New to XBOX360 hacking

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by MikeTR, Mar 15, 2012.

Mar 15, 2012

New to XBOX360 hacking by MikeTR at 5:13 PM (1,070 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I know, there probably is a post with this, i've lurked, but it didn't quite answered my questions.

    So anywho, I recently bought the Gears of War 3 special edition xbox360, and I'de like very much to hack it to play it's awesome games.
    From what I read, I have to open the xbox to fully know what it's in there so I can go from there.
    But i'm scared to do that since I do not have a clue how and I'm afraid i might ruin the warranty.

    So I ask you guys, how can I hack my new toy and which methods are safest and not too pricy, if i have to pay to get it very safe and stable then fine.

    Thanks in advance


    PS: From the tray, I think i have a BenQ
     
  2. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    GoW3 special edition 360 (360 Slim) has a Liteon at best or a Hitachi at worst.

    Yank open your 360 and look at your drive revision.
    Then search for that drive in the Jungleflasher manual (comes with the download)

    At best you'll have to install a Sputnik 360 (a quick solderboard)
    At worst you'll have to do a Kamikaze hack (drilling in the chip)

    You could always purchase a ODDE (costs around 100 bucks) or a replacement PCB (already unlocked and flashable with future FW updates and is slightly cheaper)

    As for flashtools.
    You'll have to get a X360 USB or a VIA PCI Sata card and a Connectivity kit (it's advised) and possibly a Probe3 (not sure for Slim drives anymore)

    As for burning.
    Verbatim DL's for XGD2 and XGD3.
    A Liteon iHAS B burner is needed to burn the new 8.4 GB iso's (and stay safe)
     
  3. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    Woah, lots of stuff xD, thank you for the info.
    Will give feedback soon on the opening

    So basicly, if I have a Liteon i'll have to get a Sputnik, if not then i'll have to go through the dark and hard way.. crap.
    I was thinking in getting an xboxdock, because i prefer using backups, since it spres me dvd recordings
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Liteon drives have 2 chipsets.
    MediaTEK and Winbond.

    Iirc the MediaTEK one was the one that required a Kamikaze hack.

    Anyway the Jungleflasher manual is the way to do it.
    It's pretty noobfriendly;]
     
  5. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mediatek are the manufacturer of the drive controller. They are all mediatek, it's the flash inside that is the problem. MXIC=Sputnik, Winbond=Kamikaze
     
  6. sudeki300

    Member sudeki300 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if your going to spend the money to have the drive flashed you might want to think about having the reset glitch hack done for a few pounds / dollars more. this will allow all backups to be run from HDD without use of any disc (save money on buying blank discs) and allow dlc and XBLA games to be run from HDD as well as allows homebrew. this is the best option for the 360, as long as you do not want to play on LIVE. but even with just a flashed drive this is a gamble..........................sudeki300
     
  7. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to keep live capabilities, you could go for a dual NAND. This will allow you switch between a live enabled dash and a hacked dash. Also DLC on an RGH/Jtag console is only executable from an "internal" HDD, while everything else can be ran from a USB device.
     
  8. MikeTR
    OP

    Newcomer MikeTR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Portugal
    I do not mind the LIVE, but using backups would be ideal.
    Thanks for the feedback, i'll be sure to check in once I open my xbox, got'a find tutorial.
     
  9. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    RGHing your console allows for a lot more but beware.

    Even Slims need additional cooling to keep themselves alive so your box will be a little more noisier.
     

Share This Page