Hacking New NSP Doesn't Work on SX OS?

Kun_ADR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
174
Country
Cambodia
As the title suggests, I tried installing Eastward and Lost In Random today using the latest version of Tinfoil on SX OS. When I try to boot both games, in stuck at the Nintendo Switch logo.

Is there any solution to this yet?
 

viper3344

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
388
Trophies
0
XP
874
Country
United States
Its not just the masterkey, its the SDK as well. Those games require the full on SDK 12 to run. You can keep all your SXOS stuff as is and just emunand into atmo on an SD card for future titles. I wrote a tutorial posted here in these forums.
 

mikefor20

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,536
Trophies
0
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,488
Country
United States
Better way is move sxos to emunand. Atmosphere on sysnand. Or both on emunand.... I know you're just trying to do the minimum but you really will be running atmosphere all the time SXOS will just be for when you want to play the old games. Any of your favorite games you will probably just reinstall on atmosphere anyway. I know you said you're going to be using SX OS all the time but you will not. You're going to be playing new games after all
 

Kun_ADR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
174
Country
Cambodia
Its not just the masterkey, its the SDK as well. Those games require the full on SDK 12 to run. You can keep all your SXOS stuff as is and just emunand into atmo on an SD card for future titles. I wrote a tutorial posted here in these forums.

Is it possible to not create Emunand? As my Switch is already banned.
 

mikefor20

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,536
Trophies
0
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,488
Country
United States
If you don’t care about burning fuses, then is ok

you can use the same SX Emunand on atmosphere

Not really, only kinda. It's true Atmosphere can read the SXOS EmuNAND (with a small config alteration) But, if you do this then might as well skip atmosphere. SXOS needs 11.0 or lower so you can't use a SXOS compatible EmuNAND for newer titles. More are a comin'.. Atmo can play the new games on new firmware but SXOS can't use the higher firmware

You will need at least 1 EmuNAND to have a functioning SXOS setup and an up to date Atmosphere setup.


Otherwise you have Atmosphere stuck on 11 or SXOS that wont load on 13.0.. I urge you all to use EmuNAND regardless. I have 2 EmuNANDs on 1 SD. My SysNAND is never used. This prevents wear and tear to the internal NAND, protects my system in case of error or malicious code and it keeps my fuses on a fakenews compatible firmware. Even if you're on a higher FW and you are banned EmuNAND offers separate ecosystems for different things. SX and Atmo for example. The kids can even have their own SD with their own EmuNANDs. It's like a separate system. And brick protection, if you brick the EmuNAND your SysNAND is fine.

What happens in EmuNAND stays in EmuNAND

Is it possible to not create Emunand? As my Switch is already banned.

If you want an 11.0 Switch that can't play new games or a 13.0 Switch that can't use your HDD then yes. Otherwise see above.

If you are only making 1 EmuNAND then I suggest you put SXOS on the EmuNAND as it is more prone to issues...
 
Last edited by mikefor20,

mugwump

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
OMFG. I am SOO confused. Damn you American FEDS! Free that SX OS BOWSER guy! Save me from hell!
Ugh. Really wanted to try Eastward, but I'm happy in the SX OS xci way...ANyway let's give it a shot!

I got Atmosphere running on a new SD card. I was able to install Eastward and play it, yay!

Then I tried to install No More Heroes 3 (which still works on SX OS mind you).. Whoops, the file size is too big, since Atmosphere uses that emmc thing. OK...Trying the USB PC upload method with Gold Leaf. Sorry, Switch is not recognising in zadig. Tried numerous suggestions. Finally, it worked...AFTER CHANGING THE FUCKING USB PORT I WAS USING!

But, all good. I can now install NMH3!....NCA error and sig patch error. O..K...Maybe I used the wrong sigpatch? Hekate? Fuselee? Wtf is going on?! OK, I replaced the sigpatches. I downloaded something from the Awoo applet.

Try again. I boot in the Hekate launcher. Now, that's weird. In the launch options, the SD card one (forget the name) is gone. Now replaced by 3 icons of my console. I choose the one that was positioned where the SD card one was, CFW-sys?
Okay, I see the atmosphere logo...W.T.F. Where did Eastward go?! Waitaminute! All the apps look like it's from my SX OS. I'm even still on 11.0.0. Didn't I upgrade using Daybreak...

