New super mario bros

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by philipcooper, Feb 22, 2010.

Feb 22, 2010

New super mario bros by philipcooper at 7:40 PM (1,722 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My wii has a wikey hard modded in it and I want to play New super mario bros. It is asking me to perform system update to play. Is it ok to perform the update or are there any implications ?


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also it is a patched ntsc version of the game but my wii is a pal. Can someone please advise me if ok, really want to play this game ?
     
  3. Davess

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    Get the patched Pal version?
     
  4. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should of did not realize. Will I not be able to use this as I am sure I read with a wiikey you can play ntsc games but I do not know about updating with them ?
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    use priiloader or startpatch to block disk updates
     
  6. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But it is sayig I need to update to play it. If i block I still will not be able to play will I ? Sorry I am a newbie
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u block u should still be able to play it, if u can't then we can update manually using my nus auto downloader program
     
  8. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I do not yet have the homebrew channel installed on my wii, Is it correct I need this on my wii to install priiloader ?
     
  9. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have installed the homebrew channel. Do I have to softmod my Wii to get to play this super mario even though it is hard modded is that what you are helping me with ?
     
  10. Ninn

    Member Ninn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    you could patch the iso with wiibrickblocker and burn a new copy
    that will remove the update from the disk.
     
  11. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If i updated would that brick my wii ?
     
  12. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
  13. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have watched a video on you tube on how to get Priiloader. I made a hacks.ini file and saved it with the relevant code in for my wii system. But it does not show you how to get that onto my wii. I guess I save the hacks.ini file to the root of my sd card but then what. Can anyone help me please ?
     
  14. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Even if it is hard modded ?
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Since all hardware mods only modify the drive, or make the Wii think they are the drive, they all have no effect on the firmware. Well if the system menu would check for modchips and brick if it finds one, then it would have an effect, but this not happening.

    Anyways, use a loader(Gecko OS or NeoGamma) to play your games, or figure out how to use priiloader with skip disc updates block and how to install IOS manually then.
     
  16. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you help me on how to get priiloader on my wii ? I have watched a youtube guide but it only tells me how to make the hack file and not how to get it on the wii.

    Also I have read if I have installed bootmii to boot 2 that I do not need priiloader. Is this true. Just want to get this game working.

    I am using this guide to help me get priiloader on my wii but it says select Trucha Bug Restorer application in homebrew channel. I have not got this in my homebrew channel. Do I need to get this first now then follow guide to get priiloader ?

    http://adewii.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/how...herorusbloader/

    Any help appreciated.
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you are on 3.2 you can directly try the priiloader installer, either it will work or not, but not brick. But first of all, you say you have BootMii installed to boot2? Then create a backup of your nand before doing anything else.
     
  18. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for reply. I am on 4.0. I have created a back up of my nand with BootMii. As I cannot try the priiloader installer as I am on version 4.0 what method do I have to take ?

    From what I have read I need Trucha Bug Restorer application in my homebrew channel.
     

Share This Page