Gaming New Protections Added to Leaked 12606 and Fall2010 Dashboard

CJL18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
888
Trophies
0
Website
www.2shared.com
XP
715
Country
United States
A new beta version [build 12606] of the Fall 2010 [alias 'Kinect'] dashboard has been leaked on the internet a few days ago and it seems like Microsoft added new protections to it. Several users seems to report problems booting certain games from recordable media on 360s with a modified DVD FW.
One of the titles affected seems to be Fable III. The game boots fine from any media on the current dashboard on a 360 with modified FW, but fails to boot from recordable media on the leaked/12606 beta dashboard ["This disc is unreadable"] - while the retail disc will work just fine according to #[email protected]

Right now it's unclear which games, DVD models and/or modified FWs are exactly affected.

The new fall 2010 dashboard might get official released tomorrow [Tuesday Oct 26th 2010] (unconfirmed date, but it will be before Nov 4th anyway) to all 360 owners, so we suggest you do NOT update if you have a modified FW until we know more about these issues.
JTAG users should of course not update at all (will lock-out old CB and make the JTAG hack impossible), they should wait for a new rebooter.


btw didnt write this
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,512
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
25,365
Country
United Kingdom
Hmm, wonder if we will finally see a new wave of discs (we have been at wave 6 for ages).

I suppose I should also say- everybody make sure you have a copy of your DVD keys. If you have to email the person that hacked it do so I would do so ahead of time.

Edit: was doing a bit of reading. Some people are calling user error and the like (we did see a nuke or two from those that did not understand waves back for wave 4- I think it was Lips that got it that was later overturned)
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,510
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,256
Country
United States
i heard this is only with fable 3 so far, it show's in the menu and installs to HDD just fine but will not play the game.
i'm thinking you may be able to use activate.iso to play it though, i may try it when i get my retail copy and i get some more DVD+R DL media.
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,248
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
United States
Damn, I wanna hear about security holes not this! haha... when does this dashboard comes out, any date?[Got to read more carefully]
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,512
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
25,365
Country
United Kingdom
If you are using LT then activitate.iso will do you nothing.
If you are using 1.6NS (the best offline firmware) then it will do you nothing as it is effectively always active.
If you are using 1.61 then maybe if it is not dashboard level but a new iso format of a sort (which I doubt)
1.6 will have had you using activate.iso for the last year or so give or take about 2 releases (admittedly ODST and bayonetta).

All activate.iso does is stop the onboard protections not any that might be built into the dash- the reason people get banned is because the hacked firmware does not emulate and original drive properly (or people screw up and prevent it from being able to- see wave patching and the like). If indeed this is correct MS have added some new always on checks not at live/sometimes on level but at always on dashboard level to their beta versions (and presumably upcoming firmware).
They did have a new region protection a few weeks back although that only troubled JTAG users.
 

Maz7006

iSEXu
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
3,648
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
Visit site
XP
544
Country
So let me get this straight

will i be having to update my 1.6 soon - im still on 1.6 with activate ISO - never bothered flashing.

then again we have the wave changer so no biggie i suppose.

im on the first beta dashboard leak.

its quite odd though

i believe new wave should be ruled out - i mean abgx reports wave 6 for FABLE III

my money is on 2 things :

1- ixtreme glitch with fable
2 - bad release

- then again this being an MS game i wouldn't be surprised if it were actually new protection.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,512
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
25,365
Country
United Kingdom
If indeed it is a new protection then yes chances are the hacked firmwares will have to be updated. What will happen in such a case is up in the air though (we have had a few goes at hacks to the firmware in the past)

If it is just some people badly burning isos, a bad release or something like that then you can carry on as usual.
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
Has there only been one release of Fable? Looking on ABGX there's only the Marvel one, so it could be a bad release as others have pointed out.
 

tk_saturn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
3,325
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
At the moment this is not much more than a rumour. Wait until the actual final DashBoard is released before passing judgment. Some people on XS are saying F3 works fine for them, so it's not certain.
 

Evilbaz

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Messages
45
Trophies
0
XP
59
Country
I was worried when I first read this to be honest. I am not on the new dash beta and still using the activation disk. I have been playing fable 3 for a few hours now, works fine. I checked xval to see if I have been flagged (i havnt).

Im hoping its a problem with the beta dashboard release.
 

