Newbie here. Why are the r4i-sdhc cards not recommended, and would one be sufficient for me?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by teh_ryn, Apr 26, 2013.

1. teh_ryn
    OP

Newcomer teh_ryn Member

United States
    I'm sorry if this comes up a lot and you guys are tired of answering it by now, but I am just curious if someone can give me a solid reason/set of reasons why the r4i-sdhc cards do not come recommended the way the dstwo and r4 gold cards do, and help me to determine if it's something that affects me.

From what I have been able to glean from other posts, the r4i-sdhc cards do not run wood. This is the only concrete thing I've read ("it sucks" or "it's cheap" isn't helpful!) but since I'm new to all of this, this doesn't mean as much to me as it probably should. What is the big deal about being able to run wood?

I am still a little bit on the fence about getting a flash cart; it's something I'm imagining would be nice and open up a lot of possibilities, but isn't really required for what I want to do. Honestly what I want to do most is just make save backups of my Pokemon and Harvest Moon: A New Beginning games so that I can have multiple files and have the option of item/pokemon cloning without using cheat codes or pokesav. I was looking at the r4i Save Dongle (put out by the same people as the r4i-sdhc) for that.

A friend of mine has some r4 clone flash cart that's old enough we're not even sure what it is, but it still works. He's been using that to run a second copy of pokemon on his second ds and trade himself starter pokemon and the like. After seeing him do this it's made me think that a flash cart in combination with the save dongle might be pretty cool to have.