1. disengage_0

    disengage_0 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Canada
    Damn I want to play this so bad but I just can't get it to work. Tried R4 kernels, different wood & ysmenu nds files, folled the fixess found in this thread, even tried getting it to work on twloader on the 3ds. I'm having nothing but bad luck.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    has anyone with the same r4 got the game working properly?
     
  2. olimar718

    olimar718 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    France
    HUGE thanks to YOU AS WELL.
    It seems your method is the only one that works to get the game working without random freeze / black screen when folding the screen (closing the ds).
    Sadly, still getting error 4 on the YS MENU latest update but that has to be fixed on retrofangame side.
    It works without freezing on my dsTWO with that method.
    THANK YOU.
    i hightly recommend to put that in the OP for it will help many people @Zkarts
     
  3. aizenmyoo

    aizenmyoo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    I just saw this was released. Thank you for all your hard work!
     
  4. Triumph627

    Triumph627 All sweet & honeycomb
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    I just want to say thank you to everyone that worked on this project!

    I’ve only played a few hours in so far, but the translation is beautifully done, I’m so excited to finally get to enjoy this game. As some people have already said, I played the PS3 version but it just didn’t have the charm that I was looking for, and I strongly prefer the gameplay of the DS version to that of the PS3.

    It’s been working perfectly for me using an emulator, but I might have to get a card to play it on my 3DS for that true handheld feel. Again, thank you to the whole team that made this possible!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Plattym3! likes this.
  5. MrK

    MrK Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi translation team, I just made a GBAtemp account to offer my humble congratulations to everyone, and express deep gratitude for this incredible effort!

    I've been lurking this thread since 2014 and it has been 1000% worth the wait! I had intentionally left myself in the dark about this game in anticipation of this English version and ... wow.
    This is an incredible game. I now understand why you all were so dedicated to this project. Everything about it is so beyond the bar of DS games from this period, it's astounding!

    As a lifelong fan, being able to interact with a Ghibli story in this way is really something else.
    So INFINITE THANK YOUS to everyone who donated their time to make this beautiful work of art accessible to English-only speakers! You are true philanthropists, and it has been so inspiring to see this project develop and succeed!

    The game patched flawlessly via xdeltaUI v1.1.

    I saw previously in the thread that others were having trouble with R4i cards.
    I'm playing it with an R4i Gold 3DS, in a DSi. It worked immediately after patch with no problems so far.
    I'm not sure what I'd have done differently than others with R4i, but I would be happy to share any details that could help someone else get it running.

    Again, brilliant, brilliant work! You are all superheroes! :bow:
     
    Zkarts, Cyan and trevo92 like this.
  6. blake-1984

    blake-1984 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Ben playing everyday since the release and been loving it, cheers guys you rock
     
  7. fazan_s_placa

    fazan_s_placa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yeah, even after redownloading the patch and repatching it and making sure all the checksums agree with the ones you've listed, it still gives the same error :/

    I guess I just have to wait until someone fixes ysmenu.
     
    TheGuyMadeOfTofu likes this.
  8. kosterix

    kosterix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Barbados
    [QUOTE="The game patched flawlessly via xdeltaUI v1.1.

    I saw previously in the thread that others were having trouble with R4i cards.
    I'm playing it with an R4i Gold 3DS, in a DSi. It worked immediately after patch with no problems so far.You
    are all superheroes! :bow:[/QUOTE]

    Well, on
    http://old.r4wood.com/pages/R4i-Gold.html there are 3 green, 4 black and some others. Which one is yours?
    And what firmware is yours exactly?

    TIA!
     
  9. steveliv

    steveliv Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I'm really glad I bought the dstwo (7 years ago, wow!). been playing for several hours with no issues (other than this game being so large, i need a larger microsd card). i kind of want to stop so i can play ps3 version first, but even the DS version is amazing. thanks again for the effort and hard work on the translation!

    I am also getting the crash when drawing the resurrection spell. Those who can replicate, what card are you using? Is anyone using an emulator who can test as well? Wondering if it is specific to card or not...
     
    Last edited by steveliv, Dec 16, 2018
  10. fazan_s_placa

    fazan_s_placa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Croatia
    hey, you can test yourself on the emulator. most emulators should be fine with loading the save file you have on your card (maybe you'll need to capitalise the extension though, for example, DesMuMe uses .SAV while my card uses .sav, but the data is exactly the same)
     
  11. Vaamo

    Vaamo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    I've ripped my cartridge using GodMode9 and NDS Backup Tool Slot2 and neither are giving me a file which seems to be usable with this. I've had issues applying patches to GodMode9 cartridge dumps before but those then usually work using NDS Backup Tool Slot2 (I just don't generally use it because it takes hours to dump). It's an official cartridge which I purchased from new.
    GodMode9 CRC32 = 9DD99B94
    NDS Backup Tool Slot2 CRC32 = B3848B31

    Any ideas?

    Edit: On second look I think my GodMode9 rip is trimmed. Will do another rip now.

    Edit2: Yeah I must have clicked trim ROM on GodMode9 the first time around. Running it again to get an untrimmed ROM resulted in the correct file. D'oh!
     