Okay...Let's just try NMH3 again....NOPE. I copy-paste more sigpatches randomly.
Re-insert and launch hekate...."PANIC ERROR".... OK, it's been 4 hours. New plan. Format the SD card I made and re-insert SXOS.
I'm at peace. Fuck Eastward.

And, THIS is why we pay Team Executer. They make shit easy. I'm a dummy! I need simple shit.
 

Potato Paste

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
99
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
781
Country
United States
OMFG. I am SOO confused. Damn you American FEDS! Free that SX OS BOWSER guy! Save me from hell!
Ugh. Really wanted to try Eastward, but I'm happy in the SX OS xci way...ANyway let's give it a shot!

I got Atmosphere running on a new SD card. I was able to install Eastward and play it, yay!

Then I tried to install No More Heroes 3 (which still works on SX OS mind you).. Whoops, the file size is too big, since Atmosphere uses that emmc thing. OK...Trying the USB PC upload method with Gold Leaf. Sorry, Switch is not recognising in zadig. Tried numerous suggestions. Finally, it worked...AFTER CHANGING THE FUCKING USB PORT I WAS USING!

But, all good. I can now install NMH3!....NCA error and sig patch error. O..K...Maybe I used the wrong sigpatch? Hekate? Fuselee? Wtf is going on?! OK, I replaced the sigpatches. I downloaded something from the Awoo applet.

Try again. I boot in the Hekate launcher. Now, that's weird. In the launch options, the SD card one (forget the name) is gone. Now replaced by 3 icons of my console. I choose the one that was positioned where the SD card one was, CFW-sys?
Okay, I see the atmosphere logo...W.T.F. Where did Eastward go?! Waitaminute! All the apps look like it's from my SX OS. I'm even still on 11.0.0. Didn't I upgrade using Daybreak...

Okay...Let's just try NMH3 again....NOPE. I copy-paste more sigpatches randomly.
Re-insert and launch hekate...."PANIC ERROR".... OK, it's been 4 hours. New plan. Format the SD card I made and re-insert SXOS.
I'm at peace. Fuck Eastward.

And, THIS is why we pay Team Executer. They make shit easy. I'm a dummy! I need simple shit.

you could try using ofw and get it from the eshop i heard it was super easy
 

viper3344

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
388
Trophies
0
XP
874
Country
United States
Can you not make an emunand off a banned sysnand?

And for the love of god listen to mikefor20. Dude knows exactly how to dance between SXOS and Atmo!
 
Last edited by viper3344,

Ibcap

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
445
Trophies
0
XP
1,417
Country
United States
Then I tried to install No More Heroes 3 (which still works on SX OS mind you).. Whoops, the file size is too big, since Atmosphere uses that emmc thing.
This makes no sense. All cfw use an emmc, the console itself has an emmc inside of it... And theres no way that can prevent you from installing a big game, unless that game exceeds your emmc storage, in which case just install to the sd card? This isnt an atmosphere problem, its a you problem
But, all good. I can now install NMH3!....NCA error and sig patch error. O..K...Maybe I used the wrong sigpatch? Hekate? Fuselee? Wtf is going on?! OK, I replaced the sigpatches. I downloaded something from the Awoo applet.

Try again. I boot in the Hekate launcher. Now, that's weird. In the launch options, the SD card one (forget the name) is gone. Now replaced by 3 icons of my console. I choose the one that was positioned where the SD card one was, CFW-sys?
Okay, I see the atmosphere logo...W.T.F. Where did Eastward go?! Waitaminute! All the apps look like it's from my SX OS. I'm even still on 11.0.0. Didn't I upgrade using Daybreak...
Just follow the rentry guide instead of doing whatever youre doing, it links to everything you need and works perfectly.
And, THIS is why we pay Team Executer. They make shit easy. I'm a dummy! I need simple shit.
Atmosphere is incredibly simple if you follow the proper instructions, the issue is the influx of videos and garbage information leading people down non functional setups.
 

mugwump

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
This makes no sense. All cfw use an emmc, the console itself has an emmc inside of it... And theres no way that can prevent you from installing a big game, unless that game exceeds your emmc storage
I had this guys problem. I'm prob mixing up terminology. All this fusulee, hekate hurts my head. https://gbatemp.net/threads/nsp-is-too-large-for-file.548404/
The SD card is 400GB. One reply that got me on the Goldleaf thing on the above link was: "You can't copy single files larger than 4GB to FAT32 format sd card ,but you can do usb install via goldtree with goldleaf."

