Hacking New Gateway 3.1.1 update (with Cubic Ninja support!)

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
992
Country
United States
news flash for the ignorant: there's ABSOLUTELY NOTHING illegal about exploiting software errors for purposes other than intended, or at least yet...

As to gateway, it's entirely possible that they managed to reproduce the exploit from available information. Just knowing that it IS possible is the first major step.

BTW, I got a HUGE laugh from that sell/"allow to use" comment, as a matter of fact ROFLMAO, even more so now that I FULLY consider the entire scope... :facepalm:


So funny, so why is Nintendo blocking it? Because they know its not going to be used as its intended. Infact I never knew exploits had an intended usage because if so than why are companies all worried about a sslv3 that had an exploit, why are they getting patched up? Heartbleed ring a bell as well? BECAUSE THEY KNOW IT HAS A POTENTIAL TO CAUSE HAVOK ON THERE SYSTEMS. So guess what, exploits get patched. HAHAHAHA. purposes other than intended....OK.
 

logg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
285
Country
United States
I don't have issues with save being corrupted. I know why that happens actually. It's a difference between the version of the game. If I transfer my MM3D cart save to a .3ds game on 1.1, it will show as corrupted. If I transfer my FE Awakening sav to GW with DLC, it will show as corrupted.

So what you need is to make sure it is on the exact same version at the time of transfer. Then move it over, then you can apply updates. I can't seem to track down a copy of Pokemon X v1.2 update file, so I think that one is a lost cause :(

I did manage to transfer my FE Awakening save though. I played the cart on my O3DS sysnand just in case and saved. Since it is a 4.4 cart, it was fine. Then i dumped the save.
Then I changed the .sav to the title id of SDF (I don't have it on my atm sorry) and then pressed select, to choose it in the multirom menu

And didn't launch it. I went straight to sdf, and CTR card wasn't broken :D

Haven't figured out MM3D yet though. It is a 7.1x game, so IDk if it will work.

I tried re-backing up my cartridge, so that it would be the exact same version, but it still thinks my save is corrupted. I heard that it works for games before 7.1, but mine is from 7.1+. Here's my process; if you notice anything wrong let me know.
  1. I backup my cartridge from the new 3ds via gateway's boot menu
  2. I backup my save file from the new 3ds via gateway's boot menu
  3. I move the cartridge rom to the gateway microsd card with extension 3dz
  4. I move the save file to microsd card in the new 3ds, with the appropriate 000xx000xx000.sav file name
  5. I boot emunand in gateway mode
  6. I use the gateway cartridge select menu and select the cartridge backup
  7. If I launch the game, and it tells me the save file is corrupted
  8. If I don't launch the game, savedatafiler says that the cartridge is broken, and save game transfer tool says there is no save data
I was trying to do it with Majora's mask, and I think that's the problem. Apparently, it's no longer possible to utilize save files this way with gateway since the 7.1 games came out. I don't want to set myself up for criticism when I'm wrong, but it seems like for a card which advertises itself as a "backup tool", it's not actually good at backing up all the data on your retail cartridges for use with gateway.

In my opinion, the biggest missing homebrew tool is a save game manager. We only have savedatafiler (which is illegal, doesn't use human-readable title names, and can't be launched to work with retail cartridges), gateway's backup menu (which is only compatible with itself, and retail cartridges less than 7.1), and nintendo's data transfer tool (it might work for gateway rom to cia, but I've never successfully used it).

If a homebrew existed which took any of the four different source saves (retail cartridge < 7.1, retail cartrige >= 7.1, gateway save [which I guess is supposed to be compatible with retail cartridge < 7.1], cia save) and allowed easy to read, mindless save conversion, the barriers of switching game formats would be lifted.

btw, if you get a pokemon X cia from your region, you can just update it from the e-shop. I'm not sure that pokemon x has a 1.2 update; I think I vaguely remember that pokemon omega ruby has a version number one greater than pokemon x, but I could be wrong.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2Hack

cutterjohn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
661
Trophies
0
XP
717
Country
United States
So funny, so why is Nintendo blocking it? Because they know its not going to be used as its intended. Infact I never knew exploits had an intended usage because if so than why are companies all worried about a sslv3 that had an exploit, why are they getting patched up? Heartbleed ring a bell as well? BECAUSE THEY KNOW IT HAS A POTENTIAL TO CAUSE HAVOK ON THERE SYSTEMS. So guess what, exploits get patched. HAHAHAHA. purposes other than intended....OK.
:wacko: :facepalm: :Popcorn:

What has happened to gbatemp in the last few years?
 

Random Joe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
357
Trophies
0
XP
248
Country
United States
so you successfully boot into gw mode every time !! i wonder what is causing them on my n3ds then :unsure:


satel I think you are the only one having issues at this point.

