New to the PSP emulation

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Remy, Aug 17, 2006.

Aug 17, 2006

New to the PSP emulation by Remy at 6:13 AM (1,498 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Remy
    OP

    Member Remy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    Hi there folks,

    Well, I've finally decided to get back into the PSP emulation thing, and boy have things changed. Back in the days, I would use UMDGen for ISOs...but when some ISOs require firmware updates, I thought, "Game Over"

    Can some of you guys help me get back into it? I've heard that a program called "Devhook" (dunno which version to get...last I heard there was a v.46) which will allow you to play ISOs of all types because it mimicks the newer Firmwares.
    So...can you guys point me in the right direction interms of:
    What things I need to download (i don't need actual links...i can search =D )
    How to make the programs work

    Thank you so much! [​IMG]
     
  2. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    8i just spent an hour downgrading a 2.0 (norton antivirus [​IMG]) and installing devhook

    i would like to know about this too cause i downloaded Initial D fror my friend

    but it doesnt have a .iso file it alll random files in all these .part files(4 in particular
     
  3. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    There's an easy devhook installer somewhere where all you do is plug in the USB cable and run the installer. After that, just put the ISOs in the ISO folder devhook makes at the root of your MS.
    Run devhook from Games > Memory Stick > Devhook 0.46.
    At the devhook menu, select "UMD SELECT" then choose the iso you'll mount.
    After that just select "START".
    After playing you can use Home to exit to the XMB then select "Return to 1.50 from 2.XX" to go back to your original firmware so you can just run Devhook again to choose a different ISO.

    EDIT:
    That's probably a rar file. Get win RAR and open them. If you have trouble opening them, just rename them like this:
    filename.part1 -> filename.rar
    filename.part2 -> filename.r00
    filename.part3 -> filename.r01
    filename.part4 -> filename.r02
    etc.

    then open up the first part (.rar)
     
  4. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted to pop in.
    You dont have to reboot devhook just to switch ISO's. Hold Home and Press L or R to switch. Also Home+Select changes speed and the Music button takes a screenshot (if you have that pack installed from the auto installer). I love my PSP. =D
     
  5. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Thanks I've learned something new. [​IMG] Gotta install the psp-shot thing. :/ I installed devhook before I learned about that installer thing. :/
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    yeah....you probably need to read up more on devhook if you didn't know that.....look @ maxconsole's faq on devhook and give it a read, it's quick and gives you the gist of using it quickly...it's a wonder to me how people still have problems with all these full packages and easy installers. But I still prefer to do clean dumps myself and install the mods from scratch bottom up for the psp to be customized to how I like it.
     
  7. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States

    i got it to extract but its not an ISO file, but 2 folders called sysdir and usrdir

    can i use this on devhook or do i need something else?(umdloader ,ect)
     
  8. sub7ime

    Newcomer sub7ime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    You need an *.iso or *.cso (compressed iso) to play a game via devhook.
     
  9. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i found out i extracted an .iso file not an .rar

    how do i convert .iso into .cso?
     
  10. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
  11. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    is there any downside to ciso?
     
  12. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    check the compatibility thread posted @ maxconsole. Some games it makes no difference, some games it causes the games to slow down or not work pending on what level of compression you use.
     

Share This Page