New Nintendo Channel...Safe To Install?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TiMeBoMb4u2, Sep 15, 2009.

Sep 15, 2009
  1. TiMeBoMb4u2
    OP

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    A new Nintendo Channel was released today. Is it safe to install?

    Thanks!
    [​IMG]
     


  2. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    do a bootmii nand back-up and then install it

    let us know [​IMG] lol
     
  3. CloudSE

    CloudSE Newbie

  4. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    all we need now is a dreamcast virtual consoul
     
  5. ayojoe

    Newcomer ayojoe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Do you NEED 4.1 to download the updated Nintendo Channel, and does this install/uninstall any patches or hacks?
     
  6. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need to update to 4.1. The new layout version of Nintendo Channel works on 4.0 (if possible), and it will work with StartPatch/Preloader patches. (Tested by me for the Japanese version of Nintendo Channel with system menu 4.0)
     
  7. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    what does this channel offer
     
  8. Deviyl

    Member Deviyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    Source: http://www.gamingbits.com/content/view/6553/2/
     
  9. TiMeBoMb4u2
    OP

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
  10. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    not on 3.2 and nor does the new internet channel (it writes data to the wii and it disabled my OLD wad from working as well! now none work on 3.2u [​IMG] and im modded to the max here [​IMG]
     
  11. TiMeBoMb4u2
    OP

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    Okay...so, I've heard a little from both sides now.

    Some say it's safe, others it's not... Which is it? I'm on SM v4.1 (Waninkoko's Updater)


    Thanks!
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Why wouldn't it be safe?

    When you install a channel inside the Wii Shop Channel, it merely installs the channel. There's no hidden IOS updating and whatnot.

    By the way, the new Nintendo Channel demands IOS55.
     
  13. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    shoot same here but im on 4.1.
    i even tried deleting it with anytitledeleterdb and still no go, ill guess ill erase it again via ATD and then try getting it from the shop channel
     
  14. Everlasting Nigh

    Newcomer Everlasting Nigh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Strange..after I got the update, made the Brawl disc go loud like it's scratching.

    Fudge, thank goodness I have a NAND backup.

    EDIT: Nevermind, it was how the Wii was standing.
     
  15. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    The new Channel is not the Nintendo Channel, there is a newer one, I tried installing but it failed with some Error code in the Wii shop [​IMG] Guess I'll get it through NUS and WAD Installer.
     
  16. TiMeBoMb4u2
    OP

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean it "demands IOS55"?

    [​IMG]
     
  17. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    it means that u have to have it..................
    dont know how to say it any clearer
     
  18. TiMeBoMb4u2
    OP

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    That makes sense, but why wouldn't we have it?
    Why would someone remove it from their system??

    [​IMG]
     
  19. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    everyone has it, just not the latest version which this channel requires
     
  20. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Titles don't care what the IOS version is. (i.e.- It doesn't matter if it's IOS55 v4633 or v5149, as long as it's IOS55.) Update screens may arise if there's a newer version though.
     

Share This Page