1. Reshiban

    Reshiban Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    France
    I wanted to get a 4Gb 1 day ago, fortunately didn't done :P
     
  2. Stealphie

    Stealphie GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    Brazil
    does it NEED 8gb of ram tho?
     
  3. Memoir

    Memoir Hi, I'm Cynical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,862
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. Not even theoretically.
     
    Stealphie likes this.
  4. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,080
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    Hell, it doesn't even want 8 GB of RAM. :P

    What I think is happening here is the rPi org is putting out this "deluxe" model as part of a loss leader strategy. Sell the 8GB deluxe at a tidy profit which funds the money they lose on the 2GB $35 model (and/or help fund all the open source, education stuff they do).
    And yes, I know they're technically a non-profit, but they still have to pay their bills (and maybe sneak in a handsome salary or two).
     
    Stealphie likes this.
  5. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,524
    Country:
    Argentina
    I guess all that Ram would make it work way better as a Media Center at the very least.
     
    Stealphie likes this.
  6. Memoir

    Memoir Hi, I'm Cynical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,862
    Country:
    United States
    Possible, I guess. Time to watch ETA Prime I spose
     
    Stealphie likes this.
  7. zxr750j

    zxr750j GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've got a 3b or something, the fact that the raspberry connects so easily with mice, keyboards, hdmi etc with the added bonus of running Python makes the raspberry one of the best platforms to start developing anything really... And it runs retropi! Or put in another microsd, connect it to your soundbar and listen to internetradio/music accessible via any browser. 8GB? I think mine's got 1...
    Okay, I think I haven't touched it in months but that's besides the point.
     
  8. CactusMan

    CactusMan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just what I needed. I thing I´m gone get me one then run https://batocera.org/
    and play some Mesen hd . Or maybe Yabuse.
     
    Memoir likes this.
  9. leon315

    leon315 POWERLIFTER
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3,250
    Country:
    Italy
    And if it's able to run all sorts of emulators is that mean you can install OS on it ?
     
    CactusMan likes this.
  10. GBAer

    GBAer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    If you could fit the PI4 in the NES case I think the thing would probably melt
     
  11. yikkyon

    yikkyon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    Emulation does not need anything more than 1GB the most (I think). OS however may want that juicy ram for Overclocking.
     
  12. CactusMan

    CactusMan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Whatever adds up for you, try runing it on 1 Gb. Overclocking is operated via the bios.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Get youself a fireestiquidreer.
     
    Last edited by CactusMan, May 29, 2020
  13. DaFixer

    DaFixer Dare to be stupid
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm using 2 Raspberry Pi 3B+'s as Kodi players, and made PiStation (RBP3B+ in a PSone case, running RetroPie)
    For a year I'm using Raspberry Pi 2 + HiFi addon as a Volumio player as a music streamer in my living room.

    I'm planning to make a RBPi nas for my Sonos setup and buiding a Pi-Hole.
     
    Jarmenti likes this.
  14. Jarmenti

    Jarmenti Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using a pi4 4gb as a pihole as well as a NAS w/ 16tb of drives, works great. The biggest upgrade for me was adding the usb 3 ports, and legit gigabit ethernet, as prior pi's were useless as far as any kind of storage server due to the limited transfer speeds.

    Also have a Pi 3b+ in a retroflag snes case for decoration under the tv at this point, as I used to use it for retropie + kodi for streaming video from the pi4 server, but now have a smart tv that has kodi installed right on it, so the retropie barely gets used anymore.
     
    Last edited by Jarmenti, May 30, 2020
    DaFixer likes this.
  15. Duplodocus

    Duplodocus Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Finally, a Pi with as much RAM as my laptop. Pretty sure everyone will jump on it even if their current project without a graphical interface works in their current RasPi using less 1Gb of RAM... You never know I guess. :D
     
  16. chrisrlink

    chrisrlink Intel Pentium III Hamster inside
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    United States
    still have my pi 3 my brother gave me for xmas um 2-3 years ago? might be time for an upgrade
     
  17. DaFixer

    DaFixer Dare to be stupid
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nice, is a RBPi 4 not a bit overkill for a Pi-Hole?
    A RBPi 4 as a server is also a good idea, I think it will a better job as my Qnap 419p-II NAS ;)
     
  18. cashboxz01

    cashboxz01 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't matter at that point, where the cost of Pi is going up, while USFF PC's costs are getting cheaper. I've picked up a Lenovo tiny m900 for about $200 with a 256GB SSD. It has a real i5 6th gen CPU, which can emulate all of this stuff + PCSX2 + RPCS3 + Dolphin.

    My Pi4 4GB ($65)+ Argon One Case/PSU Bundle ($40) + 128GB Bundle ($25) cost $130.
    Yea, Lenovo is like $70 more expensive, but it blows the Pi 4 out the water.
     
  19. veenx0704

    veenx0704 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    that's hella cheap
     
  20. matpower

    matpower The Mad Scientist
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,009
    Country:
    Brazil
    How much power does your M900 sip though? I can keep my Pi3 running all day long without batting an eye, but I think I would notice the extra consumption with a SFF PC. IMO a Celeron NUC or something like it would be a better Pi replacement, on both size, processing power and energy usage.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Raspberry, launches, model