New Super Mario Brothers Level editor

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by FAST6191, Jul 30, 2007.

Jul 30, 2007
  1. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Working on my GBA/DS rom hacking document (DS 3d is not for the feint of heart or those that do not agree with matrices) I stumbled across this and though I would share.

    It is a simplistic level editor for new super mario brothers:
    http://jul.rustedmagick.com/board/thread.php?id=244

    Old link (may not be current)
    http://acmlm.no-ip.org/board/thread.php?id=2079
    romhacking.net has a mirror too:
    http://www.romhacking.net/utils/457/

    Here is the level format should you wonder:
    http://treeki.googlepages.com/nsmblevelformat.txt
     


  2. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if its possible to dump the current levels and edit them, or maybe perhaps add more levels without replacing current ones, maybe even add new worlds.. hmm
     
  3. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    sweet. hopefully this means we'll soon get awesome modifications like the good ol super mario world days
     
  4. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, I'll check this out, maybe put my mind to the test and make some working levels or something...
    But first, food.
     
  5. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    Can't wait to see what you clever members do with this =)
     
  6. Darigon

    Newcomer Darigon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible too edit mario and make him (some game character here)?
     
  7. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Sonic... Yes... Sonic!
     
  8. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Looks interesting. Gonna give it a whirl and see what I can concoct [​IMG]
     
  9. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
  10. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, nice to see this is spreading so fast.

    If you notice the credits, I'm in there. I speak with Treeki daily and know just about everything about the editor.
    Currently it can only edit existing levels and cannot move or edit enemies yet (Next update). You cannot expand levels either yet, but it is said to be coming soon as a fix for the CRC32 check was found and provided by another ROM hacker. If you want more information, head over to http://jul.rustedmagick.com/board/thread.php?id=244 and stay tuned for updates.

    Also, tidbit, Treeki (Creator of the editor) is only 12. He picked up QBasic when he was 8 too.

    If you want me to ask Treeki or answer anything else about the editor, shoot. I'm all ears.

    (You cannot edit models either, don't ask that question)

    EDIT: Also, Treeki may not be updating at that link provided in the first post. That message board has had a hard drive failure and with it's current downward spiral (Admins fighting and such, splitting for a third time, biggest drama after 8 years of the message boards life) he most likely will not be visiting there anymore. Use the link I have provided.
     
  11. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Sonicandtails, will do. acmlm has never been the nicest place anyhow.

    As for models they are 3d, some work has been made on the area (there is some stuff on pokemon as well):
    http://tahaxan.arcnor.com/index.php?option...d=29&topic=40.0
    I have some stuff in the wings as well but I am 3 days into a crash openGL course so it may take a bit longer before stuff comes to fruition.
     
  12. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    If you find anything out that could possibly be incorporated into the editor (Model modifying) and would like to contribute, by all means help yourself to that thread! Apparently Treeki trusts me as his spokesperson, you'll be surprised how many places have already picked up on the editor that I have spoken at [​IMG]
     
  13. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    New Super Sonic Bros. would be awesome [​IMG]
     
  14. Treeki

    Member Treeki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Rogueport
    Country:
    Gibraltar
    Hi, just thought I'd post here too [​IMG]
    I'm Treeki, I made this editor. I'm surprised how many places it's already been!
    Let me respond to a few things here.
    Modifying the players would be very hard. Mario and Luigi are 3D models (LZ compressed, too!) and editing them will be very hard (the guys over at Tahaxan forums only have a WIP model viewer, and that's it!)
    Why? First, the format isn't documented much. There's a lot of data which would need to be modified. Don't forget animations, etc. Don't expect to see model editing on DS games soon, or in my editor.
    I hope to rewrite it again in REALbasic when I completely figure out the TSA format and how to load graphics from the DS ROM. Why RB? Well, it solves quite a few things I didn't like in VB, and it's cross-platform! [​IMG]
    Well, I've gone a bit off-topic. The editor is going well (although I am lazy) and hopefully I will work on it enough to finish enemy editing soon! [​IMG]
     
  15. 4ppleseed

    Member 4ppleseed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is great work. I look forward to playing some custom levels soon [​IMG]

    P.S. 12 years old?? QBasic at 8?? haha that's great. I was still playing with my Lego at 12 and you're hacking apart and rearranging Nintendo games.
     
  16. nephdj

    Member nephdj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Country:
    Australia
    mine keeps crashing as soon as I start editting something [​IMG]
     
  17. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,854
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Treeki. Good to see ya here. You're getting popular in a lot of places now thanks to this. =P
     
  18. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Please do it, I can't use the editor right now. I don't have Windows any more and it doesn't run under Wine ;_; (imma Linux user : D)
     
  19. Treeki

    Member Treeki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Rogueport
    Country:
    Gibraltar
    Well, I'm now not sure if I will, since I tested it and it seems to not work with my unfinished NDS graphics code (colours from the palette are all wrong - yet a version of it in VB works fine). But I will see what I can do! Hopefully I can get it fixed.
     
  20. WB3000

    Member WB3000 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    This is very cool, and I'm sure that in time it will become even better, it would be cool to see the actual level with textures in the preview, or at least add double click onto the level preview as well, it took me a while to figure out that you need to double click the list item to access it's properties.
     

Share This Page