New Xbox 360 discs may not work on some consoles

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Guild McCommunist, May 18, 2011.

  1. Guild McCommunist
    OP

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It appears that the new Xbox LIVE update, which will introduce support for the new XGD3 disk format, might prevent a very small number of Xbox 360 owners from playing retail game discs.

    Kotaku were contacted by a reader who received an email from Microsoft informing him that it had detected via Xbox LIVE that his Xbox (a 60GB Pro from 2009) was affected. Microsoft has offered to replace his console with a new Xbox 360S with 250GB hard drive at no expense.

    The email has since been verified by Xbox Support via their official Twitter account.

    The XGD3 format will allow for additional storage space on a game disc, and will provide additional levels of copy production.

    The Xbox LIVE Spring update will be rolled out between May 19 to May 30.
    [/p]

    Source

    Before freaking out, read the damn article.

    Microsoft contacted the guy saying his Xbox wouldn't work with the new update and gave him a brand spankin' new one for free. And people think Microsoft are a bunch of dicks.
     


  2. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Lol, well they had to do it, or else lose customers.
     
  3. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    thats nice of Microsoft

    hope my compatible
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very cool of Microsoft to do that but they must be very confident that these new disks will not work on a small number of consoles or else they wouldn't be doing this.
     
  5. awssk8er

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, first thing I've seen Microsoft do right in a while.

    Good job!
     
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    what games will have these new discs i wonder
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I imagine games like Final Fantasy XIII would fit on one disc, as well as a lot of other PS3 to 360 games.
    I don't know what capacity XGD3 is though.
     
  8. Guild McCommunist
    OP

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure FFXIII is like over 40GB. I don't think these new discs will be able to fit multidisc games (Mass Effect 2, Lost Odyssey, LA Noire) onto one disc. I think they added an extra GB or something. I read about it a while back but I'm a bit fuzzy on the details.

    EDIT: If anything, these new discs would just allow a little extra space for more anti-piracy or for a little more game data.
     
  9. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Hope mine is incompatible. [​IMG]

    Bought it boxing day '06. Doesn't even have HDMI, came with 20 GB HDD. [​IMG]
     
  10. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very impressed with this (even though I don't have an Xbox), slightly surprised thatt Microsoft are taking the first move, and contacting those affected, rather than waiting for those affected to contact them.
     
  11. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    I'm in the program and the disc works well on my 2010 model, and my Original launch model (modded), and they both play older as well as newer retail games just fine so I have a feeling that the older hardware revisions aren't really an issue.
     
  12. purechaos996

    Member purechaos996 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Country:
    United States
    Awww thats nice of them. Too bad I was a beta tester for that format lol. mine works fine.
     
  13. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wondering, would they still do this if your xbox is modded and/or has clearly been opened before?

    As obviously this isn't a warranty issue so I dunno. I would guess it's in their best intrest to do so.
     
  14. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,735
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    The way I see it, they're trying as hard as possible to eliminate the DriveMod-vulnerable 360'ties from the market. It's the first time ever when a company releases an updated format of their discs that *doesn't* work on some of their hardware, at least first I can think of.
     
  15. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Might unbox my 360 and hook it up again, see if get the message (have not unpacked since I moved house a month ago) I have one of the really old models without hdmi, so maybe it's got the same problem.

    Would be good to know what drive cannot use these new discs ( I'm assuming it's due to the DVD drive that some models need to be replaced?)
     
  16. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Maybe I could finally exchange my xbox for a new one!
    YES!!!
    [​IMG]
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  17. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    not really
    this is only a very small percentage of units probably around from 06
    theres are tons of units that this disc format works fine on and the drive can be modded on

    I have 2 elites both from mid 2007
    and one regular launch day 360

    the disc format works on the elites which have a hitachi-lg 79
    no idea if the format works on the launch day 360, but I guess it should be safe to test now with the reach disc from the beta program
     
  18. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    The Elite model of the 360 didn't even sip until April 2007 IIRC. Anyway, I think its good that MS is replacing problematic consoles with ease.
     
  19. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    sorry, meant mid 2007
     
  20. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    i hope i'll be cool with my 2008 elite.
     

Share This Page