    Last edited by Vaamo, Dec 16, 2018
  12. Shifty_13

    Shifty_13 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Russia
    1) Find the "modified patch" in the first post of this thread.
    2) Patch your game with it (clean non-patched japanese rom).
    3) Fully delete TWLoader (delete all TWLoader related titles through FBI and also delete TWLoader files in "_nds" folder).
    4) Install TWiLight Menu++ and TWiLight Menu launcher.
    5) Enjoy the game.
     
    Last edited by Shifty_13, Dec 16, 2018
  13. John1234

    John1234 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Country:
    You don't need to waste your time with the book, if you use this code.

    Rune ??? Will Be Viewable | This will help you to figure out what is the magic and you can learn from seeing
    520B3F5C E3100002
    020B3F60 E1A00000
    D2000000 00000000
     
    piratesephiroth likes this.
  14. steveliv

    steveliv Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Used Desmume and it doesn't crash when drawing the Resurrection spell. Can other card users test the spell? Can't get the SuperCard DSTwo sav file to convert to dsv..
     
    Last edited by steveliv, Dec 16, 2018
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,309
    Country:
    France
    Good luck with riddles and puzzle other than runes without the book.
    Also, you are often prompted to do rune at page xxxx, and you don't see any "???", you also can't always open the magic menu to do an already learned spell.

    But I guess that'll help when you get a new magic wand and just fill all the new spells from the menu.
     
    Plattym3! and trevo92 like this.
  16. steveliv

    steveliv Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Tried arm7 patched rom in Desmume and can complete Resurrection spell. Anyone now if/when the spell is required to proceed?
     
  17. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,309
    Country:
    France
    I tried that spell once I got the first magic wand, and it didn't freeze. I don't know when it'll be required, I just did it from the magic list menu.
    I'm using a DSTwo, and the restored arm7 patch version.

    is it freezing with the normal patch on all flashcart and emulator?
     
  18. jmfindorff

    jmfindorff Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I managed to learn the spell on desmume, but I hate having to draw with a mouse, so I exported the save and put it on my R4i cart. I loaded the save, I saw that the spell was learned but when I select it, the description says FORBIDDEN MAGIC, just like in the book, and any attempt to use it says that I have forgotten the spell, and drawing the rune successfully leads to a freeze. It is possible that this is an anti-piracy lock of some sort. I can also try re-patching the original rom just in case something's wrong with my rom.
     
    Last edited by jmfindorff, Dec 16, 2018
  19. jmfindorff
    This message by jmfindorff has been removed from public view by Cyan, Dec 16, 2018, Reason: duplicate. forum was slow for me too..
    Dec 16, 2018
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,309
    Country:
    France
    @Anjiera (is that fine I notify you, or you'll read it anyway?)

    I'm not sure about this report, english is not my mother tongue:
    1) "what's are"
    I'm not sure what it means. what is are ? what has are? it just seems wrong to me so it's maybe a typo.

    2) Even now, she delivers box lunches to Claude
    I didn't know "box lunch", I thought you meant lunch boxes, but I guess lunch box is the box itself, and what's inside is a boxed lunch ? I learned a new thing today.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Cyan, Dec 16, 2018
  21. Edgarska

    Edgarska Conjurer of cheap tricks
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    741
    Country:
    United States
    The spell is never required, it's just a trick to make the player believe it will be useful. Which does make sense within the story, having a revive spell would make the rest of the game moot, and I haven't finished it but I'm assuming they won't be using it to bring his mother back.
     
  22. quickthrow

    quickthrow Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I've been playing this like a no-life, and am working on the post-game dungeon now. It's very, very good. Thanks again, translation team! :bow:

    There are a few translation issues, but they don't affect the playability of the game. There are a few actual progression-stopping errors though. Saw another post with a same issue I came across, so I had to sign up to share my solution, just so fellow fans don't get discouraged from finishing the fantastic game.

    The progression-stopping errors I came across are:
    + Riddle Rabbit not accepting the correct answer of '0' for his leaves-in-river riddle.
    + Wizard War Researcher not accepting the correct answer of 'Lobsciss' for his hubber-flubber riddle.
    + Casino Prize Exchange crashing for tier A and tier S prizes.

    These are probably still issues that need to be looked into, but in the meantime, the temporary solution I used to get pass them is simply to load my save up on my original un-patched Japanese game and input the correct answers and pick up the prizes there, before continuing my journey back on the English patch.

    (Lobsciss's name in Hiragana is ちょき by the way. The second character is in "lowercase", which can be toggled into by clicking on one of the left side buttons on the game keyboard.

    I'm not sure if the remainder of the Rabbit's and Researcher's riddles work in the English patch or not, since I finished them all in Japanese mode while I was already there, but the solution should be the same if any of them don't.)

    Also saw some posts mentioning the Resurrection spell. It's not needed for game progression.. so far. I'm only at level 30+ of the post-game dungeon now, so I can't tell if it comes into play later on. I was able to learn it in the English patch, but I didn't until I made it to the post-game. The game seems very particular about how the rune has to be drawn, and I was unable to draw it the way it wanted when I tried to earlier on, so I thought it actually was "forbidden" and not meant to be learned. Oops. :rofl2: The same "learn it in Japanese" solution should work for folks having trouble with it in the English patch though.
     
    Last edited by quickthrow, Dec 16, 2018
    FerociousStrike and Kaiisen like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Translation, [ENG],