Nintendo 3DS Plagued with Black Screen of Death

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Zorua, Mar 28, 2011.

Mar 28, 2011
  1. Zorua
    OP

    Zorua Newbie

    [​IMG]
    According to reports pouring in from several forums, users across the board are experiencing repeated crashes with their brand new 3DS portable consoles. Frantic posts on NeoGAF, AVForums and DigitalSpy cite an error message flashed against a black background requesting users to power down and reset the 3DS. The early adopters of Nintendo's 3DS portable have termed the error as the "Black Screen of Death", which is found to be affecting Super Monkey Ball, Street Fighter IV 3D, Pilotwings, Ghost Recon, Lego Star Wars, and Mii at the moment.

    The error, however, isn't as fatal as the RRoD, as most users managed to fix the error with a simple reset, while others claim to have fixed the problem for good by formatting the SD cards to the FAT-32 format. Still others have played it safe by sending their 3DS back to Nintendo for replacement. There is no official word out on the bug from Nintendo yet.[/p]

    [​IMG] Source

    Has anyone encountered this yet?
     


  2. SPH73

    Banned SPH73 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    889
    Country:
    United States
    "Plagued"
     
  3. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    inb4 is this anti-piracy? Because it's probably not...
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it happens with Rayman 3D too.
    and it's not as bad as it sounds (at least when i had it)
    turned 3DS off and on again and i could continue playing.(although i had to start over again in the level because rayman 3DS saves obtained items, but not your location)
     
  5. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    You're probably going to see this in early models.
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    bet it's flash card related [​IMG]
     
  7. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Nine times out of ten, it's related to DRM.
     
  8. elenar

    Member elenar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    It's strongly correlated to 3DS consoles that haven't downloaded the launch-day update to address wireless communication issues. With the update the problems don't occur very often (not a single one yet on any of the 10 people I know that have one, with 6+ hours of playtime per day and multiple game swaps during that time), and are said to also be mitigated by switching your wireless off entirely.

    Nintendo just needs to alert people about the update, i'm guessing the US 3DS launches with the built-in protocols for communication based on EU standards by accident, or something, and the update straightens it out.
     
  9. Lube_Skyballer

    Member Lube_Skyballer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Updating the 3DS fixes this problem. They really exaggerate the news a lot nowadays
     
  10. Erdnaxela

    Member Erdnaxela GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Country:
    France
    I updated mine when I got it (03/26) and got that "BSOD" with Face Raiders.
     
  11. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Had that happen once (cannot remember what I was doing) since the update it hasn't happened again, but I have had Lego Star Wars freeze on a loading screen, ended up having to hold the power button, lost 30mins of gameplay [​IMG]
     
  12. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never had any issues, I updated it after about an hour of play and it's been played quite a lot since.
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    haha so glad i didn't buy 1 from launch i'll wait till all the bugs are ironed out [​IMG]
     
  14. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Never faced this problem
     
  15. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its definetely exaggerated.
    Come on, I am sure Nintendo did enough testing..
    I dont have the system yet, so I am no one to say anything I suppose [​IMG].
     
  16. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Stuff like this COULD be as simple as an intermittent contact between the 3DS and the cart.
     
  17. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This was the error I got whenever I tried to use the outer cameras, i've since replaced the system and it's been fine.
     
  18. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    This is the risk you face with early adoption. New tech = New problems. That goes for any new gadget out there.
     
  19. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then why didn't hear of anything like this for the japanese launch?
     
  20. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    No clue. Different manufacturing sites? Different QC testing procedures? Who knows. It could be a number of different reasons Japan didn't get faulty consoles, or maybe they did and it never made it to the news outlets.
     

Share This Page