Maz7006

iSEXu
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
3,648
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
Visit site
XP
544
Country
just to rule out one thing

i just tried Fable III on a flashed 1.6 + activate.iso 2009 (Lite-on Drive) arcade running 2.0.12416.0

found here http://digiex.net/downloads/download-cente...s-download.html

it works flawlessly, the game loads and plays fine - i say some glitch with the NEW leaked kinect dashboard ( i stress again that i didnt try on the new dashboard in the title, this is the 2.0.12416.0 found in the link i provided) - so dnt blame if if you mess something up.

regardless, if your still on the normal NXE or even pre-NXE i recommend not upgrading at all till the big heads confirm all this mess.
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
12416 is the older Dash, which you should see from 12606...12609 is currently the latest Dash available to testers (which is what I have on my Slim) but I've got 12416 on my flashed Phatty.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,512
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
25,365
Country
United Kingdom
Well it appears to be confirmed.

http://paste2.org/p/1062639
1.
[2010-10-30 03:11PM] New AP25 checks confirmed on new dash with fable 3, LT+ coming for required drives with SSv3 and anti AP25 included!
2.
[2010-10-30 03:15PM] there are 5 ap25 checks done when xex is launched!
3.
[2010-10-30 03:17PM] samsung doesnt have ap25
4.
[2010-10-30 03:18PM] 360s LT+ will include this now
5.
[2010-10-30 03:19PM] samsung and some old hitachi dont have ap25
6.
[2010-10-30 03:22PM] samsung wont do ap25, it will be skipped (safe)
7.
[2010-10-30 03:24PM] they will detect your drive changing to a samsung! [if you spoof to Samsung]
8.
[2010-10-30 03:31PM] dash log:
9.
[2010-10-30 03:31PM] AD0000000000000000180000
10.
[2010-10-30 03:31PM] 55000000000000002A000000
11.
[2010-10-30 03:32PM] 392077777777777777777777
12.
[2010-10-30 03:32PM] 5A003900000000002A000000
13.
[2010-10-30 03:32PM] 55000000000000002A000000
14.
[2010-10-30 03:32PM] 392077777777777777777777
15.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 5A003900000000002A000000
16.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 55000000000000002A000000
17.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 392077777777777777777777
18.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 5A003900000000002A000000
19.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 55000000000000002A000000
20.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 392077777777777777777777
21.
[2010-10-30 03:34PM] 5A003900000000002A000000
22.
[2010-10-30 03:35PM] 55000000000000002A000000
23.
[2010-10-30 03:35PM] 392077777777777777777777
24.
[2010-10-30 03:35PM] 5A003900000000002A000000
25.
[2010-10-30 03:35PM] 550020000000000014000000
26.
[2010-10-30 03:35PM] thats it
27.
[2010-10-30 03:41PM] confirmation will need to be done on released retail kinect dash!
28.
[2010-10-30 03:43PM] at this point, only new games check ap25!
29.
[2010-10-30 03:44PM] kreon=fail!

http://twitter.com/TeamJungle

Dubbed AP25 we shall be seeing SSv3 and LT+ appearing to counteract it. Apparently samsung and some hitachi are unable to perform the new checks (such a thing has happened in the past with other checks) and spoofing will not work around it.

New games only for now (title updates are a different matter but we can control them to an extent), JTAG users will not be updating for now anyhow but I imagine they will be lost when it comes time to upgrade.

Thanks to Thug4L1f3 for pointing a bunch of this out.
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
572
Country
Oooh, sounds interesting. They've quickly found a workaround though...I just wander how long it'll take [to release]. But it seems like the Slim DVD firmware will be coming at the same time too!
 

Fudge

Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
Banned
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
2,653
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
642
Country
United States
Assuming we don't upgrade to the new dashboard, can we still play new games (Black Ops, AC: Brotherhood, etc.)?
 

431unknown

Greatness Awaits
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
2,058
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
670
Country
United States
fudgenuts64 said:
Assuming we don't upgrade to the new dashboard, can we still play new games (Black Ops, AC: Brotherhood, etc.)?
To a certain point, then they will start to include the update as a new wave on disc and you'll have to update in order to play the game.
 

wesley0104

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
91
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
The Netherlands
XP
82
Country
Netherlands
Maz7006 said:
wont wave changing games do the trick for us offliners ?

I sure hope so
smile.gif
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,248
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
United States
Maz7006 said:
wont wave changing games do the trick for us offliners ?

It will know that you wave changed and it will be logged on to the system until it goes online then it sends its info to MS so it won't be live safe.. but it should work?

Wave patching doesn't work from my test.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: So does the S logo Google has stand for shut down