New guy that needs a Complete Walk through of Hacking my N3DS XL

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Viary, Feb 23, 2016.

1. Viary
    OP

Viary Member

Newcomer
    Feb 23, 2016
    United States
    Okay so basically I'm new to the hacking scene on a Nintendo. A long time ago when I was around 14 ish I did hack the Psp(fun times :) ) cfw etc.

Anyways I just bought a N3DS XL yesterday and basically I want to get back to my childhood roots of Hacking! I have read various threads etc but I'm like totally lost atm. My current firmware is 10.5.0-30U.

I want to able to use CFW and basically use cheats for games etc. I recall the Psp days of Socom using hacks and boy was it fun. Only game I own currently is Pkmn AS and does it even have cheats etc?

Any help would be greatly appreciated for this fella! Don't want to brick btw! Did that already and that's wear my hacking days ended back then.

Thanks!

2. hippy dave

hippy dave Butts Butts Megabutts

Apr 30, 2012
    Bad news is that to get all the good stuff, beyond basic homebrew, you'd need a hardmod to downgrade from that firmware version. Good news is that if you do get the hardmod, you'll be safe against bricking and can fuck around as much as you want.

3. Viary
    OP

Viary Member

Newcomer
    Feb 23, 2016
    United States
    Currently have the homebrew. Maybe in time it will be possible to use CFW and all the fun stuff on 10.5 one day? Lol

4. Ryu X

Ryu X GBAtemp Regular

Feb 9, 2007
    United States
    10.5.3 is not downgradeable without a hardmod. Did you update when you bought the system? No n3ds should come with 10.5. Could exchange it if you just bought most likly if you want to soft mod it which is possible on 10.3.28 or less.

5. Viary
    OP

Viary Member

Newcomer
    Feb 23, 2016
    United States