Dude, I followed the guide and am not sure what's happening. Yeh, it is DEF a me problem! A me and every other non-technical person problem!
When I plug the SD into PC it opens with a 2nd partition, I'm guessing? It suggests to format that partition. Not sure if that's normal, but it seemed not to affect anything else.

Not sure what I did with SX OS. But, it's a banned switch and I never bothered trying to do that thing where you put your pirated shit on that thingy, so you can still go safely online. I think that's why I am still on OFW 11.0.

I'm not really asking for help. I'm just bitching cos I thought it was funny. Atmosphere may be easy, but SX OS is definitely easier (the fact that I get it, for one).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Just follow the rentry guide instead of doing whatever youre doing, it links to everything you need and works perfectly.
OK, cheers. WIll give it a shot when I recover mentally.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kun_ADR

Ibcap

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
445
Trophies
0
XP
1,417
Country
United States
I had this guys problem. I'm prob mixing up terminology. All this fusulee, hekate hurts my head. https://gbatemp.net/threads/nsp-is-too-large-for-file.548404/
The SD card is 400GB. One reply that got me on the Goldleaf thing on the above link was: "You can't copy single files larger than 4GB to FAT32 format sd card ,but you can do usb install via goldtree with goldleaf."

Dude, I followed the guide and am not sure what's happening. Yeh, it is DEF a me problem! A me and every other non-technical person problem!
When I plug the SD into PC it opens with a 2nd partition, I'm guessing? It suggests to format that partition. Not sure if that's normal, but it seemed not to affect anything else.

Not sure what I did with SX OS. But, it's a banned switch and I never bothered trying to do that thing where you put your pirated shit on that thingy, so you can still go safely online. I think that's why I am still on OFW 11.0.

I'm not really asking for help. I'm just bitching cos I thought it was funny. Atmosphere may be easy, but SX OS is definitely easier (the fact that I get it, for one).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


OK, cheers. WIll give it a shot when I recover mentally.
The file being too big issue is due to the fat32 sdcard format. Files over 4gb cannot be put on fat32 sd cards. This has nothing to do with atmosphere, the same thing would happen on sxos with a fat32 sd.
 

mugwump

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
The file being too big issue is due to the fat32 sdcard format. Files over 4gb cannot be put on fat32 sd cards. This has nothing to do with atmosphere, the same thing would happen on sxos with a fat32 sd.
Yeh, but with Atmosphere you have to use fat32 (or it is recommended, from that forum). WIth SX OS, the method I used didn't have that issue. Drag n drop, I just love the xci thing. No need to install.
 

Ibcap

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
445
Trophies
0
XP
1,417
Country
United States
Yeh, but with Atmosphere you have to use fat32 (or it is recommended, from that forum). WIth SX OS, the method I used didn't have that issue. Drag n drop, I just love the xci thing. No need to install.
You can use fat32 or exfat with either, fat32 is recommended because exfat on switch can randomly corrupt and destroy your data. This is consistent across all cfw, nothing specific to atmosphere.
 

mikefor20

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,536
Trophies
0
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,488
Country
United States
I had this guys problem. I'm prob mixing up terminology. All this fusulee, hekate hurts my head. https://gbatemp.net/threads/nsp-is-too-large-for-file.548404/
The SD card is 400GB. One reply that got me on the Goldleaf thing on the above link was: "You can't copy single files larger than 4GB to FAT32 format sd card ,but you can do usb install via goldtree with goldleaf."

