Nintendo DS from Dubai

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by TeraS, Aug 28, 2006.

Aug 28, 2006

Nintendo DS from Dubai by TeraS at 11:10 AM (1,786 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. TeraS
    OP

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    My dad is coming back today, and he is bringing a DS Lite for me. He told me over the phone that the power supply was 2-pin like the one in Japan.

    Would i need to change power supply? What power supply would i need? Would i need to change the battery??

    I live in London UK

    pOp!
     
  2. chadders

    Member chadders GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    u need a step down converter from somewhere like liksang, only cheap about £5-£10 including posted.
     
  3. TeraS
    OP

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    can i change battery and powersupply though
     
  4. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    You don't need to change the battery.
    All you need is 220v DS LITE or GB MICRO charger (you guys use 220v/230v right?) or get an step-up transformer (step-up from 110v to 220v right?).

    EDIT: Nope it's step down lol sorry. step down from 220v to use the 110v charger the Japanese DS lite has...
    Lik-Sang has this btw... http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=...roducts_id=9039

    We also use 220v here in the Philippines and I'm using the 110v charger (from my JPN DS lite) on a step-down transformer and also the 220v GB Micro charger (Asian Version) on JPN DS lites.
     
  5. kelvinate

    Member kelvinate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    you sure you even need a transformer? i thought the charger range from 110v to 240v. if thats the case you will only need a powerplug converter
     
  6. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need a step down converter or a new battery, all you need is a new power supply; you can buy one on ebay / play-asia / lik-sang for around £5 shipped. As for type, just make sure it's a UK power supply and it's for the DS lite lol.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Nope. It says here...
    Input: AC120V 60Hz 4W
     
  8. TeraS
    OP

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    so itll be good for me if i get a new powersupply,

    Would there be a difference of the version because im getting the black one
     
  9. TeraS
    OP

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
  10. kobewan

    Member kobewan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Products in the Middle East are usually 220 Volts, with the two pins like Japan. I know this from many years of blowing out electrical appliances with wrong voltages (I live in Saudi Arabia). However, I don't know if there is any different adapter released for the Middle East...just saying that you might want to check the voltage on it first. If it is 110 Volts, there are two things that can be done:-

    1.> Buy a step-up transformer as the above post says. Just plug the adapter into the transformer, and the transformer into the wall. A transformer should cost fairly cheap and should be easily availabe at any electrical store. This has the advantage that it could be used for any 110V product.

    2.> Just buy the official Nintendo DS Lite adapter for UK. Probably a little more expensive, since it is official, but then you can use it just the way it is meant to be.

    Hope that helps.
     
  11. inter4ever

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Since we dont have an official dealer in the Middle Mast,Nintendo products are imported from everyware.In the markets here,you can find Japanese,American and European DS versions.In Japanese and American versions the voltage is 110V and the European version's voltage is 220V.You must make sure what DS version you are getting or you can buy an adapter online or from any Nintendo dealer in you country.(I don't advise buying from the UAE sicne you will probably not get the waranty)
     
  12. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. I recommended not to buy different powersupply for your Nintendo DS it could damage your NDS battery supply

    2. Go to argos and buy a plug converter.

    3. If you have a jap Nintendo DS with 2 pin powersupply not the U.S pin, you could still can plug it in uk - from little simple plug trick* (no it not damage your home plug or black out)

    *not recommended for young ages
     
  13. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    A plug converter would not HELP with the VOLTAGE issue. Thus, buying just a plug converter WILL DAMAGE your NDS.

    Unless of course, he can confirm that he will be getting a 220v charger with his NDS lite.
     
  14. TeraS
    OP

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    when my dad comes back, i will inform u guyz wht voltage it is. Where would i find this information?
     
  15. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    It's on the charger itself.
     
  16. TeraS
    OP

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    thanks will check when i recieve it
     
  17. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    oop! [​IMG] i totally forgot the plug converter it only for European style for UK and HK
    and yes you do need "power converter" if you have a Japanese or USA style

    If you going to buy another adapter I recommended NOT to buy other brand power adapter for nds it could damage your console battery life or even cause fire went it charging. [​IMG]


    thank for the waring Orc [​IMG]
     

Share This Page