New Retro Mario Bros. Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ShinyLatios, Dec 4, 2010.

?

Should I also make a DS version when I am finished with this?

  1. Yes

    1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Dec 4, 2010

New Retro Mario Bros. Wii by ShinyLatios at 2:53 PM (4,211 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi guys... itsa me, I'm back! thanks jackaltyson for taking over this project and stuff you did while I was gone!



    Old website(still updated)
    New official website(thanks jackaltyson!)

    With the increase of Level Hacks for the DS, I felt the Wii was getting a bit left behind. So I decided to remake: Super Mario Bros. and Super Mario Bros. 3 for the nintendo Wii.

    This hack will be made using reggie, and every object will be where it should be.
    Although, The repeating castle levels WILL NOT BE REPEATING! mainly I don't know HOW! the ending puzzle in the last level will be there though.
    the world 9 levels will be remade levels from the special world of Super mario world!
    There will be custom challenges, just like SKJmins hack!
    when all levels are done, I am going to replace ALL the sprites with earlier mario game sprites.

    User contributed challenges
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    CHANGELOG!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    STAFF:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Beta testers:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Progress:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Downloads
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Screenshots:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Needed help:
    anyone who can tell me where all the hidden blocks are.
    YOU for thinking up challenges!
    Level Designers
     
  2. Jackaltyson

    Newcomer Jackaltyson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sort of interested by this. Will there be custom challenge levels (1-A, etc) like SKJmin's DS hack?
    EDIT: Will there be some screenshots soon so we can see how good this hack will look?
    EDIT #2: Fixed typo.
     
  3. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yup, I don't have enough levels otherwise [​IMG]
    It will also feature yoshi in those levels [​IMG] and the world 9 levels will be remade levels from the special world of Super mario world!
     
  4. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure there's challenges where you have to freeze stuff to move on, like making an ice ladder out of enemies!
     
  5. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    added to the user contributed challenges list [​IMG]
    (Yes, theres gonna be user contributed challenges!)
     
  6. Jackaltyson

    Newcomer Jackaltyson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has anyone noticed that W9 of NSMBW looks like the Special Zone in SMW?
    Here's a video of what it looks like and all of the levels in a speed run. SPOILER WARNING! If you have not completed SMW 100%, try to avoid watching this video. Unless you want to of course. [​IMG] :

    Quick EDIT: I missed the vid so it's there now.
     
  7. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I came with the idea of making world 9's special world the same as the special world SMW because of that [​IMG]
    Also 1.1 is done!

    ________________________________________________________________________________

    Well, I just tested level 1.1... there's some MAJOR GLITCHES. I'll get it fixed before it gets released in public though [​IMG]
     
  8. Jackaltyson

    Newcomer Jackaltyson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I could always edit some levels that have glitches and fix them or I could beta test them if you want. Or I could even make some.
     
  9. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think I fixed it this time, but otherwise I'll just post it and see if you can fix it.

    EDIT: Well I just screwed this one up...
    I'll post it, then you can go ahead and fix it for me.
    also, you can be bugfixer/beta tester

    EDIT 2: I made the official webpage. The staff can sign in by clicking staff and using the given ID and pass.
     
  10. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It has? darn. well I enjoy doing this so whatever [​IMG]
     
  12. Jackaltyson

    Newcomer Jackaltyson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1-1 is now fixed and 1-2 has been made and uploaded.
    Just make sure that floor, blocks and pipes are on layer 1, that 3 star coins are in the level, and that the file name is like: 01(world #)-01(level #) however, tower is like 01(world)-22(all towers have 22 at end), castle is 24 at end, peach castle is 01-41 , mushroom house is 26, enemy course is 33, cannon is 36, title screen is 01-40 and credits are 01-42.

    Sorry for the long post but I was just making sure you knew that mario is layer 1 and the level name wasn't something like 1.2.arc and should be 01-02.arc
     
  13. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Quick update: I'm going to put mario bros 3 in this too, due to the fact that we're really NOT going to have enough levels if we only do SMB1.
     
  14. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Stuff is going really slow, I got some tests coming up and a school trip to germany tomorrow, I'll possibly sleep over at a friends house at friday. I will post all debugged files in one package today, but don't expect level 1-3 before sunday(but don't get your hopes up. craploads of homework)
     
  15. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi guys... itsa me, I'm back... but sadly, with the message that I can not work on my hack anytime soon.
    If someone could take this over until I'm back, then atleast the Idea won't get lost. If someone WILL take over, please PM me.
     
  16. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands

Share This Page