New to flashcards & 3DS hacking, have a few beginner questions.

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by budmonster, Jan 7, 2016.

1. budmonster
    OP

budmonster Member

Newcomer
    Jan 27, 2015
    United States
    I tried posting this in the noob questions thread but no luck so I apologize if this has been repeated over and over. I have the Zelda MM LE New Nintendo 3DSXL & also have a OG 3DS.

My NN3DSXL is on Ver. 10.3.0-28U & my 3DS is on Ver. 9.5.0-23U. I haven't updated anything. I'm new to all this hacking stuff, carts, etc. All I know is that flashcards allow you to download paid 3DS games to play. I don't know if it's true but I read somewhere that you don't need a card to play games just a homebrew installed?

What do I need to do to be able to download and play paid games? And what is a legit online store? I'm in the States.

I appreciate the help...

Last edited by budmonster, Jan 7, 2016
  2. mech

mech ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️

Oct 26, 2014
    Tonga
    Either buy a sky3ds+ and use it on any firmware or buy a gateway and wait for them to release their software which will let you downgrade your consoles to 9.2 and then use their gateway flash card.

budmonster and MajinCubyan like this.
  3. MajinCubyan

MajinCubyan The Funky Super Saiyan

GBAtemp Patron
    MajinCubyan is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Nov 24, 2014
    United States
    Orre
    Well, you have a few choices depending on what you want to do/feel comfortable doing;

If you wanna pirate games you can get a Gateway or Sky3ds. I don't have either but I think there is lists of retailers in the Shoptemp section above.