New version of Super Smash Bros. Brawl?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LWares87, Apr 19, 2011.

Apr 19, 2011
  1. LWares87
    OP

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My friend brought a new copy of super smash bros. brawl and for some weird reason, the smash stack pal exploit wouldn't work as it froze. Does this mean, that this a new version of the game? :/

    To be perfectly honest, i think he should of preowned it. :L
     
  2. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely.
     
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Sounds like they fixed the exploit. But there are so many people with the original version that it will not help them anymore.
     
  4. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Think ya can give us a good picture of the inner ring of the disc on the bottom? Might be some worthwhile info on that inner ring...

    Also, what region SSBB and linky to exploit used?
     
  5. LWares87
    OP

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well... i guess nintendo are not working on firmware, but looking at fixing first-party games. But... who knows, if this will soon affect the other exploits which use savegames (lego based titles and yu-gi-oh!) and end up the same way like the twilight hack.

    Edit: PAL region and my friend owns the game. I could ask him to take a picture of the disc, but i going with theorys at the moment.
     
  6. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you are using the right version of the exploit. There is the 'no-save' version which is used if you decide to not let the game create a savegame, and then there it the other one which is for when you let the game create a save game. I got confused by that whole bit myself. Also make sure you delete the custom levels first before you put in your SD card with the exploit on it.

    But chances are, there is not a new release of the game.
     
  7. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    no. the game froze. that means it crashed. this means that you didnt follow the instructions correctly.
     
  8. LWares87
    OP

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's was a new savefile and i deleted the preset custom stages. i also, put the custom stage exploit in the correct folder on the sd card.
     
  9. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    This would be nice, it should look like this:
    [​IMG]
    I think you can read it, my old mobile phone camera is not the best [​IMG]
     
  10. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    108D2901 RVL-RSBP-0B-0 JPN L8

    is that right?
     
  11. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, the important part is 0B because this show the game version.
     
  12. leo.uff

    Newcomer leo.uff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Brazil
    Change the exploit file and be happy.
     
  13. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Edit: Make a fresh save. Also, what's the wii's firmware? I don't think the exploit works on 4.2 and below.
     
  14. airline38

    Member airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    746
    Country:
    Taiwan
    It makes no sense if Nintendo spent efforts to make a new SSBB-PAL to ban the exploit
    because there are many people have already got the old version of SSBB-PAL.

    If I were Nintendo engineer, I would study a new SM to ban this exploit instead of
    making a new SSBB-PAL.
     
  15. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    The SM version doesn't matter at all.
     
  16. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    If I were Nintendo I'd bow down and admit defeat. Move on and try to regroup.
     
  17. mrfraser89

    Newcomer mrfraser89 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Australia
    At what point is it freezing?

    I know that when I attempted the exploit I had a number of freezes / attempts before I got it to work correctly. I highly doubt there is a 'new' version [​IMG]
     
  18. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    It is impossible to ban this exploit with a SM/IOS update, becuse the game directly accesses the SD card.
    The only way to block it is to fix the game and make new discs
     
  19. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    0B is NOT the game version, the following 0 is.

    Zelda:TP:
    RVL-RZDE-0A-0 USA (release)
    RVL-RZDE-0A-2 USA (patched the cannon-room bug)
     
  20. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it works on all sm... as it is a ingame exploit and not a savegame exploit... every system menu running it can use it...
     

Share This Page