Nintendo Switch firmware update 13.2.1 released, Atmosphere updated to 1.2.6

Screenshot_20220119-183921_Brave.jpg

Mere hours after Pokémon Legends Arceus was leaked online, a new Nintendo Switch update quietly released. As usual, the menu of the day is as expected, with version 13.2.1 adding nothing but stability. You'll want to refrain from updating if you're running CFW until more is known about this software update.

:arrow: Source: https://en-americas-support.nintend...tch-system-updates-and-change-history#current

UPDATE: Sciresm has released an update to Atmosphere, adding support for this latest firmware.
 

TomSwitch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
2,246
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
6,920
Country
United States
So if I use hekate, hekate needs to be updated too?
You can boot atmosphere with fusee as payload (third box). There is no need to update hekate at all with this option. If you use first box to boot HOS then of course hekate needs to be compatible to the HOS you are booting and chances of not needing update when ATM needed update is close to Zero?

On the other hand there is no good reason (for most people) to update anyway to the latest HOS/ATM other than being addicted to having the LATEST.

I am eager to get new ATM as I am hoping to see improvement to GDB stub. HOS is meh. HOS is meh most of the time as Nintendo has been for most of their existence.

Pokémon Legends Arceus if requires HOS update then it is a different story.
 
Last edited by TomSwitch,

fvig2001

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
705
Trophies
0
XP
2,093
Country
Philippines
You can boot atmosphere with fusee as payload (third box). There is no need to update hekate at all with this option. If you use first box to boot HOS then of course hekate needs to be compatible to the HOS you are booting and chances of not needing update when ATM needed update is close to Zero?

On the other hand there is no good reason (for most people) to update anyway to the latest HOS/ATM other than being addicted to having the LATEST.
Yeah, I hate updating my switch since I use multiple sd cards.
 

emilybjackson

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 20, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
3
Country
United States
You can boot atmosphere with fusee as payload (third box). There is no need to update hekate at all with this option. If you use first box to boot HOS then of course hekate needs to be compatible to the HOS you are booting and chances of not needing update when ATM needed update is close to Zero?

On the other hand there is no good reason (for most people) to update anyway to the latest HOS/ATM other than being addicted to having the LATEST.

I am eager to get new ATM as I am hoping to see improvement to GDB stub. HOS is meh. HOS is meh most of the time as Nintendo has been for most of their existence.
Quick question - I usually use Hekate to launch SYS CFW (not sure if I'm supposed to be doing that or not, but it's been working for me). My games are on that version. If I launch with fusee instead, I don't have that option. It just takes me straight to Atmosphere and none of my games are there. Would I need to wait til Hekate updates to use that again? Or would it work to download the games in Atmosphere EmuMMC and restore a save from JKSV?

edit: I messed up and updated Switch to 13.2.1 and updated Atmosphere to 1.2.6 but I can't launch with Hekate - it gives me the Unknown pkg1 version error
 

TomSwitch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
2,246
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
6,920
Country
United States
Yeah, I hate updating my switch since I use multiple sd cards.
I have been using injecting hekate and boot with fusee as payload since a very long time. This way I can use keep my sd cards independent. I only update the sd that I want, the rest can stay the same and work the same.
 

TomSwitch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
2,246
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
6,920
Country
United States
Quick question - I usually use Hekate to launch SYS CFW (not sure if I'm supposed to be doing that or not, but it's been working for me). My games are on that version. If I launch with fusee instead, I don't have that option. It just takes me straight to Atmosphere and none of my games are there. Would I need to wait til Hekate updates to use that again? Or would it work to download the games in Atmosphere EmuMMC and restore a save from JKSV?

edit: I messed up and updated Switch to 13.2.1 and updated Atmosphere to 1.2.6 but I can't launch with Hekate - it gives me the Unknown pkg1 version error
I never boot sysnand with CFW. I boot sysnand by powering down. I suppose fusee will boot sysnand if you don't have emunand on your sd. You don't need to delete anything, just renaming the file will do.
 

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
1,018
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
New York
XP
2,221
Country
United States
Is there any new game that needs a higher firmware. Just asking because I’m reading posts saying this needs 11.0. I use atmosphere but it seems sxos continues to be useful for those that don’t use atmosphere. I believe 11.0 was the last update for sxos.
 

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,385
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,802
Country
United States
I am eager to get new ATM as I am hoping to see improvement to GDB stub. HOS is meh. HOS is meh most of the time as Nintendo has been for most of their existence.
The debug tools that are reimplementations of Nintendo’s new-ish debugging tools in HOS added in a recent-ish update? :shrek:
 
  • Like
Reactions: CompSciOrBust

Guacaholey

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2021
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
370
Country
United States
You'd think by now they'd accept that a minor firmware update won't do much, seems like the CFWs are updated within hours. By the time most people update CFW is usable again.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: You just did