Homebrew New to TWiLight ++; Pokemon Black cheats not working?

xunOnex

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
As the title says, I’m new to the menu as well as the whole homebrewing scene. I’ve searched around many forums for this question but they’re either too old or I can’t find any answers/similar questions.

I’m also new here and I don’t know if this is an appropriate way to ask this question.

I’ve been trying to use cheats on Pokemon Black but some cheats like the x900 rare candies cheat don’t work (i’ve also been inputting the buttons the cheats tell me to use to activate them, nothing happens). I have the usrcheat.dat and the cheats are in the extras folder. Is there a problem on my end or does the menu not support cheats for Pokemon BW?

I’d also like to add that the cheats work for other games like MKDS but not for Pokemon Black Version.

EDIT: I’m using a New 3DS XL and downloaded the menu and the cheat database via the Univseral Updater.

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Trophies
Website
pk11.us
XP
Country
United States
Try switching to DS mode for the game (Press Y on it in TWiLight and set "Run in" to "DS mode"), many cheats (especially button activated ones) have issues in DSi mode.

The reason Pokémon Black specifically has issues is that most games (such as Mario Kart DS) don't support DSi mode to begin with, so this is only an issue for DSi-enhanced games.

xunOnex

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Try switching to DS mode for the game (Press Y on it in TWiLight and set "Run in" to "DS mode"), many cheats (especially button activated ones) have issues in DSi mode.

The reason Pokémon Black specifically has issues is that most games (such as Mario Kart DS) don't support DSi mode to begin with, so this is only an issue for DSi-enhanced games.

Thanks! I tried out DS mode and activated the rare candies cheat and this worked. Don’t know why I didn’t try this earlier. Is this also the case with other Pokemon games like BW2, SoulSilver, and Platinum?