New USB pen or more RAM?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Harsky, Sep 2, 2007.

Sep 2, 2007

New USB pen or more RAM? by Harsky at 1:13 AM (1,983 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So it's now past the 6 months stage on my HP TX1000 laptop with Vista Ultimate on it and I have to admit that I found myself adapting to it okay. But somehow the 1gb Ram just isn't cutting it. Is there really any difference between buying 2 x 1gb RAM stick or just getting a 4gb pen and using the readyboost feature?
     


  2. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure the extra physical RAM would be much more effective, but probably a lot more expensive. Besides, who wants a USB pen sticking out their drive all the time.
     
  3. nintendofreak

    Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Location:
    Cal Poly Pomona / (323)
    Country:
    United States
    MOAR RAM!!


    I found the jump from 512 mb [​IMG] to 1GB to be very impressive. So im sure doubling it again would be just as exciting, or more! [​IMG]
     
  4. wzeroc

    Member wzeroc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Johor, Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Get a RAM addon. i tried to find some info on the readyboost once and if i'm not mistaken there was a limit on how big of the size of the pendrive that readyboost can handle.

    But then again, if you have pendrive, atleast you can put 'things' in it and give it sneakily to your 'friends'.
     
  5. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
  6. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with everyone else.
    RAM, yo.
     
  7. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alrighty, got my pay today so it's time for some spending. I checked the memory for my laptop and it says it's a PC2-5300S. I checked on ebuyer and the ones they have are PC-5300. Does it make any difference if the S is missing or do I have to buy "official" memory from HP? Also, I've been on ebuyer and I'm presented with a selection of choices

    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/cat/Memory---Lapt...R2-SODIMM-5300+

    Corsair, Crucial or Kingston?
     
  8. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Getting a usb flash drive is cheaper than messing with the ram. I got one for the readyboost, but it seems to make the laptop slower. Maybe the flash drive isn't fast enough. I'll be able to use the 4gb stick for something else, so I'm not really bothered.
     
  9. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I do have a 4gb USB pen but for some reason, Vista doesn't recognise it at all for readyboost.
     
  10. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    I have never understood readyboosts usefulness, is it essentially a swap space on a usb drive instead of a harddisk?
     
  11. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    RAM is much faster than ReadyBoost.
    Say, if someone asks you what 3+4+5 is,
    You do 3+4 in your head, "remember 7 and forget about 3+4" and then do 7+5 in your head, that's similar to how RAM works.
    ReadyBoost: You do 3+4 in your head, "write down 7 on a piece of paper, look at it, oh it's a seven" so do 7+5 in your head.

    Some funky analogy inside

    If you really want to imitate multitasking causing lack of RAM, go cycle at the gym while on the phone explaining this cheaper car insurance to your friend, and do a 20! (factorial) in your head. If you have good memory but still can't remember enough, you can write numbers down on your shirts, if you have bad memory, you could carry a memo slip to jot things down, and if that's still not enough write down on your shirts.
    (Cycling, on the phone, 20! = tasks, RAM = your memory, memo slip = USB pen, shirts = HDD)


    Corsair is the best gaming RAM IMO, but Kingston (Toshiba) is (or used to be) the best laptop memory maker.
    I use Corsair memory on my desktop and Toshiba memory on my laptop, if that helps at all.
     
  12. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So... uh.... RAM is good?
     
  13. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup.
    CustomPC Magazine did a good article on RAM and it was declared the best value RAM was the Corsair TwinX stuff and the best midrange was Crucial Ballistix.

    - Sam
     
  14. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd go for Ram, not only is it useful but if you shear it you can get make a nice fleecy coat.

    Ok bad joke but yeah RAM is always
     
  15. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Buy normal ram!
    Dont buy a USB stick becourse Windows Vista is killing it in notime [​IMG]
     
  17. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    ram.. actually i need to buy ram too
     
  18. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  19. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    I need ram to lol.
    But im going to get myself a new Quad core pc [​IMG]
     
  20. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Urgh, don't remind me. I bought a new PC after my old one died last year and just as I was unpacking it, an advert fot Quad Core appears. Yeah, neighbours must've wanted to complain about me shouting FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCKKKK.

    Well, I hope Corsair is a good brand.
     

Share This Page