New Wii Loader App

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by trent_fox, Jun 2, 2008.

Jun 2, 2008

New Wii Loader App by trent_fox at 11:59 PM (6,834 Views / 0 Likes) 37 replies

  1. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    After working out most of the bugs of my last app, I started work on my next.

    I read through the source code of wiiload.exe and wrote up a more advanced version.

    This program lets you send ELF/DOL files to your Wii over your network. I made it so it reads in the same way HBC does, ie. get info from meta.xml and get an image from logo.png; so you can download from this thread, extract it, and be on your merry way. You can also just stick ELF/DOL files right into the apps folder and it'll list the files, but obviously without any of the fancy description or icon. There's also a manual load option that let's you browse your computer and load homebrew from where ever you may be keeping it.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Download: http://foxingworth.com/wii/wii_loader_gui.zip

    Please let me know how it works out for you. I tried to test it as much as I could, but I'm sure bugs will creep up.

    Known bugs:
    Transparencies in the icons don't work right, so some icons look kind of cruddy. It's the crappy PNG library I'm using, I gotta work it out.
     


  2. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Kudos! I'll test this ASAP [​IMG]

    EDIT: I got an error when double clicking the "Wii Loader GUI"

    Error:
    Component 'MSWINSCK.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid.
     
  3. jayparadox

    Member jayparadox GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    Great work!
     
  4. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Oops, included the wrong winsock file. Redownload the zip and it'll work deba94.
     
  5. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Great! I'll test it out again. [​IMG]

    EDIT: Exact same error... Is there something we need to do before to get this working? Or is it supposed to be an "unzip and go" type of thing?
     
  6. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    umm getting "error sending connection is forcefully rejected"?
     
  7. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have it, you can change the IP right in the app and it'll remember it.
     
  8. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah,figured that out as soon as I posted...doh!
     
  9. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Deba, it should be unzip and go. Make sure that MSWINSCK.OCX is in the same folder as the application.

    apcarr: Are you still having the forcefully rejected error, or is that better now? That sounds like the IP is wrong.
     
  10. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I see 2 files (MSWINSCK.OCX and Wii Loader GUI.exe) and a folder (apps). I just unziped the file and double clicked the application and still got the error.

    Running windows Vista if that matters.
     
  11. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    It should load the mswinsck file out of the same folder, but if it's not, try moving MSWINSCK.OCX to C:\Windows\system32 and seeing if then runs.
     
  12. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK got it to work,had to load the homebrew channel press exit but didnt(network not initialized)press exit again(net id was then shown)sent test.elf.
    geckloader test screen

    so other than my network not starting straight away it worked a treat,well done and cheers this will be very handy,saves you removing your sd card all the time.
     
  13. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, sometimes the homebrew channel doesn't initialize the network. If the little globe icon in the bottom right corner doesn't come on, you can click it with the Wiimote and it'll try to start it again.
     
  14. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Tried that (copied that file to that directory) and still didn't work.
     
  15. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah, it's like the xbox ftp program, cool.
     
  16. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    deba: Go to the Start button and in the search bar, type 'cmd' and press enter. Then type 'regsvr32 mswinsck.ocx' and press enter again.

    Oh and don't forget to cross your fingers. Btw, are you running a 64-bit version of Windows?
     
  17. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope, 32 bit.

    I tried that and got another error:
    [​IMG]
     
  18. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Are you logged in as an administrator? From googling around, it looks like that error code is a permissions issue.
     
  19. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, there is only one account on my PC. Maybe its just a vista issue?
     
  20. trent_fox
    OP

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so, I'm a Vista user myself. Well sorry mate, but I am out of ideas.
     

Share This Page