Newb here, please help..

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Hachibei, Apr 3, 2007.

Apr 3, 2007

Newb here, please help.. by Hachibei at 3:00 AM (916 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

1. Hachibei
    OP

Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

Canada
    Right, I'm pretty new to this flash cart stuff, so bear with me [​IMG]

I ordered a DS Linker, and I recieved it today, but none of the roms save!

For example, I'm playing Resident Evil DS; I use the typewriter to save, and then I turn it off. The next time I turn it back on, my save is gone.

I looked at the FAQ section of dslinker.com, and they said that I could change the type of save the game uses (ie: FLASH 2Mbit, EEPROM 64/512Kbit, etc.) I tried all types of save methods, but none of them work. [​IMG]

Someone please help me...I spent $105 on this thing and I really want it to work...

2. decept

Member decept GBAtemp Regular

United States
    I would like to help, but I got a R4, easiest flash cart to use.

You paid too much. Get your money back and get an R4. [​IMG]

3. -EX-

Banned -EX- Racer

Japan
    Heh, you could buy the same thing 2 times cheaper. DS Linker is just an expensive rebrand of any other N-card like DS FireLink or MK5. In fact, you can try flashing your cart with those firmwares, it may fix your save error. Just a suggestion though.

4. Hachibei
    OP

Canada
    Alright, to clear some things up, the DS-Linker itself was only around $70, the rest was for S&H, tax, and all that..

-EX- : This is probably gonna sound really stupid, but how do I "flash" my cart? My friend has a SuperCard DS; could I use that to flash my cart?

5. -EX-

Banned -EX- Racer

Japan
    DS Fire Link 16G costs around 40 bucks, for example. And it's the same as DS Linker hardware wise.

To "flash" a firmware means to update the software on your cart. Just pick up a firmware on the site and update your cart. You don't need any additional equipment to do so, of course.