1. Exadon

    OP Exadon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I searched around but may have done a poor job doing so as I could not find an answer

    I just bought this r4. the packing looks real but the cd is def a burnt.

    either way when I load the files from the cd it works fine, when I use any update from the site it is a no go.


    thoughts?
    if it is a fake is there an upgrade I can use with it? i just want to fix it as the backlight is dim when I play it, I really dont care if it is a fake or not so long as it does it's djob
     
  2. NeSchn

    NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,552
    Country:
    United States
    Its a fake, did you buy from Amazon? If you did its a fake, I don't know where you would go to download the firmware.
     
  3. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,480
    Country:
    United States
    yea, epsically if the card says R4 plus or R4 ver III,
    and the cd is burnt, you bought a fake R4
     
  4. chuckstudios

    chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Country:
    United States
    Post the files from your CD here in a ZIP or something. I'll look at them and see what's up. Also, how do other update files not work? Perpetual loading screen? Unsupported hardware message?
     
  5. Narin

    Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,629
    Country:
    United States
    If its a fake, your pretty much out of luck. Sorry, unless someone here can hack the R4DS firmware to make it work on your card.
     
  6. Exadon

    OP Exadon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info on it being fake. to be honest I dont care though so long as it works...even though I am pissed that I did buy a fake

    the box linked to this website http://www.r4dsl.net/download-en.asp so I am going to try the firm ware listed there

    p.s. yeah it was the never ending load screen to the persons question above.

    will I have any issues playing with this fake?
     
  7. bfoos

    bfoos GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    It's looks like it's using decrypted R4 loaders.
     
  8. papyrus

    papyrus GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    too bad.
     
  9. krazykirk

    krazykirk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    Judging by the website, the fact that it is a R4 III proves that it is a clone/fake. But you could try downloading the firmware from that website, as it will probably work.
     
  10. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Well, www.r4dsl[stop right there!] the letter "l" shows that yours is a fake.

    The firmware there might work, although official firmware won't, sorry
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - update,