1. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, I had this New 3DS bought like a year ago, I remember I turned it on, formatted the system (to delete previous owner's data) and then I put it on the shelves. Since that I never played it because I was using other consoles, the New3DS was just to fill my collection. But if it was faulty I would have notice because when I formatted it, it never did anything weird and it was turned on for at leat 30 minutes.

    Now, I randomly wanted to check if the console was working and no, many many problems, it doesn't last more than 4-5 seconds because:

    1) The console turns on (blue led), after some seconds the screens glitch with black squares everywhere or the screen flash quickly, and then completely freezing (sometimes the screens were freezing but the music was still going...)
    or
    2) The console turns on (blue led), the screens turn on, you can see the backlight activated, but they don't display anything, just black. No sound.

    These are the two cases.

    Before the displays glitch and freeze, there is nothing wrong, no dead pixels no mura clouds, the 3d works... so I really don't think it's a screen problem they display correctly the picture.

    I tried disabling WiFi by software, no luck. I opened the 3DS, disconnected the blue cable, turned it on, still no luck
    I tried waiting the battery to dry, then charging it again, no luck
    I tried formatting again the memory card/removing it, no luck
    I tried resetting HOME menu (L-R-DpadDown-B), no luck
    I tried formatting (L-R-DpadUP-A), no luck

    I spent a lot of money and I don't want to sell it on eBay for parts...I really want it working but I have no clue what could be the problem, I never saw something like this.

    Do you guys have some tip?
    As I said in the title, the console never had a CFW.
    And as far as I know it never dropped, the conditions are excellent it barely have a scracth so I really don't know where to begin, looks like a mayor hardware problem but I can't explain it.

    Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

    This is a picture taken after around 20 seconds of standby (without touching any button), the screens and music were perfect, then suddenly the screens glitches like this, but the music didn't stop. However, by turning off and back on the volume slider, the sound disappeared. I really have no explanations.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by Lucabastianello, May 19, 2020
    legoinventeor likes this.
  2. legoinventeor

    legoinventeor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Spain
    Never seen this before. Maybe the screen is good but not properly connected? Or maybe the motherboard was damaged by the dust it might've gained.
    Have you tried opening the 3ds and cleaning/reconnecting everything?
     
  3. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't look dusty, damaged, corroded or anything like that, inside. For sure I can give it a overall cleaning and see if the problems go away, but I can't explain why in the first 5-10-15 seconds it all works flawlessly and then suddenly...all freezes without a reason. That just doesnt make sense in my head. Also because sometimes it freezes immediately, sometimes after 10 seconds. Or sometimes it doesnt even turn on...completely no sense :(
     
  4. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6,555
    Country:
    United States
  5. Extrasklep

    Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    Poland
    It looks like the GPU is dying or something, definitely not a bad connection with the screens
    Maybe you could try doing CTRtransfer to try fixing messed up system files but I guess you're unable to install CFW/B9S on the console in this state so you would need an ntrboot compatible flashcard
     
    E1ite007 and TurdPooCharger like this.
  6. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I just cleaned the pcb, gentle with a toothbrush. Re-attached all ribbon cables, didn't see any visible damage. Put it back together, all working, but after 25 seconds, bottom screen started glitching and then the console froze. :( So I guess there is nothing to do this console is fryed...Im gonna try CTRtransfer and the flash card thing, even if I am not very familiar with CFW operations, but I try to read instructions carefully and see if I can do something. Thanks meanwhile :)
     
  7. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,062
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a replacement bottom screen see if that does it for u
     
  8. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6,555
    Country:
    United States
    This will only fix software brick.
    1. [3ds.hacks.guide] ntrboot + R4i Gold 3DS Plus
    2. CTRTransfer (Type D9) - CTRTransfer
      • Note: For very serious softbricks where standard CTRTransfer might not be able to tackle.
     
    E1ite007 likes this.
  9. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Alright from what I understood I can't do the CTRtransfer because I dont have a CFW. So I tried the ntrboot with a r4 card and when I launch ntrboot_flash_nds.nds it doesn't do anything, I mean there is the icon that it is loading the .nds file but it doesn't start. Probably my card is wrong.
    Sidenote: while I am loading forever, it doesn't freeze or anything, it is perfectly working.
     
  10. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I thought about this, but then it happened the opposite: the top screen glitched and it went black, while the bottom was still displaying the image (frozen, but turned on). So I don't think it's a screen thing.
    Now I'm doing few other tests with battery, since I can't do the NTRboot, after that I think I will probably sell it for parts :( :(
     
  11. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Battery charging/decharging does nothing, after some seconds the console freezes. However, I don't know why, when inserted a r4 card and playing some .nds game, it lasts even 10-15 minutes straight without problems. It froze only one time but when I pressed Home to exit it was responding so the sytstem was still working basically. I don't know, I feel like there is a chance to recover this console but I can't figure out what triggers the freeze.
    Maybe the Home menu is corrupted somehow? It is really weird.
    In 1 hour~ I'm gonna call Nintendo and see if they can help me.

    Anyway, I think the only real thing I can do is the NTRboot, but I guess my memory card isn't original (I bought it from AE).
    Do you think buying a original one can be a chance to recover this console? Because it can be expensive, at that point I might sell this for parts and buy a new one working, money speaking maybe it's the best thing to do?
     
  12. Extrasklep

    Extrasklep gbaTemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    Poland
    You can just replace the entire motherboard if all other parts in the console work fine
     
    Lucabastianello likes this.
  13. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I think that would be the best option, but finding a spare pcb for a reasonable price is almost impossible, I mean at this point it's easier to just buy a working console.
    By the way, I gave it a system update + full format, now I'm on the language selection tool since like 20 minutes, nothing weird happened. It crashed the first time after 10minutes, now it seems stable.
    But I can't rely on RNG, I mean if it's fauly it's faulty.
     
