Hacking Nintendont Controller-Configurations

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,322
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,282
Country
Portugal
that is for old nintendont versioins, and the file has to be placed if the controller is not hardcoded into the app. like the mayflash magic-ns
nintendont never changed how it reads ini devices, you can test it yourself, change a controller button on a ini on the controllers folder and you will see it wont change at all ingame.
 

Dcep1501

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
186
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
687
Country
United States
I have Gamecube Logitech Force steering wheel that i want to use on Mario kart GP 1 and 2. All i need to do is get the correct .ini file and put it into a sub folder? Is that file available on here and what sub-folder do i put it in?
 

Dcep1501

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
186
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
687
Country
United States
Use the app to generate the ini for your controller.
Put it where it should go.
Let us know if you run into problems, with details so we can help.
Does this mess with the controls for the other GC games? For example, the other racing games work fine with my logitech wheel, i just want to make MK GP (and MK GP 2 if possible) work with the wheel, as well. Hope that makes sense.
 

Neoks

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
24
Country
Germany
Hey guys quick question.
I have 4 gamecube controllers (CSL - Nintendo Wii U Wii GameCube Gamepad Controller - Vibrationseffekt - 2er Set) they work perfectly with the new smash ultimate adapter for gc.
Now my friend gifted me a new gamecube adapter (Gamecube Controller Adapter, Wii U Gamecube Controller Adapter, 4 Ports USB NGC Controller Gamepad Konverter Adapter für Nintendo Switch/Wii U/PC Super Smas Bros(Upgraded Version) from yccteam) and nintendont doesnt recognize my controllers now.
Is the adapter shit and should i give it back to him? I really wanna try it to make it work.
Hope someone could help me out.
Thanks
 

Neoks

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
24
Country
Germany
Hey guys quick question.
I have 4 gamecube controllers (CSL - Nintendo Wii U Wii GameCube Gamepad Controller - Vibrationseffekt - 2er Set) they work perfectly with the new smash ultimate adapter for gc.
Now my friend gifted me a new gamecube adapter (Gamecube Controller Adapter, Wii U Gamecube Controller Adapter, 4 Ports USB NGC Controller Gamepad Konverter Adapter für Nintendo Switch/Wii U/PC Super Smas Bros(Upgraded Version) from yccteam) and nintendont doesnt recognize my controllers now.
Is the adapter shit and should i give it back to him? I really wanna try it to make it work.
Hope someone could help me out.
Thanks
 

Scrubtacular007

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
37
Country
United States
Hi, I set up the Hori Battle Pad for the Switch and the pdp Wired Fight Pad Pro for Switch to work with Gamecube games, I'll leave them here :) If you swap them to .ini files they should be fine!

EDIT: The Hori Battle Pad doesn't work quite right, but the pdp one works fine :)

EDIT 2: Turns out the Hori pad doesn't work at all, that's my bad, i'll look into again in the future, if anyone else fixes it first, let me know!

Did you ever get this working?
 

RemnantKnight56

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Messages
62
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
404
Country
United States
New user here. I am currently working on getting the 8BitDo M30 Genesis controller working on the Wii. I wanted to use it for the Sonic Mega and Gems Collections, and it connects just fine in D-Input mode. I've nearly got it down, but I'm encountering problems with the D-Pad. Let me just post the values first.

00 00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Default
01
00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 A
02
00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 B
80
00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 C
08
00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 X
10
00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Y
40
00 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Z
00 08 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Start
00 04 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Mode
00 00 00 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 D-Pad Up
00 00 02 7F 7F 7F 7F FF 00 D-Pad Right
00 00 04 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 D-Pad Down
00 00 06 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 FF D-Pad Left
00 00 0F 00 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Left Stick X (Left)
00 00 0F FF 7F 7F 7F 00 00 Left Stick X (Right)
00 00 0F 7F 00 7F 7F 00 00 Left Stick Y (Up)
00 00 0F 7F FF 7F 7F 00 00 Left Stick Y (Down)
00 00 0F 7F 7F 00 7F 00 00 Right Stick X (Left)
00 00 0F 7F 7F FF 7F 00 00 Right Stick X (Right)
00 00 0F 7F 7F 7F 00 00 00 Right Stick Y (Up)
00 00 0F 7F 7F 7F FF 00 00 Right Stick Y (Down)
00 01 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F FF 00 Left Shoulder (L)
00 02 0F 7F 7F 7F 7F 00 FF Right Shoulder (R)

There are several hexes after this that are not used.

Note that you can swap the sticks and dpad by holding Mode + Up (D-Pad), Mode + Left (Left Stick) and Mode + Right (Right Stick).

So far I have been able to map the buttons and sticks properly, but the D-Pad values always turn out...odd. Here's my controller file so far:

[8BitDo Genesis M30]
VID=2DC8
PID=5006
Polltype=1
DPAD=0
A=0,02
B=0,01
X=0,80
Y=0,10
Z=1,04
L=0,08
R=0,40
S=1,08
Left=2,06
Down=2,02
Right=2,04
Up=2,00
StickX=3
StickY=4
CStickX=5
CStickY=6
LAnalog=9
RAnalog=A
DigitalLR=1
MultiLineIn=C,01
Power=D,01
MultiIn=E,01

I wasn't sure what MultiLineIn, MultiIn and Power did, so I just linked them to unused values.

