Nintendo blocks use of PassMe!

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, Aug 11, 2005.

Aug 11, 2005
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom






    News: Nintendo blocks use of PassMe devices!



    Planning to buy a new Nintendo DS to play homebrew on? Think again.





    In a surprising move from Nintendo, it's been discovered that latest production models of the Nintendo DS have been modified... to block use of any PassMe device (and variations of).

    The latest models of the Nintendo DS - the new Red colour edition and China only iQue DS, have been reported to not work with PassMe.

    Whether or not latest batches of all the other DS variations have been "fixed" is unknown, as there have been no reports of compatibility issues beyond the two afore mentioned models. But it seems highly likely that Nintendo will update all future batches.

    Technical details are not available yet, so whether this fix was a physical hardware update or a simple firmware update is currently unknown. But it's only a matter of time before someone figures it out...

    ... And cracks it.

     


  2. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Haha... dang, that was unsuspected! Good for me I already have a DS [​IMG]
     
  3. TPi

    Former Staff TPi One Tired Raccoon

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, read about it on 64scener. Bad news. :\ Hope Nintendo doesn't follow the Sony path and keep killing off homebrew options. [​IMG]
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder if it also blocks FlashMe
     
  5. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Nintendo surprised the hell out of me on this one. Makes me a little afraid of first-party titles also recieving protection... not that they wont be cracked if done. [​IMG]
     
  6. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure. No ones reported if these models have firmware protection. Nintendo may have blocked the ability to update firmware by using a non-rewriteable flash chip.

    They may have also covered up that firmware update bridge under the battery cover...
     
  7. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    PassMe I thought used some hardware or bios exploit to get around the lack of having a DS flash card itself. So really Nintendo either closed the hole on the hardware side or in the bios. Either way if it's hardware kinda screwed on that end with passme's but maybe a real ds flash card would be fine, but if it's a bios deal depends if it can be patched or not easily I guess. If it's hardware, smart move on the closing of a hole, if it's going to be bios updating diligence then that will be a problem.
     
  8. Xboxed

    Member Xboxed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    Mexico
    No surprise...it was just a matter of time. With the upcoming release of all those sweet cards...NOA is getting uneasy. Now , we need some upgreadable "ME's" a la QOOB or Viper to keep the scene rollin'.

    Now, just wait for Nintendo offering some fancy app like PictoChat2 or the WebBrowser/OnlinePlayer for free to upgrade your Firmware just like Sony did with the PSP.

    Peace
     
  9. bryehn

    Member bryehn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    does this affect the electric blue ones too? cause i was planning on getting a second ds for the wife...
     
  10. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unknown at the moment.

    Early batches may not have been affected as they were released a fair while ago now, but I'm sure future models will have the update applied.
     
  11. Azngamer15

    Azngamer15 Newbie

    lol, its like psp 1.5 ALL over again [​IMG] good thing i have a ds already though
     
  12. xflash

    Member xflash Local Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,102
    Country:
    Norway
    meh im glad i bought mine a long long long time ago lol anyway wifi still works right?
     
  13. Eruonen

    Member Eruonen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    -
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you send you're DS to them for repair, do you think they'll block it too?
     
  14. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    lol nintendo shouldn't even bother, no matter what they do all their stuff gets cracked.

    guess what nintendo -> you could use truely proprietary compact discs and not have any input/output ports then nobody would be able to exploit your shit (btw how many people do you know with UMD burners? surely nintendo could get together with someone and make something similar)
    btw- nobody really NEEDS multiplayer for handheld gaming. it'd still sell without. however, a very slow speed port would hinder piracy efforts greatly and still allow multiplayer gaming.
     
  15. decript

    Member decript A melon a day, keeps t3h monkey away

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    http://decript.\o/
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, lucky me I got an old one. I don't think they would replace your DS if it was changed.
     
  16. ShadowXP

    Member ShadowXP ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now I'm glad I got my DS when I did.
     
  17. Nojoy

    Newcomer Nojoy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I bought my son an electric blue one about 3 weeks ago... the passme and flashme worked just fine with his. So at least the first shipments of them are okay...
     
  18. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    I still want a blue DS though [​IMG] well maybe i can walmart swap mine [​IMG]
     
  19. MaD_mAnIaC

    Member MaD_mAnIaC MaD?

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Portugal
    neither nintendo or sony are stupid... they know that having their systems cracked so soon, will make they lose millions in software sales, and will slowdown game production, so they're trying to protect their systems a bit more. they'll never be able to stop piracy completely, but they're slowing it down quite a bit. i think this is the right thing to do, or else this handhelds can die sooner than they should...
     
  20. weasley

    Newcomer weasley Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lucily I got mine, the date it got released so i got no problem with passme

    Yeppie I safe, But what if when the new offical firmware out will it block the passme?
     

Share This Page