Hardware New M9T36 Replacements Shorting, Any Ideas?

OhItsSlick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
244
Country
United States
After replacing M9 for the second time (I took my time on this attempt making sure everything was good to go) the switch actually charged and worked for a while. At the end of the day I assumed all was well so I decided to factory reset so I can run CFW but upon taking the switch out of the dock after the reset, the 2101-0001 error popped up again. Has anyone experienced this and was able to find a solution? I’m assuming the charging port is damaged in a way that’s causing voltage to be sent to places it shouldn’t be but I don’t know, what do you think?
 

Nagaa

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
232
Country
France
Check USB C port if there is damage pin / touching pin, and replace it if it's the case

I already had a similare issue and it was just a faulty m92 chip try to replace it again
 

rip-it-up

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
manchester
Website
Visit site
XP
533
Country
After replacing M9 for the second time (I took my time on this attempt making sure everything was good to go) the switch actually charged and worked for a while. At the end of the day I assumed all was well so I decided to factory reset so I can run CFW but upon taking the switch out of the dock after the reset, the 2101-0001 error popped up again. Has anyone experienced this and was able to find a solution? I’m assuming the charging port is damaged in a way that’s causing voltage to be sent to places it shouldn’t be but I don’t know, what do you think?
somthing relating to pi3usb, i had a switch which blew m92 twice, i did something with p13usb and that fixed my issue, cant remmeber if it was the chip i replaced or the filter/caps.
 

OhItsSlick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
244
Country
United States
Check USB C port if there is damage pin / touching pin, and replace it if it's the case

I already had a similare issue and it was just a faulty m92 chip try to replace it again
No pins touching as far as I can see under a microscope. I wonder if the person I'm buying M9 chips from is selling chips from a bad batch or something. I ordered 2 more from the same supplier so fingers cross I was just getting unlucky with the chips or something. Thank you for your input!
 

OhItsSlick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
244
Country
United States
somthing relating to pi3usb, i had a switch which blew m92 twice, i did something with p13usb and that fixed my issue, cant remmeber if it was the chip i replaced or the filter/caps.
Ok Ill check out pi3. Oddly enough the switch wouldn't dock unless I docked in immediately after removing a known working switch from the dock. If you end up remembering if it was the filters or the chip itself, please let me know! Thank you for the reply.
 

Nagaa

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
232
Country
France
No pins touching as far as I can see under a microscope. I wonder if the person I'm buying M9 chips from is selling chips from a bad batch or something. I ordered 2 more from the same supplier so fingers cross I was just getting unlucky with the chips or something. Thank you for your input!
yeah i had some trouble to find a good supplier for this chip, i buy here : https://fr.aliexpress.com/item/4000325031145.html
Not the cheapest one but never had a trouble with them before i always have 1 or 2 chip on the batch that was faulty

here is the reading of pi3 if you want to check too
P13USB Reading.png
 

OhItsSlick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
244
Country
United States
yeah i had some trouble to find a good supplier for this chip, i buy here : https://fr.aliexpress.com/item/4000325031145.html
Not the cheapest one but never had a trouble with them before i always have 1 or 2 chip on the batch that was faulty

here is the reading of pi3 if you want to check too
View attachment 295415
Thanks for the in-depth reply! I’ve got a question about the switch you said you fixed earlier. Did you end up finding the cause for the M9s burning? I’m starting to think it’s the charging port somehow despite the none of the pins touching.
 

rip-it-up

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
manchester
Website
Visit site
XP
533
Country
Ok Ill check out pi3. Oddly enough the switch wouldn't dock unless I docked in immediately after removing a known working switch from the dock. If you end up remembering if it was the filters or the chip itself, please let me know! Thank you for the reply.
More than likely it was the p13usb I replaced as where I always go to after m92.

when i changed the m92 orignallly it worked for a day then threw up a error code AGAIN
 

OhItsSlick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 17, 2021
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
244
Country
United States
I sacrificed an old USB-C cable and some header pins to easily measure this with a multimPoormans

More than likely it was the p13usb I replaced as where I always go to after m92.

when i changed the m92 orignallly it worked for a day then threw up a error code AGAIN
Alright cool thanks for the reply. Yeah same thing here, switch was working just fine then bam error code like 8 hours later.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    can you overclock a fan
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    mum keeps buying dells even tho i keep telling her i'll do her a build that would run way faster. she still wants dell "for the warranty"
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i like dell
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    th
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    thats it
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i just like dell
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    and 3ds
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    PCs are getting so powerful top the line is a minimal difference from midrange
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    modern pcs running windows 10: :wacko:


    modern pcs running dos: :gun:
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    dells and other OEM brands like HP, Compaq etc. are packed with bloatware and custom dell version drivers. i reject the whole premise of them, sorry!
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    McDonald's breakfast did it's job and pushed out yesterdays McDonald's lunch
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    if you hate that stuff so much just pop a bog standard win install disk into your pc
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    just watched the 1991 John Hughes movie Career Opportunities. it was ok, 3 stars. Not as good as some of his other work like Uncle Buck and The Breakfast Club. Still had that same vibe though.
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    also, should what os should i put on the 500 gig?
    Gift
  • Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    for funzies :P
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Windows ME
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    @AliceCE you can't totally do that in the normal fashion, because it's Dell's custom hardware. that's whey Dell makes their own drivers for it. i have done fresh installs it on a couple of dell laptops and it turned out ok
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    any base windows install should work, if it's just drivers, so what? just download what you need and then plop a thumbdrive in the pc with the files
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    done that with an hp while downgrading it from 10 to 7
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    i need an analogy to explain why but cant think of one.
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    (i have an immense hatred for using windows 10 in an everyday situation)
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    (also bblean is very nice)
    Gift
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: (also bblean is very nice)