Dude, I followed the guide and am not sure what's happening. Yeh, it is DEF a me problem! A me and every other non-technical person problem!
When I plug the SD into PC it opens with a 2nd partition, I'm guessing? It suggests to format that partition. Not sure if that's normal, but it seemed not to affect anything else.

Not sure what I did with SX OS. But, it's a banned switch and I never bothered trying to do that thing where you put your pirated shit on that thingy, so you can still go safely online. I think that's why I am still on OFW 11.0.

I'm not really asking for help. I'm just bitching cos I thought it was funny. Atmosphere may be easy, but SX OS is definitely easier (the fact that I get it, for one).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

A second partition is the EmuNAND. Leave it alone. You can copy


OK, cheers. WIll give it a shot when I recover mentally.

That guide is how to MIGRATE. As in ditch SXOS and your HDD. I am trying to tell you how to run both. I recommend 2 EmuNANDS. FAT32 is a MUST on your SD. Your HDD can be whatever. QUICK AND DIRTY it's like this I am assuming you're still on 11.0 on your SysNAND.

  1. back up EVERYTHING on your SD. Back up your EmuNAND (Use EmuTool, it's on gbatemp)
  2. Back up your SysNAND (Internal MMC) using "Hekate.
  3. Format to FAT32
  4. Make an EmuNAND with Hekate, keep it at 11.0
  5. Install Atmosphere using any guide skipping the make an EmuNAND section --> https://switch.homebrew.guide/
  6. Update SysNAND to latest compatible Atmo Firmware using Daybreak (12.2? IDK)
  7. Put SXOS boot.dat on root of SD and license file
With this configuration you'll run Atmosphere off SysNAND SXOS of EmuNAND(kept at 11.0 for compatibility.) You may have to Delete the EmuMMC folder if atmo tries to boot the EmuMMC(EmuNAND, same thing) You will boot Atmo and SXOS using their respective payloads.

That's the gist and the minimum,

You can setup ArgonNX to have a boot menu and Tesla with FastCFWswitch to swap between. If desired. Hekate can select too..

I personally made 2 EmuNANDS so Atmosphere and SXOS get their own.. If you go that route put SXOS first and you must change the Atmo EmuMMC.ini to the correct offset for the Atmo EmuNAND. There are tutorials on the temp for multiple emunand on same SD. There's an automatic script for 2 EmuNANDS and a linux and Android partitions (4 total) as well

Here are some snips from a conversation I had. I am too lazy to re type ;)

You can use this to make multiple emunands.
https://gbatemp.net/threads/emunand-switcher-3-00-multitool-for-sxos-and-atmosphere.539727/

I made a 4GB EmuNAND for SXOS using this and I am okay so far as I am only keeping save games on it. I use super XCI (XCI with Updates and DLC built in) You can leave the EmuNAND at 32gb standard and not worry about it. It's just 32GB..

https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-resize-your-emunand-mmc.587024/

I use this to boot to a multi menu where I can select what to boot.

https://github.com/Guillem96/argon-nx/blob/master/README.md

Keep in mind, if you want, this is the perfect time to setup android or linux, You can run tons of games that way. Dolphin(Wii and Gamecube) works as well as most games for android and linux,

https://gbatemp.net/threads/tool-ne...-l4t-ubuntu-cfw-emummc-on-one-sd-card.575936/


If things errors a lot on atmo keep in mind, anything you installed with the built in SXOS installer will not work and will need to be reinstalled. SXOS does weird patches and leaves a bunch of garbage on your system too. If things still error you can do a factory reset to remove the garbage. All your SX stuff should at this point be on your EmuNAND and Backed up to your pc anyway.. Or you can factory reset while updating the firmware in daybreak. That has worked

Thats about it. mostly. You can move saves and what not. Theres plenty of tutorials. I may write up a big tutorial someday on how to run both SXOS and ATMO. This should suffice.
 
Last edited by mikefor20,
  • Like
Reactions: mugwump

Kun_ADR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
174
Country
Cambodia
I'm really thankful and grateful to all the kind people that are explaining all these stuff here. But man oh man reading some of those stuff make my head want to explode.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: Open a thread in the respective section, you'll get more help there.