New G6 Loader v4.2B

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by SpaceJump, Aug 12, 2006.

Aug 12, 2006

New G6 Loader v4.2B by SpaceJump at 4:07 PM (2,575 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    New G6 Loader v4.2B

    Download.
     


  2. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    w00t! thanks, now if i can only find my ds phat with gs in it. im stuck with no mod solution for my dsl and i cant find me dsphat+g6.. damn!
     
  3. wolfear

    Newcomer wolfear Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    anyone try mario kart soft reset? [​IMG]
     
  4. adambrochu

    Newcomer adambrochu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    how do you properly install the latest loader?

    Is it just a matter of copy and replace. My current loader is English V4.2A on the flash cart
    so I just replace that with English V4.2B on my cart and its all good?
     
  5. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    No that's not it.

    From the readme:
     
  6. Hypnotoad

    Member Hypnotoad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Space.
    Country:
    United States
    Then after you update, you can take those files off your Lit
    e.

    info from another thread:

     
  7. js18

    Newcomer js18 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    When I DL it, it says 4.2A , not 4.2 B .
     
  8. Pensuke

    Newcomer Pensuke Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    You're right... but the modified date of g6loader.sys displays August 12 2006, so maybe it is correct.
     
  9. mikehammerX9

    Member mikehammerX9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Greece
    Yes, it is correct [​IMG]
     
  10. js18

    Newcomer js18 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Cool, I'll D/l it again.
     
  11. wolfear

    Newcomer wolfear Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    [​IMG]
     
  12. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]
    So does Soft-reset now work with Mario Kart?
     
  13. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    Someone in another thread said they got it to work. Mario Kart.
     
  14. harryjon35

    Member harryjon35 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Germany
    good news. i had random lockups in some games (princess peach, brain age). hope it works flawless now.
     
  15. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    4.2B definitly fixed the freezing for me. On 4.2A Advance Wars crashed often and with 4.2B not once.
     
  16. wolfear

    Newcomer wolfear Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    mkart soft reset still not working
     
  17. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Untrue, it does not work with soft-reset. I'm sure once it does, they'll write it in the changelog, because it would make a lot of people happy.
     
  18. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I tried it and I can confirm soft-reset doesn't work with Mario Kart.
     
  19. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got my G6L ( I assume this update is for the lite aswell?) coming tomorrow so just a couple of questions.

    Do I need to put the G6verify and G6loader on the card with the u disk manager? , or can I just drag and drop them?.

    Also it says ii)If errors occur during updating, please use the G6 maintainence tools "MPutility" to format the G6 u-disk and format G6 with "FAT(16)" under window system. Then carrying out the update procedures again.

    Does that mean if you mess up , there is no chance of screwing the card and ending up with a brick , it's always fixable?.

    Thanks [​IMG].
     
  20. ds6220

    Member ds6220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    I have a similar question. I know I can format the card under Windows (making sure to use FAT) but once I do that I have a blank card, right? How would I set the card back up again? simply put the G6verify and G6loader back on the card with windows and then boot in GBA mode? (same way you would if you were updating?) [​IMG]
     

Share This Page