 08 08 --> 00 00 0A 0C 0A 00 00.

But this would result in a 50% darker image
00+00+0A+0C+0A+00+00 = 0x20 ; 08+08+0A+0C+0A+08+08 = 0x40

I think Extrem's explanation is correct -- Dolphin must take the sum of all 7 vfilter coefficients, divide by 3 and set middle 3 to that value (middle 3 control brightness, first 2 control blend with above pixel, last 2 with below pixel).
 
Last edited by NoobletCheese,
  • Like
Reactions: KungBore
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
    mr_switch @ mr_switch: I just want a true dark mode theme for OLED Switch