Newbie, can some kind person help me please.

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Reecey, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Reecey
    OP

Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)

Mar 7, 2010
    At Home :)
    I have just gone done UK CEX and swapped my original 3DS for another 3DS a mint one at that so very happy cost me £10.00 extra to do it but with FW 4.5, now I presume all 4.5 work mine says something like:- Ver 4.5.0-6E is that OK? I just need an answer please, I am new to this I'm not trying to be smug about it and think I have been clever I just want some friendly help. Thank you.

Has anyone got a link on GBATemp to tell me step by step how to go to the 7.1 Gateway CFW please so I don't make any mistakes at all. Do you need to run step 1 in the User Guide Gateway Installer Card first and then go back in to run the Tap L on DS Profile to run the GW3DS 7.1 Custom Firmware or can you just run the Tap L DS Profile GW3DS 7.1 CFW option first anyway?, does it matter which way you start first? I want to do this step first before I start using the Red card and have an upto date 7.1 CFW on it so no mistakes happen, I have the Parental lock on so it wont update but I will feel much happier when the CFW 7.1 is on it!.

I want some good advice please before I start so I dont make any nasty mistakes!

Thanks,

2. Arras

Arras GBAtemp Guru

Sep 14, 2010
    Netherlands
    Some things to note:
    -Parental Lock DOES NOT prevent updates.
    -GW7.1.0 is not really custom firmware, and DOES NOT help in preventing accidental updates. It does allow you to have updated features without updating but it's still possible to accidentally update.

3. Reecey
    OP

Mar 7, 2010
    Hi Arras thanks for your reply,