Hacking New Theme for EZ-Flash Omega!

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,793
Country
Mexico
I have modded the dark theme slightly for anyone that wants a slightly darker theme.
this is using the latest SimpleDE fw made by Sterophonick.
I Have also included my custom border pack for Game Boy Interface.

View attachment 288423

Huge thanks to Sterophonick for all his

Files:
SimpleDE_SuperDark.rar: Precomplied fw file ready to flash
All_In_one.rar: Game Boy Interface addon borders

New versions available on github:
just search "f3bandit/omega-de-kernel" on github

Is this only for the Omega Definitive Edition?
Also, do you have pics of the Gameboy Interface borders you mention?
 

f3bandit

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
59
Country
United States
Is this only for the Omega Definitive Edition?
Also, do you have pics of the Gameboy Interface borders you mention?
Yes it's only for the DE version as it's built from Sterophonick 's SimpleDE source.
 

Attachments

  • everdrive_x5_mini.png
    everdrive_x5_mini.png
    18.4 KB · Views: 14
  • Image 07.png
    Image 07.png
    19.6 KB · Views: 11
  • GC_SO.png
    GC_SO.png
    30.2 KB · Views: 13
  • ezflash_omega_de_2.png
    ezflash_omega_de_2.png
    12 KB · Views: 15
  • ezflash_omega_de.png
    ezflash_omega_de.png
    10.2 KB · Views: 12
  • ezflash_omega.png
    ezflash_omega.png
    8.1 KB · Views: 14
  • ezflash_generic.png
    ezflash_generic.png
    7.7 KB · Views: 12

magic_maik

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
11
Country
Germany
Hello y'all,

I'm relatively new to all of this, and up to this point I've always been a quiet reader of the forum :)
I created my own thumbnails for a few Homebrew GBA Games etc., but the skinning is driving me nuts! I edited some icons, and after that it won't compile... See the attached screenshots.

IDK if any of this helps, I'm a complete noob when it comes to programming and stuff like that :D

What I found out by myself tho is, that the build.bat file needs to be adjusted to where your devkitPro is installed. Is that right? Because if you edit build.bat, it mentions the directory of devkitPro (or where it would be by default) a few times and I changed every line where this is the case, idk if I made a mistake here?

If any of you can find my mistake... Please let me know :)

Greetings from Germany!

Green Joy-Con D-Pad Shells for Nintendo Switch
 

Sterophonick

Stupid Retro Tech Cat
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
536
Trophies
0
Location
Spamton's Keygen Dungeon
Website
sterophonick.github.io
XP
1,792
Country
United States
Hello y'all,

I'm relatively new to all of this, and up to this point I've always been a quiet reader of the forum :)
I created my own thumbnails for a few Homebrew GBA Games etc., but the skinning is driving me nuts! I edited some icons, and after that it won't compile... See the attached screenshots.

IDK if any of this helps, I'm a complete noob when it comes to programming and stuff like that :D

What I found out by myself tho is, that the build.bat file needs to be adjusted to where your devkitPro is installed. Is that right? Because if you edit build.bat, it mentions the directory of devkitPro (or where it would be by default) a few times and I changed every line where this is the case, idk if I made a mistake here?

If any of you can find my mistake... Please let me know :)

Greetings from Germany!

Green Joy-Con D-Pad Shells for Nintendo Switch
It's finding the compiler correctly, but what appears to be most likely is that one or more of the icons isn't named correctly.

Consult these two images. The small image is the correct name syntax.
 

Attachments

  • guide_28.png
    guide_28.png
    14.4 KB · Views: 7
  • guide_29.png
    guide_29.png
    1.3 KB · Views: 6

magic_maik

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
11
Country
Germany
It's finding the compiler correctly, but what appears to be most likely is that one or more of the icons isn't named correctly.

Consult these two images. The small image is the correct name syntax.
Thank you for your answer and your time, however, I believe that I am doing it right, but it still isn't working...

I found out that the code in the original file, for example icons.h, differs from what Usenti throws out as icons.c, even if I dont edit the image. I marked the stuff in red.
I made 2 screenshots showing the original icons.h from your source (image 1) and then the icons.c file that I get after exporting the unedited icons.bmp from the source with Usenti (second image). The number in brackets differs and also the what I believe is a hex code? If I'm not wrong, it shouldn't differ as the image was not edited by me here.
I double checked the Usenti settings from your guide and renamed the file ending to .h and also changed "XXXBitmap[1234]" to "gImage_XXX[1234]", not changing the numbers in brackets or anything else of it.

Also what I marked blue, differs from the original. Is this where the error comes from? I will try that out in a minute.

Thank you for your time, much appreciation for your projects!
 

Attachments

  • exported-icons_c-file.jpg
    exported-icons_c-file.jpg
    721.9 KB · Views: 7
  • original-icons_h-file.png
    original-icons_h-file.png
    33.7 KB · Views: 8

Sterophonick

Stupid Retro Tech Cat
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
536
Trophies
0
Location
Spamton's Keygen Dungeon
Website
sterophonick.github.io
XP
1,792
Country
United States
Thank you for your answer and your time, however, I believe that I am doing it right, but it still isn't working...

I found out that the code in the original file, for example icons.h, differs from what Usenti throws out as icons.c, even if I dont edit the image. I marked the stuff in red.
I made 2 screenshots showing the original icons.h from your source (image 1) and then the icons.c file that I get after exporting the unedited icons.bmp from the source with Usenti (second image). The number in brackets differs and also the what I believe is a hex code? If I'm not wrong, it shouldn't differ as the image was not edited by me here.
I double checked the Usenti settings from your guide and renamed the file ending to .h and also changed "XXXBitmap[1234]" to "gImage_XXX[1234]", not changing the numbers in brackets or anything else of it.

