New EZFlash IV, Confused

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by Evo.lve, May 12, 2011.

May 12, 2011

New EZFlash IV, Confused by Evo.lve at 12:17 PM (2,477 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Evo.lve
    OP

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey all,

    I'm expecting a new EZIV sometime soon. As this is my first GBA flashcart, I have no idea what to do.

    If someone can explain to me how to set it up etc., as well as explain what all this NOR flashing or whatever is, I'd be really grateful.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Cuelhu

    Member Cuelhu КУ!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Fantasy Land
    Country:
    some useful links:
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/wiki/index.php?title=EZFlash_4
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/wiki/index.php?t...ash_IV_Tutorial

    As of setup and all, it's not that difficult. You'll need to patch you ROMs with the EZ software, and it's recommended to use the 8.3 file name format or some games will get a corrupt save file. Better not export your patched ROMs directly with EZ client. After patching, just drag and drop them to your miniSD card (formatted in FAT).

    About NOR: you can only play bigger games like Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, Mother 3, Riviera The Promised Land (all of them 32MB) using it. It is slow to write, but reads in an instant, like a real GBA cart. You can also write to the NOR your most played game so you don't have to wait it to load every time.
     
  3. Evo.lve
    OP

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Understood... I think! I'll try and note it all down.
     
  4. Cuelhu

    Member Cuelhu КУ!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Fantasy Land
    Country:
    Just found this.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Not needed.
    As long as you're using the latest firmware, you should be fine using any filename as long as it's 45 characters or less in length.
     
  6. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    LOL @ my SMA4 which still won't work on RESET without renaming it by 8:3. Is there anything in particular that needs to be done to fix that besides the update?
     
  7. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Super Mario Advance 4 - Super Mario Bros. 3 (U).gba

    This filename is 47 characters long.
    What did I just say now?
    Filenames longer than 45 characters don't work properly.

    Rename it to Super Mario Bros. 3 (U).gba and it should work properly.
     
  8. libertyernie

    Newcomer libertyernie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page