New version of Super Smash Bros. Brawl?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LWares87, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. LWares87
    OP

    LWares87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,703
    182
    Oct 19, 2008
    My friend brought a new copy of super smash bros. brawl and for some weird reason, the smash stack pal exploit wouldn't work as it froze. Does this mean, that this a new version of the game? :/

    To be perfectly honest, i think he should of preowned it. :L
     
  2. Selim873

    Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Member
    1,176
    588
    Jul 31, 2010
    United States
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Most likely.
     
  3. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,238
    9,416
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Sounds like they fixed the exploit. But there are so many people with the original version that it will not help them anymore.
     
  4. jceggbert5

    jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Member
    989
    1
    Dec 1, 2008
    United States
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Think ya can give us a good picture of the inner ring of the disc on the bottom? Might be some worthwhile info on that inner ring...

    Also, what region SSBB and linky to exploit used?
     
  5. LWares87
    OP

    LWares87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,703
    182
    Oct 19, 2008
    Well... i guess nintendo are not working on firmware, but looking at fixing first-party games. But... who knows, if this will soon affect the other exploits which use savegames (lego based titles and yu-gi-oh!) and end up the same way like the twilight hack.

    Edit: PAL region and my friend owns the game. I could ask him to take a picture of the disc, but i going with theorys at the moment.
     
  6. DeadlyFoez

    DeadlyFoez GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,441
    1,476
    Apr 12, 2009
    United States
    Make sure you are using the right version of the exploit. There is the 'no-save' version which is used if you decide to not let the game create a savegame, and then there it the other one which is for when you let the game create a save game. I got confused by that whole bit myself. Also make sure you delete the custom levels first before you put in your SD card with the exploit on it.

    But chances are, there is not a new release of the game.
     
  7. giantpune

    giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,860
    122
    Apr 10, 2009
    United States
    no. the game froze. that means it crashed. this means that you didnt follow the instructions correctly.
     
  8. LWares87
    OP

    LWares87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,703
    182
    Oct 19, 2008
    it's was a new savefile and i deleted the preset custom stages. i also, put the custom stage exploit in the correct folder on the sd card.
     
  9. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,238
    9,416
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    This would be nice, it should look like this:
    [​IMG]
    I think you can read it, my old mobile phone camera is not the best [​IMG]
     
  10. jceggbert5

    jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Member
    989
    1
    Dec 1, 2008
    United States
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    108D2901 RVL-RSBP-0B-0 JPN L8

    is that right?
     
  11. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,238
    9,416
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Yes, the important part is 0B because this show the game version.
     
  12. leo.uff

    leo.uff Member

    Newcomer
    31
    0
    Sep 23, 2010
    Brazil
    Change the exploit file and be happy.
     
  13. Thesolcity

    Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Member
    2,159
    598
    Oct 2, 2010
    United States
    San Miguel
    Edit: Make a fresh save. Also, what's the wii's firmware? I don't think the exploit works on 4.2 and below.
     
  14. airline38

    airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    746
    163
    Mar 28, 2010
    Taiwan
    It makes no sense if Nintendo spent efforts to make a new SSBB-PAL to ban the exploit
    because there are many people have already got the old version of SSBB-PAL.

    If I were Nintendo engineer, I would study a new SM to ban this exploit instead of
    making a new SSBB-PAL.
     
  15. DeadlyFoez

    DeadlyFoez GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,441
    1,476
    Apr 12, 2009
    United States
    The SM version doesn't matter at all.
     
  16. Hells Guardian

    Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,113
    1
    Dec 25, 2008
    United States
    If I were Nintendo I'd bow down and admit defeat. Move on and try to regroup.
     
  17. mrfraser89

    mrfraser89 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    61
    0
    Jun 14, 2009
    At what point is it freezing?

    I know that when I attempted the exploit I had a number of freezes / attempts before I got it to work correctly. I highly doubt there is a 'new' version [​IMG]
     
  18. Porobu

    Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Member
    1,042
    7
    Sep 12, 2009
    It is impossible to ban this exploit with a SM/IOS update, becuse the game directly accesses the SD card.
    The only way to block it is to fix the game and make new discs
     
  19. SanGor

    SanGor Witchhunter

    Member
    993
    79
    Aug 21, 2008
    United States
    0B is NOT the game version, the following 0 is.

    Zelda:TP:
    RVL-RZDE-0A-0 USA (release)
    RVL-RZDE-0A-2 USA (patched the cannon-room bug)
     
  20. FGOD

    FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Member
    1,350
    4
    Jun 1, 2008
    Netherlands
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    it works on all sm... as it is a ingame exploit and not a savegame exploit... every system menu running it can use it...