You need to buy a new micro SD card. I know you don't want to hear it. But I think that is your only hope.
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,356
Trophies
3
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
21,098
Country
Canada
for sure,it's still beta but i hope they will address this issue "soon" & i have sent them email to let them know about it. :)

That isn't much a problem for me. I keep my 3ds ON most of time once in gateway mode.
If it get stuck, try again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: satel

davhuit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
994
Trophies
0
XP
550
Country
France
so you successfully boot into gw mode every time !! i wonder what is causing them on my n3ds then :unsure:

Not everytime or it's a lot of luck, as Gateway team said that when it take more than 45s to load, you need to reboot as it mean it crashed.

Personally, I would say it works 4 times on 5 tries with Cubic Ninja (a bit less with OOT, I saw several times when the game crashed before even loading the Gateway menu).

But if it crash near everytime or half time, yeah, I suppose it's not normal.
 
  • Like
Reactions: satel

2Hack

HYPiavelli
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
2,255
Trophies
1
Location
Underground
Website
soundcloud.com
XP
3,115
Country
Canada
I tried re-backing up my cartridge, so that it would be the exact same version, but it still thinks my save is corrupted. I heard that it works for games before 7.1, but mine is from 7.1+. Here's my process; if you notice anything wrong let me know.
  1. I backup my cartridge from the new 3ds via gateway's boot menu
  2. I backup my save file from the new 3ds via gateway's boot menu
  3. I move the cartridge rom to the gateway microsd card with extension 3dz
  4. I move the save file to microsd card in the new 3ds, with the appropriate 000xx000xx000.sav file name
  5. I boot emunand in gateway mode
  6. I use the gateway cartridge select menu and select the cartridge backup
  7. If I launch the game, and it tells me the save file is corrupted
  8. If I don't launch the game, savedatafiler says that the cartridge is broken, and save game transfer tool says there is no save data
I was trying to do it with Majora's mask, and I think that's the problem. Apparently, it's no longer possible to utilize save files this way with gateway since the 7.1 games came out. I don't want to set myself up for criticism when I'm wrong, but it seems like for a card which advertises itself as a "backup tool", it's not actually good at backing up all the data on your retail cartridges for use with gateway.

In my opinion, the biggest missing homebrew tool is a save game manager. We only have savedatafiler (which is illegal, doesn't use human-readable title names, and can't be launched to work with retail cartridges), gateway's backup menu (which is only compatible with itself, and retail cartridges less than 7.1), and nintendo's data transfer tool (it might work for gateway rom to cia, but I've never successfully used it).

If a homebrew existed which took any of the four different source saves (retail cartridge < 7.1, retail cartrige >= 7.1, gateway save [which I guess is supposed to be compatible with retail cartridge < 7.1], cia save) and allowed easy to read, mindless save conversion, the barriers of switching game formats would be lifted.

btw, if you get a pokemon X cia from your region, you can just update it from the e-shop. I'm not sure that pokemon x has a 1.2 update; I think I vaguely remember that pokemon omega ruby has a version number one greater than pokemon x, but I could be wrong.

Yea you're doing it right. It just doesn't work with 7.1 it seems :( really annoying. Been trying MM3D as well. Now I gotta either start a new save; while I'm 75% done already, or play only in sysNAND. I really do wish someone would figure out the 7.1 encryption and release a save data manager for it. Until then, we're screwed I guess. And to think; I was considering buying MH4U for the wait. Good thing I waited, as it clearly would have been a waste of time.

FE Awakening worked just fine, since it was a 4.4 game. I'm glad that went through at least. Spent the most hours there with 97, would suck to lose it all now.

And Pokemon X had up to 1.3, so I'm kinda stuck as every source seems to have taken 1.2 down and replaced it with 1.3 so bye bye Pokemon lol.

Maybe the data transfer tool could work if we got it directly off the eshop and ran it from classic mode? Classic mode only allows properly signed software, but does allow carts, so maybe that would be the key. Idk if there is one for MM3D though. Aren't the transfer tools game specific? Only some games have it it seems.
 
  • Like
Reactions: logg

logg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
285
Country
United States
Yea you're doing it right. It just doesn't work with 7.1 it seems :( really annoying. Been trying MM3D as well. Now I gotta either start a new save; while I'm 75% done already, or play only in sysNAND. I really do wish someone would figure out the 7.1 encryption and release a save data manager for it. Until then, we're screwed I guess. And to think; I was considering buying MH4U for the wait. Good thing I waited, as it clearly would have been a waste of time.

FE Awakening worked just fine, since it was a 4.4 game. I'm glad that went through at least. Spent the most hours there with 97, would suck to lose it all now.

And Pokemon X had up to 1.3, so I'm kinda stuck as every source seems to have taken 1.2 down and replaced it with 1.3 so bye bye Pokemon lol.

