1. tk_saturn

    OP tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    Just ignore that bit, follow the image instead.
    [​IMG]

    wood_r4_v1.XX means wood_r4_v1.07, wood_r4_v1.08 etc.

    I added that because people asked me to as they wanted to use Wood R4 with their original R4 Software. You only need to follow the last section of step 4 if you want to do that too. Personally I don't point, as to me Wood R4 is better.

    However to make it easier If you want to do that just extract this archive http://rapidshare.com/files/392310491/wood_r4_v1.08.zip to the root directory of your MicroSD card. Then boot your R4 up using your normal software, and there will be a WOODR4.NDS in the file browser. Launch that and Wood R4 will start.

    edit: It wasn't totally clear in the guide, so i've done a quick edit to make it clearer. I still need to do a bit of work to the guide.
     
  2. ARandomName

    ARandomName Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Thanks for this, it worked fine [​IMG]
     
  3. kat499

    kat499 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    how can you get a "fixed" game like America's Test Kitchen to work on the Wood R4?

    Do i just add a ds rom of that game that isn't working properly and put it in the game folder? Or is there some special method to make it work properly with Wood R4?

    Can someone help me out please? I'm new to this.. thanks [​IMG]
     
  4. tk_saturn

    OP tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
  5. appledrank

    appledrank Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Hey I read through this and it helped a lot.

    One thing though, I don't think your Save Converter works?
    It's a .download file off of filetrip.

    Or maybe I'm doing it wrong? Please let me know. Thanks [​IMG]
     
  6. basher11

    basher11 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,385
    Country:
    United States
  7. tk_saturn

    OP tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    I did modify it so instead of having to extract it to the MicroSD card, you could just run it as an exe and it should automatically detect which drive your MicroSD is. I checked and it works fine on my Windows 7 x64 and Vista x86.

    What windows are you using?

    Try basher's link again, and if it doesn't work i'll upload the bat file for you. All it's actually doing is renaming the *.sav files to *.nds.sav which you can do from a command prompt by typing in ren *.sav *.nds.sav

    Unless you are refering to the (Linux, Mac OS) one, in which case you should PM the author iXXi and let him know there's an issue with it.
     
  8. appledrank

    appledrank Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    It's downloading 11162-SaveManager.download


    :wtf: Should I try 1.0?
     
  9. tk_saturn

    OP tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
  10. Ubuntuの刀

    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    United States
    I have a question.

    I use r4 clone and i made it so that it's my second OS.

    now i was just wondering...

    HOW THE H*** DO I SAVE ON IT!?

    I really want to play bowsers inside story, but i can't because it's stuck on the loading screen.

    and my Maplestory DS rom is too.

    HELP!

    EDIT: Rofl i use R4 SDHC, not a clone(thats what i was told by a friend)
     
  11. Infinite Zero

    Infinite Zero Almost!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Country:
    United States
    youre screwed. it wont save
    and have you ever read other posts that wood r4 for clones isnt continued anymore??
    wood r4 wont work on others EXCEPT the original R4 that doesnt use sdhc
     
  12. riverchen

    riverchen GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the guide. The renaming tool gives me a .download file, so i used another program. You made me switch back to mah good 'ol DSL
     
  13. appledrank

    appledrank Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    To update to a new firmware, we'd just extract all the files into the root directory, right?

    And replace the old ones?
     
  14. Infinite Zero

    Infinite Zero Almost!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Country:
    United States
    you dont need all of them. just the .dat file on the root
     
  15. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    United States
    I will definetly use this guide when i buy my r4
     
  16. champ2131

    champ2131 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I keep getting the "? Menu" on the top screen....using a DSi & R4i card....any suggestions?
     
  17. tk_saturn

    OP tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    That's because Wood only works on original R4 carts, or 1:1 clones of the original R4.

    Your best bet is to get an Acekard 2i or use YSmenu. You will not get Wood working on your R4i.
     
  18. Thanatos

    Thanatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to disable/hide the copy/cut/paste/delete functions? im giving a wood r4 cart to my nephew full of games he owns so he can carry it around instead of 15+ carts but i dont want to have to worry about him deleting a bunch of games or making a dozen copies cause then i have to try and fix it over the phone (hes a couple states away)
     
  19. tk_saturn

    OP tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    No, that's only possible on AKAIO.

    You could ask Y.W.G to include the same option on Wood.

    If you are able to compile Wood yourself (source is in the links) it should be very easy to disable the start menu, it's not something i've tried myself.
     
  20. Florio

    Florio Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    Hope you can help me, as I am a grandfather and a bit old for all of this!! I bought an R4 over a year ago for my grandson's Nintendo DS Lite, and have been putting the occasional game on it for him. Lately I've had problems with some of the games, as they seem to open but then the screen goes completley black (or white!) and the game hangs. I read that the R4Wood 1.09 can help fix this problem, and so today I downloaded it. I have two important questions.

    Firstly, there are already two file folders (-system- and moonshl) plus three other system files (_DS_MENU.DAT, _DS_MENU.SYS and _DS_MSHL.DS) installed in the root directory. Which, if any of these, should I remove before installing the -rpg folder and the new _DS_MENU.DAT from the extracted Wood file?

    Secondly, I've read that all SAV.files will need to be renamed as .NDS.SAV. Does my grandson risk losing the games he's already saved? Could I avoid problems here by renaming the files via file manager on my PC before installing the Wood files?

    Looking forward to your reply

    Florio
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - setting, users, guide