New G6 Lite Model & Pictures!

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by FifthE1ement, Oct 13, 2006.

Oct 13, 2006
  1. FifthE1ement
    OP

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    I just got these pics from yyjoy.com and decided to share them with everyone on the forums. As of now yyjoy, any everyone else, has no idea what this model of the G6 Lite does and speculation is that is might be a "Pro" model similar to the recently announced M3 "Pro" line.

    Currently yyjoy is calling this version the "G6 Lite XXX" and many users are suggesting that this model might have the GBA functions removed and/or have support for the Rumble feature similar to the recently released SuperCard Rumble Series.

    As of now the “G6 Lite XXX” features are anyone’s guess but I’m sure time will tell but for now enjoy the screens.


    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Source

    Update:

    Just announced: This new model “G6 Lite XXX” is the G6 Lite 8G and G6 Lite Pro!

    The "G6 Lite Pro" will be the current G6 Lite 4G with the GBA functions removed and will be a bit cheaper then the current model. It should be released in about 2 weeks and cost aprox $65.

    The "G6 Lite 8G" that’s 8Gbit (1GB) of data space, which is twice the size of the previous G6 Lite 4G (512MB), should be released in about a month and cost aprox $80! Rejoice G6 space haters as this one will knock your socks off with near perfect GBA and DS support with 1 GB of storage space!

    There is no news on what the current G6 Lite 4G's pricing will change to as of yet.

    [​IMG]

    Source


    Enjoy,

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  2. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds likely to be the Pro version IMO considering that a Pro version was originally announced with the original G6 Lite announcement, wasn't it? One way or another, I'm sure it will be limited to no gba function.

    Main thing for me. If price = cheaper, fine by me. G6 Lite is already at a great price and I don't need any gba functions what-so-ever so it would make a nice candidate any day for another internal memory based cart for me.
     
  3. meangreenie

    Banned meangreenie Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't see how a G6 pro can be.. either it has memory or not, as you can't insert an external memory card.
     
  4. other

    Member other GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Sweden
    They could remove the fast memory used for GBA games.
     
  5. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    LOL

    Those screenshots look exactly like the existing G6 Lite. Plus that's just a shot of the shell, there's no circuit board in it. [​IMG] I don't know why I find that so funny.

    As for no GBA support, it really doesn't bring the price down enough for me to care all that much. I'd rather pay the extra few $$ and have support for everything.
     
  6. FifthE1ement
    OP

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Updated Above!

    G6 Lite Pro & 8G!

    Enjoy,

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  7. kalibar

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    8Gb sounds fucking hot. If it works like they say, I might unload my current G6 Lite for that.
     
  8. inter4ever

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Oh no.Just when I got my G6 replaced. I waited to see if they will release an 8 Gbit cart and I thought they won't so I went ahead and bought. This flashcart is even at the same price as the current G6 4Gbit! I might consider getting it if I got a buyer for my current G6.

    Thanks for the news..
     
  9. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    you think thats bad... i bought a g6 4g when ther WAS no lite for $150 USD!
     
  10. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Agreed, I bought 2 g6 3rd gens back for $170 a pop. But this is good news for people interested in g6.
     
  11. kalibar

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah dude, I feel your fucking pain. I paid $214 after shipping to get an original G6 4Gb from KickTrading. Back when I bought it, you had to buy it bundled with a PassKey2.
     
  12. Tir

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Woohoo, I wanted to get a G6L for ages, only the space was holding me back.

    This new 1GB one will be perfect for me, now I can stop fussing over other carts and their micro SD compatibility since I know this won't have any speed problems (and has probably the best battery life and gui to boot).
     
  13. meangreenie

    Banned meangreenie Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who is going to buy a G6 with slow memory ? (G6 pro) it makes no sense.
     
  14. beedog19

    Member beedog19 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Sunny Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    It's nice to see a new g6l come out but i'm more than happy with my current g6 at the moment. i will eventually replace it but when i do it will be with a slot 1 card and my g6l will become my gba card and 4g is more than enough for gba.
     
  15. jchen

    Member jchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    United States
    i have a question on slot 1 cards, they have the passcard function built in right? so can it load a slot 2 card in ds mode. that means you basically have two ds flash cards in one ds
     
  16. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Most have a passcard function built in but not all (DSLink comes to mind). Read up on the product you want to be sure.
     
  17. FifthE1ement
    OP

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, no meangreenie thats no GBA memory. They will still have the regular DS fast memory they just won't be able to play GBA.

    jchen, its currently up in the air on which slot 1 flashcarts will also support nopass features. We'll find out soon though.

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  18. htoxad

    Member htoxad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    United States
    Is M3/G6 just burning through old stock by repacking it before they release a Slot 1 device?
     
  19. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Prolly! i can understand the 8Gb version, but i don't see the use of the pro releases [​IMG]

    If the gonna release a slot 1 solution, wouldn't it be better for them to remove the NDS function of the G6/M3 (Only GBA) [​IMG] and sell a bundel [​IMG] : G6/M3 Slot 1 + G6/M3 Pro so you have both NDS and GBA support like he real thing. [​IMG]

    Make the M3 GBA only with rumble and add a RAM feature, this way you have best off all. [​IMG]

    (Same for G6 [​IMG] ).

    I think when i have a SLot1 cartridge i sell all my gba alike nds flashkits and digg up my old FA 128 and F2A 512 Ultra again pure for GBA, no need for any other kit then [​IMG] (Hmmz ok, nevermind i'll keep a M3 for the GBA stuff, the usage of minisd is easier then using your [​IMG] to flash the F2A or connecting again the lpt flasher [​IMG] for the FA)
    (Or i can use my [​IMG] to play [​IMG] [​IMG] )
     
  20. kalibar

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Are you high?
     

Share This Page