New PS3s?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by drfsupercenter, Jul 17, 2008.

Jul 17, 2008

New PS3s? by drfsupercenter at 4:28 AM (3,018 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    We are going to get a home theater soon, and thus we're getting a Blu-Ray player. My friends all told me to just get a PS3 (the new 40GB model) since it's the same price as standalone players and is a console too.

    But I read that it can't play PS2 games. Couldn't the older ones? Is it hackable so that I can? I don't have a PS2, but if I buy a Swap Magic I'd really like to be able to play PS2 games...
     


  2. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Do not get the 40GB, wait a while for them to release the 80GB one for the same price they announced at E3.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the 40GB PS2 and soon the new 80GB PS3 wont be able to play PS2 games

    the old 80GB that could play PS2 games has been discontinued
    there is talk of a 120GB and 160GB soon though that will replace it

    also you cant play burnt ps2 games without a whole bunch of things that will void your warranty and possibly might destroy your ps3's blu-ray drive
    you cant use swap-magic on the ps3, it only work on ps2
     
  4. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Oh...

    But will this new 80GB one play PS2 games?

    And is there any way to hack the 40GB one so it will (assuming I'm talking legit games) or not?

    At this point I could try to find a used PS2 so I can use Swap Magic.
     
  5. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    No, they don't. Seems like a cop out for not giving a price drop though. If you go with the MGS4 bundle, the price for BC is around a $50 difference with that new 80GB bundle. But you could probably always buy a used PS2 for that $50. Personally, I'm going to get the MGS4 bundle soon instead of waiting for the new 80GB bundle.

    And also there is no "hack" for PS3's yet.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the 80GB is the same as the 40GB
    only difference is upgraded harddrive
    so no ps2 compatibility

    there is no way to hack the PS2 to enable ps2 support
     
  7. Son of Science

    Member Son of Science GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Sand Iego
    Country:
    United States

    lol ps2 = no ps2 compatibility
     
  8. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    lol i think he ment ps3 no ps2
     
  9. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Well, with the old PS3s... how good was the game-playing for PS2? Like, when playing an Xbox game on Xbox 360 you have to use 360 controllers. Whereas playing a GameCube game on the Wii you still use GameCube controllers.

    Do you think I should just get a new PS3 and then buy an older PS2 separately so I can get Swap Magic?

    And any estimate arrival date for the new 80GB model? We'd be getting it in a couple weeks, and I don't want to sit around waiting for a new model if it isn't coming for a while. What do you need that much space for anyway? If you're only playing stuff on discs... wtf is the point of having 80GB? Or do the save files take up a lot of space?
     
  10. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Some games have installs.
     
  11. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    naybe the online playstation store might start selling ps2 games to put on the ps3's hard drive [​IMG]
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    around augest
    it can be used to store tons of media

    like your whole MP3 collection, or movies, vid clips, pictures
     
  13. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    at first I was mad I didn't wait but then i remembered i got my 40gb for $300 because of a deal at best buy and so for the $100 i saved i can go get a much bigger 2.5" sata hdd [​IMG]
     
  14. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes and no, you can buy a used fat PS2 for about $40 and don't buy Swap Magic! Buy any AR Max and a any PS1 disk and you use a homebrew named ESR for backups the best part: no swapping! You can used a homebrew that is the same as Swap Magic if you want: CogSwap.

    If you do what I said I can help you softmod it (I did it to mine in about a hour).

    But yes go for the new PS3 and a fat PS2.
     
  15. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I never knew you could softmod a PS2. I could probably borrow an AR and a PS1 game from my friends...

    Can I plug in an external hard drive if I need to? We'll probably get the HD stuff before August, but if we do wait that long will it still be $400 for the 80GB?

    Someone told me his friend was able to play copied PS1 games with no modchip... And that those PS1 games also played on an unmodded PS2... Is that possible? I thought even PS1 games had the boot sector thing... and that Dreamcast was the only one that used CD-ROM that's easily copied.
    And if I'm wrong... will the PS3 work with those bootleg PS1 games?
     
  16. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    On the PStwo I think you can. Maybe look up some YouTube videos?

    For the PS2 softmoding, its SO nice! You can setup ESR (the backup homebrew) to auto boot so its like you have a modchip! But better you can move the modchip, its just on the MC.

    P.S. If you have a HD in your PS2 you can run backups off it! You use HDLoader.
     
  17. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    20/60GB = Nearly full BC
    Old 80GB = Software emulation, partial BC
    40GB / New 80GB = No BC

    Hacking a PS3 to support PS2 is like programming a PS2 emulator on Linux. Don't think many people want to do that.

    Also running PSX/PS2 backups on PS2 can be done simply via swap magic. It's gonna cost you a bit, like half of a new PS2 game. =P
     
  18. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    What's BC?

    And yeah I know what Swap Magic is, remember I originally was gonna get one?
    But what exactly is this softmodding? Does it still run the PS2 like normal so no one would ever know you're running hacks?

    And how do you get a hard drive in a PS2? At this point I'd just look for the absolute cheapest one I can find.
     
  19. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    BC = Backwards Compatibility.

    -I'm not an expert in PS2 scene so feel free to correct me-

    Softmodding in general is modding that doesn't involve installing a physical modchip. But softmods for PS2 is more like running exploits than actual flashing. So people won't know you're doing sneaky things with your PS2 [​IMG]

    To install a HDD, you need a network adapter. Once you have it, it's just pushing them in. (I think it only works for phat)

    Also, Phat and Slim have slightly different mods available.


    Personally, I don't think Swap Magic and blank DVDs cost too much, I just went with Swap Magic. (Gosh, I don't wanna use abbreviation because it'll become "SM" O.o)
    Saves me some labour.
     
  20. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    yea, its fairly simple

    maxtor HDD's have the best compatibility
    WD,s have the worst, I think anyway, either them or segate
    what I mean is only certain hard drives will fit onto the network adapter to be plugged into it, they plugs are spaced apart and must be perfect if your gonna hook up a hard drive

    I would just got for a regular PS2 mainly just because all the stuff you can do with it, to the free COGSWAP (works just like SWAP MAGIC), HD Loader, Independence Exploit (PS1 save exploit, think of it as the twilight hack for wii)
     

Share This Page