Maybe the data transfer tool could work if we got it directly off the eshop and ran it from classic mode? Classic mode only allows properly signed software, but does allow carts, so maybe that would be the key. Idk if there is one for MM3D though. Aren't the transfer tools game specific? Only some games have it it seems.

Yeah, in classic mode, it doesn't see the unsigned cia. I guess that if someone offered a cia ripped from the actual eshop, it might be signed properly, but I don't think I see too many (if any) of those releases. So, your option would be to buy the game a second time, but from the eshop this time. I think that's not a very satisfying solution. I'd rather just play from the cartridge in classic mode to avoid buying the game twice.

As far as I know, the 7.1 encryption is not a problem anymore; people decrypt it with some tools. I think sooner or later, someone with the brains to pull it off will realize the need.

For pokemon, you can't save your game progress, but you could just transfer your pokemon into the pokebank, and download them into your cia copy. Maybe play the game over again with your OP team (or make a new team and mix/match when the new team is about as powerful as the old team). I decided to start over, but in German, since I studied German in highschool. It's very hard to play (or at least to understand the dialog; playing is not really affected), since I don't actually know German, but I feel like I'm learning a lot by playing.

ps 100 posts again :​P and vinscool brought wave 5; will have to make a new avatar.

edit: this is probably the best avatar ever, and not at all stupid looking.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,252
Trophies
1
XP
2,336
Country
Poland
Well, yeah, nice on Team Gateway, but how about getting back to FEATURES now? Like the save improvements we have been waiting for so long. N3DS users already have a way to install the cart, now let's get back to functionality.
 

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
i see quite a few people with JP systems complaining that JP games are quite expensive

I have a JP N3DS as well and i haven't had this problem, if you need a suggestion for where to get games try nin-nin-game :)

Got my OoT 3D for pretty much just retail price, not scalpers' prices
 

Azel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
632
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
626
Country
France
sorry if this has been answer numerous times but from what I got you need to have acess to an og3ds/usb dongle to upload an exploitable save to OOT.
Do you also need it for CN?
thanks.
(i only own a N3DS and don't have any one with an og3ds on hand)
 

GaaraPrime

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
790
Trophies
0
XP
1,314
Country
India
Since I have a cubic ninja already, I am finally ready to buy gateway :D What SD cards do you recommend getting? I currently only have the standard SD card that came with the N3DS standard edition. How big is it, and should I upgrade to something bigger? AFAIK there is only one size for every N3DS? I want emunand and every option available just in case so what size should I be aiming for? Also, I think I heard the gateway SD card has problems with very big sizes, or is this incorrect? Thanks for any answers, just want to make sure I get everything I need the first time, I am not patient enough for more waiting if I mess up :lol:

I always suggest to get a 32 Gb for N3DS...

http://www.sandisk.in/products/memory-cards/microsd/ultra-class10-for-android/?capacity=32GB

And a 64 Gb for Gateway...

http://www.sandisk.in/products/memory-cards/microsd/ultra-class10-for-android/?capacity=64GB

That's what I got. Just make sure you get the Red/Grey one and not the black one. Red/Grey one have faster read/write speeds. Also make sure your source is good so that you get original/genuine cards.

Over here in my country, if you have an import sticker on the back, then it makes it 99% sure it's genuine/original, and after getting them, I just call up Sandisk and match the serial numbers so I get 100% confirmation that mine are original :D

Best of luck :)


sorry if this has been answer numerous times but from what I got you need to have acess to an og3ds/usb dongle to upload an exploitable save to OOT.
Do you also need it for CN?
thanks.
(i only own a N3DS and don't have any one with an og3ds on hand)

Nope. You don't need to have O3DS to do the CN exploit :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Killaclown

Raz266

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2014
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
58
Country
Really hope the 3D is fixed. Mentioned it in a previous Comment by the Closing the Lip and reopening doesn't 100% fix the issue, sometimes you get 2 images side by side together. Used to hate the 3D but N3DS has made me love it and I always keep it on now, really takes me out of the game when the 3D Acts up due to GW =/
 

GaaraPrime

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
790
Trophies
0
XP
1,314
Country
India
Really hope the 3D is fixed. Mentioned it in a previous Comment by the Closing the Lip and reopening doesn't 100% fix the issue, sometimes you get 2 images side by side together. Used to hate the 3D but N3DS has made me love it and I always keep it on now, really takes me out of the game when the 3D Acts up due to GW =/

Does that happen quite often? The 3D acting up?

How many people are experiencing this? I would like to have more input on this.
 

Aman27deep

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
449
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Calcutta.
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
589
Country
India
sorry if this has been answer numerous times but from what I got you need to have acess to an og3ds/usb dongle to upload an exploitable save to OOT.
Do you also need it for CN?
thanks.
(i only own a N3DS and don't have any one with an og3ds on hand)

No, you just need Internet and you have to scan a QR code.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Azel
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I still sucked at it though since it's been a few years since I played it lol