    Extrasklep likes this.
  14. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Good news everyone! I knew deep inside I could do this, so I spent the entire day making tests...and it finally worked!

    First I opened (again) the whole console, removing all ribbon cables and connectors and cleaning everything with some alcohol. (still freezing)
    Then I tried disabling the touch screen and the wifi antenna, nothing, still freezing.
    So randomly I remembered that with R4 card the console last like 20 minutes+ so I said "lets put a random game cartridge and see if something changes".
    Oh, and I also formatted (again) the SD card in fat32. Already did that but once more wasn't hurting anybody,
    Now I don't know if it was the cartridge game inserted that stopped the console from freezing but hell it was working! Literally 0 freezings.
    I still can't explain how, I literally have no clue. I managed to install a whole CFW (like 1 hour or so of console active) without any problems.
    It was the first time for me doing a CFW on a Nintendo console and following the steps I did everything correctly.

    But, there is a but.
    After launching FBI to try to install a .cia game, at 1/4 of progress the console shut down itself. Sidenote: there wasn't any cartridge game inside.
    Now I'm repeating the .cia install but with a cartridge inserted in the slot, and see if it works, since the last time the console worked forever, and made me install the CFW, there was a cartridge inside.

    I know that I still don't know what is the problem, but I'm trying every possible scenario, it's like I feel I'm getting closer to the problem but can't figure out the definitive solution, this is really weird!

    I will update :)

    EDIT: Meanwhile I am installing the .cia, I noticed the RTC on the top of FBI is wrong (it says 1 july 2030, even tho during the installation I set it up correctly), I would like to change it to the actual date and time, but I'm not familiar with the commands of Luma, do I have to Start+Power Button, or Left+Down+Select? Sorry I know this is probably a 2 sec thing but I don't want to mess around with settings I don't know.

    EDIT2: Ok it crashed again at the second attempt to install the .cia game. So I went for a 900kb .cia which is faster and when finished it shutdown itself again. Now if I press the power button, the blue led stays on for few seconds then everythings turns off. I think I fried the whole thing. RIP

    EDIT3: Now it turns on but no freezing, instead, it immediately shut down. I got this error last crash:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by Lucabastianello, May 31, 2020
    peteruk likes this.
  15. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6,555
    Country:
    United States
    Lucabastianello likes this.
  16. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I just finished downloading the CTRTransfer, but if I START+Power button it loads GodMode9 and then it starts glitching everywhere with giant QR codes on the top screen. I give up.

    Also it bugs somehow the console that everytime I try to power on, the blue led flashes and immediately turns off, the console doesnt even start. It starts maybe 1 out of 20 tries.
    This thing is cursed
     
    Last edited by Lucabastianello, Jun 1, 2020
  17. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    It says "Unable to mount CTRNAND or load the CTRNAND FIRM"
    so I googled and the only thing to do apparently is CTRTransfer, too bad when I press "Transfer image to CTRNAND" it immediatelyt glitches with QR codes everywhere. Sometimes I can't even reach that option because it glitches right when I power the console.

    Selling this, enough. I appreciate your help dont get me wrong, but this is something stupid beyond human intelligence, there is literally no point, this curse thing has some serious hardware issues. Probably some programmed obsolescence, who knows.
     
  18. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6,555
    Country:
    United States
    Lucabastianello likes this.
  19. Lucabastianello

    OP Lucabastianello Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Another (kinda useless) update:

    The console yesterday was pretty much gone, no boot, NAND errors, corrupted files/CFW, godmode crashing ang glitching non stop...definitely bricked.

    I tried this morning randomly by putting a 2DS battery (which is the same, just 100mAh less). Believe it or not, it worked, and for some reason I was able to re-write the boot, the CFW and install all the .cias. Basically I did almost all the steps from zero and I made it working again.

    I thought I had it, but well, after launching the main menu, just 2-3 seconds into it and then...freeze again. :(
    So it wasn't the battery, it was too great to be real, imagine solving this huge mess by simply replacing the battery.

    But well the good news is I can sell it as "partially working", since it boots up and loads the menu and the screens are working (I think for repairs they are good). I will probably get some buyer that will replace the PCB or other stuff, but yea way better than a console that doesn't turn on, or turns on with a bricked CFW.

    Anyways, now I'm looking for a N3DS (already CFW if possible) and also on N2DSXL, but about this last one I have a big question.
    I know that the N2DSXL is probably the worst thing ever produced by Nintendo, speaking of durability. I always see N2DSXLs with top screen broken, hinge broken and stuff.

    So would you recommend me to try anyway a N2DSXL if cheaper, or better wait, spend a bit more money, and buy a N3DS/N3DSXL?

    I am very careful with my stuff I never dropped anything and I take extreme care, but yeah I'm not sure about the N2DSXL fragility...
     
  20. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6,555
    Country:
    United States
    Hard NO for the n2DSXL model. Treat yourself from future headaches and misery.
    Save up money for the n3DSXL which has better aftermarket support for replacement parts and relatively easy repair-ability. Toss up for the n3DS due to its rarity and hard to fix motherboards and shell housing.

    If you want something comfortable to hold, affordable, easy to fix, durable, and don't care for New 3DS only games or [N64/PS1/Neo Geo/later gen video game systems] homebrew emulators, get the o2DS instead.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - New3DS, Screen, Glitch