Okay, now for the issue. With this particular setup, Left, Down, and Right are all positive, and Up is negative. When pressed, Left has no effect, Right changes itself negative, Up turns all negative, and Down turns itself negative. What exactly is going on here?

Also, the buttons work just fine when the controller file isn't present in the SD card, but once it is, they aren't recognized...most of the time. In a few of my tests they worked, but others they didn't. Have no idea what's going on there.

Hopefully this isn't too much to ask. I plan on working on the SN30 Pro after this is done, and I expect it will be similar!
 
Last edited by RemnantKnight56,

matt!

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
592
Trophies
0
Age
45
Website
www.gingerbeardman.com
XP
1,098
Country
United Kingdom
How are you connecting it to Wii? Adapter? Third-party or 8bitdo?

I notice they say on their site it does not work with Wii, so I'm intrigued.
https://support.8bitdo.com/faq/m30-bluetooth-controller.html

I have seen people use similar controllers in wired USB mode.

NES30/SFC30/SNES30 works, but I believe you need an old firmware version that supports Wii via Classic controller emulation.

https://gbatemp.net/threads/8bitdo-n30pro-on-wii.526658/
https://www.reddit.com/r/8bitdo/comments/6dr4eu/connecting_nes30_prosnes30_to_wii/
 
Last edited by matt!,

RemnantKnight56

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Messages
62
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
404
Country
United States
I am connecting it via USB in Dinput mode (hold Start and B), and using HID test to find the inputs. I at first considered using their Genesis adapter and then connecting it via a third-party adapter through the Gamecube...but it's cheaper just to connect through USB.
 
  • Like
Reactions: matt!

anlztrk

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
41
Country
Turkey
Does Nintendont's internal controller configuration override the controller.ini I made? I made a config for Logitech F710, but my bindings are ignored when I launch a Gamecube game, possibly because another controller shares the same PID and VID F710 has.

Here's my controller.ini:

Code:
[Logitech F710]
VID=046D
PID=C219
Polltype=1
DPAD=1
B=5,28
A=5,48
Y=5,18
X=5,88
L=6,04
Z=6,02
R=6,08
S=6,20
Power=6,10
Left=5,06
Down=5,04
Right=5,02
Up=5,00
RightUp=5,01
DownRight=5,03
DownLeft=5,05
UpLeft=5,07
StickX=1
StickY=2
CStickX=3
CStickY=4
LAnalog=0
RAnalog=0
DigitalLR=1
 

Freezingfurnace

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
14
Country
Australia
Trying to use faceoff psp wired pro controller with nintendont.
Made controller.ini and everything appears the to be working with hidtest. Buttons change from 0 to 1 when pressed and the control stick go from 00 to FF. But when I try to use nintendont the game select screen scrolls really fast, and if I launch a game (melee), and then plug the controller in, the hand will move to the top left of the screen and cannot be moved. Wiimote and nunchuck work fine.Here is my code:

[Faceoff psp Procontroller]
VID=0E6F
PID=0180
Polltype=1
DPAD=1
DigitalLR=1
A=0,04
B=0,02
X=0,08
Y=0,01
Z=0,40
L=0,10
R=0,20
S=1,02
Left=2,06
Down=2,04
Right=2,02
Up=2,00
RightUp=2,01
DownRight=2,03
DownLeft=2,05
UpLeft=2,07
StickX=3
StickY=4
CStickX=5
CStickY=6
LAnalog=7
RAnalog=7
Power=1,01

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank You.
(And sorry if this question has already been answered)
 

matt!

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
592
Trophies
0
Age
45
Website
www.gingerbeardman.com
XP
1,098
Country
United Kingdom
Does Nintendont's internal controller configuration override the controller.ini I made? I made a config for Logitech F710, but my bindings are ignored when I launch a Gamecube game, possibly because another controller shares the same PID and VID F710 has.
Are you putting the ini in the correct place?
Trying to use faceoff psp wired pro controller with nintendont.
Made controller.ini and everything appears the to be working with hidtest. Buttons change from 0 to 1 when pressed and the control stick go from 00 to FF. But when I try to use nintendont the game select screen scrolls really fast, and if I launch a game (melee), and then plug the controller in, the hand will move to the top left of the screen and cannot be moved. Wiimote and nunchuck work fine.
I believe the controller needs to be attached before Nintendont runs.
 

pabz

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
32
Country
Canada
does anyone know how to map c stick directions to a button press? still trying to figure out the values for it. The values ive tried creates a constant input in the southwest direction.
 

regnad

Button Masher
Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,390
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
2,573
Country
Thanks to DRaGMaRe I finally got a clue and added a new configuration to the Repo:

Mayflash Wireless Wii Controller to USB Adapter

I used the right Z as Z, HOME as Power, else the buttons as labelled.

The Mayflash GameCube to USB Adapter does *not* work with Nintendont (no response at all).

Is this what you have?

https://www.amazon.com/Mayflash-GameCube-Controller-Adapter-Switch/dp/B00RSXRLUE

It worked right out of the box for me. I can’t get the rumble to work though. Does anyone know how to do that with Nintendont on vWii?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/mIBSeh1