Nintendo Zone in your own home!

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by TestedInVN, Feb 3, 2012.

Feb 3, 2012
  1. TestedInVN
    OP

    Newcomer TestedInVN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Source:



    Instructions:

    I'm at work so I can't try this yet, but people on NeoGAF has confirmed this working.

    Hope someone could find more wifi name of Nintendo hotspots (Best Buy for example) to test.
     
    Margen67 likes this.


  2. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Could you do the same with Android by creating a wireless hotspot?

    Checking now!

    It works!

    You can use the same settings when setting up a wireless hotspot with your android phone!
     
  3. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    what is the advantage of this over normal wifi


     
  4. ItsMetaKnight

    Member ItsMetaKnight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Denmark
    Wouldn't recommend this. It completely opens your internet connection for intruders and hackers.
     
    2 people like this.
  5. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    I think people are much more likely to own an an Android phone than a mac :P
     
  6. Seaking

    Member Seaking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Country:
    United States
    so, whats the bestbuy ssid?
     
  7. McHaggis

    Member McHaggis Fackin' Troller

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not that I expected it to, but this doesn't work on EU firmware. We don't have a Nintendo Zone here, unfortunately.
     
  8. Fluto

    Member Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    Australia doesnt have Nintendo zone :(
     
  9. chemistryfreak

    Member chemistryfreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    Japan
    hmm...interesting! Im going to try this out later...I wonder if Nintendo Zone is Region Locked...
    Does JPN Nintendo Zone uses the same Network Name?
     
  10. caitsith2

    Member caitsith2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    a secret location 93 million miles from the sun
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure of the region locking, but attwifi is specifically provided by AT&T, which is US based. Regardless of that, any north american region 3DS, regardless of what country they are set to, will connect to it. Not so sure if a japanese 3DS will connect to a north american Nintendo zone hotspot though. I reside in Canada, next time I am in town, I will likely check out the McDonalds hotspot, since it seems that McDonalds is the location of 3DS nintendo zone hotspots in my area.
     
  11. chemistryfreak

    Member chemistryfreak GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    Japan
    Thanks for the info! :D
    I will try it out and see if it works.

    Edit: Ok, it works on a US 3DS! Hmm I wonder what network name does JPN Nintendo Zone use...
     
  12. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    no need for mac. i'm using mifi and i've confirmed it works. although there's no point in using it yet aside from watching some 3D streaming videos. demos were promised though, so we'll see. at least, it's great that everybody now has access to Nintendo Zone. thanks to Nintendo for making it this simple. ^_^




    i suspect it to be there soon. check out the user news about more 3DS free hotspots in UK article. the features they mentioned there sounds a lot like a Nintendo Zone hotspot. note that US 3DS automatically connects to attwifi (or Nintendo Zone hotspot) even without pre-setting it (you can't save the settings anyway, the 3DS won't let you).
     
  13. elisherer

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    I confirm this...
    After hotspotting with my android phone...just setting the ssid to "attwifi" without any extra parameters..
    the 3ds immidiatly notified me that i'm in a nintendo zone and the nintendo zone icon began to animate with glowing fading squares...
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    So basically, you can use a proxy whitelist on the router to make a quick, non-abusable Wi-Fi hotspot?

    Sweet!

    I wonder if something like this exists for the DSi since I vaguely remember Japan getting a similar feature.
     
    2 people like this.
  15. JonnyPoots

    Member JonnyPoots GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    This is cool, especially since -
    Source - Nintendo

    yeah, 'cause I'd really love to sit at MickyCakes and watch Pokemon ::sardonic eye roll::
     
    2 people like this.
  16. Seaking

    Member Seaking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Country:
    United States
    sweet, thank you JonnyPoots , i didnt even know that was gonna be happening!
     
  17. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    That's just crap. Why would they make it only available at Nintendo Zones? What if you don't HAVE a Best Buy or McDonalds around? :ha:

    EDIT: Oh, this thread. That's why.
     
  18. markvn

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Are you sure, you tested it?
    I heard that if US citizens did not have the Nintendo Zone App already on their 3DS, visiting a Nintendo Zone-point would make the app appear on the home-menu.

    That said, if we as European 3DS owners can't use Nintendo Zone in the way described in this topic, we are also not able to use Nintendo Zone if we are at a official Nintendo Zone-spot in the US during holiday, which seems a bit strange to me... That would mean only US 3DS owners, not from other regions, can use the Nintendo Zones in their country. Isn't there no possibility for European 3DS owners to have that Nintendo Zone app appear in ther home-menu like how it went in the US inthe past, but then by using this Nintendo-Zone-at-home-trick?

    So, if someone has tested it on an European 3DS, please tell me the results. At the moment, I am not able to test it myself, so I look forward to the results! :D
     
  19. Prof. 9

    Member Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I just tested it on my European 3DS. Changed my SSID to attwifi and it worked like a charm. The Nintendo Zone app automatically got unlocked, and I can use it. There's no content on the European Nintendo Zone, however; it just says "Coming Soon" with some pics of what to expect.

    The app stays unlocked even if you power off or remove the SD card.
     
    2 people like this.
  20. markvn

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you for testing it! :D
     

Share This Page