New Super Mario Bros Wii wants to update my system

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by StuMcBill, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. StuMcBill
    OP

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    I have a PAL Wii with Software Version 4.1E installed, and a PAL retail copy of New Super Mario Bros Wii, however, when I insert it into my system, it wants to update?

    Should I let it?

    I have Homebrew Channel version 1.0.6 installed, along with BootMii version 0.9, stub 0.9 and mini 0.9 (Sysmenu : unknown boot1b boot2v2) as boot2, and preloader 0.30.

    If I go ahead an install the update from NSMB, will I lose any abilities from the above software?

    I can run NSMB through GeckoOS anyway, so I am not too worried, but I just like to keep my software current!

    Thanks

    Stu
     
  2. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    turn on "skip disk updates" in preloader.
     
  3. StuMcBill
    OP

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    But thats not exactly what I was asking, I want to update my Wii, I just want to retain all the homebrew functionality if possible?

    I have noticed that I can't access the shop channel just now either, so I would also like to update to enable this!
     
  4. leuk_he

    Newcomer leuk_he Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171...t=0&start=0

    read. There is a safe way to update to 4.2 Do not use the autoupdater accoring to the guides.

    Currently the latest system is 4.2 and it sounds like it 4.2 still is fully softmoddeable.
     
  5. StuMcBill
    OP

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    I turned on the No Updates option in priiloader and now if I try and launch NSMB from the system menu, I get an error #002.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It's safe...it has SM4.1 I think, but it's DEFINITELY not 4.2...

    Use Wiiscrubber to find out.
     
  7. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use the guide leuk_he posted.

    Gamma loader R8b15 ftw.
     
  8. Bent

    Member Bent GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    NSMB has boot2v4. That is what it is trying to install. It is safe, but you will have to reinstall bootmii. Plus, it may update your IOSs if they are older or hacked versions.
     
  9. TVippy

    Newcomer TVippy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
  10. RC89

    Member RC89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Denmark
    Some harddisk's has the problem that they are going into standby mode, if not touched within a half hour, which means if your game hasn't loaded anything it will turn into standby. But you could try with a different usb cable or pluging it into the other usb port.
    - There is a good compatibility list here http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php?tit...patibility_List
     
  11. TVippy

    Newcomer TVippy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I'm playing from a disc. [​IMG]
     
  12. judremy

    Newcomer judremy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    Country:
    United States
    If you are loading from Disc, do you have the fixed ISO or did you download one without the fix? If you don't have the fix, you will have to get it, apply it and burn it again. Whereas, if you load it from USB, the loaders have the code in it so the fix is NOT needed.
     

Share This Page