Also what I marked blue, differs from the original. Is this where the error comes from? I will try that out in a minute.

Thank you for your time, much appreciation for your projects!
First image has the settings to change in Usenti marked. Second image has the settings corrected.
 

Attachments

  • guide_25.png
    guide_25.png
    20.2 KB · Views: 6
  • guide_26.png
    guide_26.png
    15.8 KB · Views: 5

magic_maik

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
11
Country
Germany
First image has the settings to change in Usenti marked. Second image has the settings corrected.
That was not the problem, but I found it out by myself :)
The .h files under source>images use different type of code than the files in its subfolders, so source>images>dark and source>images>light.
The Usenti settings you give in the guide are only right for the images contained in source>images, but not for the ones in source>images>dark and source>images>light.
The right settings that I found for these are marked in the pictures below ("u8" instead of "u16").
Screenshot01.png
Screenshot02.png

Also I made simple, different color scheme as soon as I got it working! Wanted to share this too ;)

01.png
02.jpg
03.jpg

Greetings!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sterophonick

Sterophonick

Stupid Retro Tech Cat
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
536
Trophies
0
Location
Spamton's Keygen Dungeon
Website
sterophonick.github.io
XP
1,792
Country
United States
That was not the problem, but I found it out by myself :)
The .h files under source>images use different type of code than the files in its subfolders, so source>images>dark and source>images>light.
The Usenti settings you give in the guide are only right for the images contained in source>images, but not for the ones in source>images>dark and source>images>light.
The right settings that I found for these are marked in the pictures below ("u8" instead of "u16").

Also I made simple, different color scheme as soon as I got it working! Wanted to share this too ;)


Greetings!
THAT LOOKS SO GOOD!
 

daddu3

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2012
Messages
85
Trophies
0
XP
476
Country
Finland
Heyy, been really amazed by the progress made on this theme. Little sad to see you go but you have done a ton for us on enjoying EZ Flash to it's fullest @Sterophonick!

Anyway, I haven't ended really talking about it for a long while but I noticed that Jagoomba doesn't look to save the configurations for the game settings inside (say I wanna boot it t SGB over GBC on Display-settings) - this seems related to the issues I talked around a year ago regarding how Goomba Paletted-build boots me on empty EZ Flash-menu and also the Goomba Color-fork inside not also saving game configurations from it's settings.

You said something about reset codes, can I somehow implement it myself to fix at least the first bug?

Through some of my own testing in the past with different plugins, I found that if the exit and soft reset is performed real wonky, it can cause the SD card to not be initialized in the menu. I was able to mitigate this using an swi 0x26 instead of an swi 0x01 during the reset code.
 

Sterophonick

Stupid Retro Tech Cat
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
536
Trophies
0
Location
Spamton's Keygen Dungeon
Website
sterophonick.github.io
XP
1,792
Country
United States
Heyy, been really amazed by the progress made on this theme. Little sad to see you go but you have done a ton for us on enjoying EZ Flash to it's fullest @Sterophonick!

Anyway, I haven't ended really talking about it for a long while but I noticed that Jagoomba doesn't look to save the configurations for the game settings inside (say I wanna boot it t SGB over GBC on Display-settings) - this seems related to the issues I talked around a year ago regarding how Goomba Paletted-build boots me on empty EZ Flash-menu and also the Goomba Color-fork inside not also saving game configurations from it's settings.

You said something about reset codes, can I somehow implement it myself to fix at least the first bug?
I don't think that with Jagoomba Color it'll fix it, I believe the problem lies with the way it saves configuration data.

If needed I'll compile separate versions of Jagoomba that force SGB on for both Omega and Base cartridges, like I did not too long ago. How's that sound?
 

magic_maik

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
11
Country
Germany
@Sterophonick
I got one last question regarding the skinning of the EZ-Flash.
The Splash screen Image, or more specific, the .h file of it in your source code shows this comment in the first line of the code:
splash.h.png
Is it not safe to change it?
If so, why?
Greets! ^_^
 

daddu3

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2012
Messages
85
Trophies
0
XP
476
Country
Finland
If needed I'll compile separate versions of Jagoomba that force SGB on for both Omega and Base cartridges, like I did not too long ago. How's that sound?

If it's not too much trouble, then sure. :D Could you set it as "Prefer GBC over SGB"? Mainly would enable the borders while keeping GBC-colorization.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sterophonick

Sterophonick

Stupid Retro Tech Cat
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
536
Trophies
0
Location
Spamton's Keygen Dungeon
Website
sterophonick.github.io
XP
1,792
Country
United States
@Sterophonick
I got one last question regarding the skinning of the EZ-Flash.
The Splash screen Image, or more specific, the .h file of it in your source code shows this comment in the first line of the code:
Is it not safe to change it?
If so, why?
Greets! ^_^
That's output by the tool. That should only apply if the data is compressed, which it shouldn't be. Ignore it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: magic_maik

D2DEZEL92

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 8, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
16
Country
Switzerland
Hello, would it be possible to update the GBC emulator to have the vibrations as on the last official update for EZ Flash DE
 

EvilJagaGenius

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
68
Trophies
0
XP
169
Country
United States
Hello, would it be possible to update the GBC emulator to have the vibrations as on the last official update for EZ Flash DE
I'm not sure. I only have a stock Omega, not a DE to test with. It looks like EZ-Flash uploaded the source for their rumble-patched Goomba, though, so it seems possible.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://god.dailydot.com/bridezilla-destroys-dresses/?fr=operanews