New to GBA - some advice?

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by sbm888, May 19, 2010.

May 19, 2010

New to GBA - some advice? by sbm888 at 11:53 PM (1,366 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

1. sbm888
    OP

Member sbm888 GBAtemp Regular

Australia
    hi all, i'm new to GBA games, because i just purchased a DSTWO, and i want to get some games for my wife, who likes playing 'Zelda' type games, not the RPG turn based games, etc...

what do you recommend? i have browsed through the essesntials etc. and found that Zelda no densetsu is a recommended game, so i'm going to get that one, any others?

(btw - must be in japanese, action rpg (not turned based battle).

thankyou for your time.

2. Ammako

Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

Canada
    I recommend getting nesDS to play the first Legend of Zelda.
    But if it absolutely has to be the (J) version of it, I think the Japanese version of the game still is in English, but I don't know if the Famicom Mini edition is in English too.

But if you use nesDS instead, then get the US or EU version of it, since the Japanese one is a famicom disk system game which is not supported by nesDS.

3. Edgedancer

Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

Australia
    Try the Mana games. They are the closest I can think of that are not actually Zelda.

4. andrewsmith

Newcomer andrewsmith Newbie

United Kingdom
    thanks this information also helps me a lot as I am also new to this.

5. TanookiSuit

Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

United States
    I do believe there was Shining Soul 1 and 2 on GBA which are a mix of zelda with a dash of diablo thrown in there. Also, despite sucking compared to the GB original there's Final Fantasy Adventure(GB) reworked as Sword of Mana which is zelda like.