Nintendo Wii bricked

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by memoryofds, Feb 21, 2011.

Feb 21, 2011

Nintendo Wii bricked by memoryofds at 8:26 PM (1,456 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. memoryofds
    OP

    Newcomer memoryofds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi guys,

    I used the search function to solve my problem but I didn't really understood anything of the other topics.

    First my story: I have a black Nintendo Wii.After reading some topics in many forums I pointed out, that I forgot to install a priiloader as brick secure and tu update HBC and so on. So I tried to virginize my WII because a tutorial. I got to the step that I had to install a new systemmenue. I deinstalled the actual systemmenue and after doing that, I pressed the reset button ( I must be really moron as I did that; EPIC FAIL). Now i havé a bricked Wii.

    But is it fully bricked that I can't unbrick it? Always when I try to start the blue light of the DVD-Rom is blinking and I get a black screen (of course no system menue).

    Can I unbrick it with a GC Controller and pulling in a Game with a newer Firmware?
    Is there any way to unbrick or can I throw my Wii against a wall?

    Sorry for my bad english.

    Kind regards
     
  2. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    No. That requires a working SM. Since you've deleted the SM, it won't work.

    Do you have a Bootmii NAND dump from before you bricked it? If so, Deadlyfoez can likely fix it. If not, you have a $200 doorstop. [​IMG]
     
  3. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You can only send it to Deadlyfoez and have your nand reprogrammed. And you can only do that if you have you nand keys from a bootmii backup. If you don't have your nand keys, sell it for parts because you can't fix it without the nand keys.
     
  4. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    Wii mobos aren´t that expensive these days..

    You´re screwed, unless you have some kind of nand re-writing device (and your keys.bin file)

    Maybe you may want to get a new wii motherboard and a triwing screwdriver. That´s a better option if you´re about to break your wii.

    Good Luck.
     
  5. memoryofds
    OP

    Newcomer memoryofds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a old Nand backup on my pc. What else do I need?
     
  6. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    If so, you may want to either:

    Send your Wii to deadlyfoez along your current nand.bin && keys.bin (THOSE MUST HAVE COME FROM *YOUR* WII!! other ones won´t work due to encrypted content stuff)

    Buy a NAND reprogrammer, master your soldering skills, and reflash your NAND using this external device.

    Either of those, I´d prefer acquiring another mobo-- They´re quite cheap now =)
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    It's about $60 if you send it to me. $40 for my labor and $10.70 shipping per way. PM me if you are interested.

    Also, as stated by coto, the nand dump MUST be from your wii.
     
  8. memoryofds
    OP

    Newcomer memoryofds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Germany
    Actually the Wii is in Germany. In which country do I have to send it? I found some various NAND backups on my pc I dont know anymore which one is mine. [​IMG] Is there a way to find out?
     
  9. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, by flashing each one and trying it out.

    I'm in the US. There are other people around the world that can fix it too, but very few of them.
     
  10. memoryofds
    OP

    Newcomer memoryofds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Germany
    So I sent you my Wii with all backups then u try out?

    Is it possible that I can sent you the Wii in between April and May?
     
  11. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Bad-Ad84 is in England, he is good.
     
  12. Gabelvampir

    Member Gabelvampir Free Mars!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    K-Town
    Country:
    Germany
    If you have a still working BootMii you can restore you backup yourself. Perhaps do another backup before you want to have the chance to restore your saves as you said your backup is old. Just don't overwrite your old backup.
    As I'm also from/in Germany I'd really like to help you more, but I don't have a NAND programmer and don't have the money to buy one on a whim.
     
  13. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,900
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    He has a black Wii and doesn't have bootmii installed as boot2.
     
  14. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    You´re quite right.

    Black Wii without any SM in it, I doubt there´s traces of IOS254 (fixed). And even if it inside, how would you access to it? Remember Black Wiis have newer, backup protected DVD drives, and stuff.

    -

    Deadly´s right, so try to have any backup you might have handy. [​IMG]
     
  15. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    cant you use a WODE also to fix that kind of brick? I surely think so...
     
  16. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    You surely don't know.

    If there is no system menu then there is no nothing. No possible way to boot anything without the system menu without bootmii in boot2.
     
  17. memoryofds
    OP

    Newcomer memoryofds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you mean this "http://www.wodejukebox.com/wodestandard.php" ???
    oh okay then it is useless for me
     

Share This Page