New dashboard update reflashing drive

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ferdi-t, Jun 11, 2011.

Jun 11, 2011
  1. ferdi-t
    OP

    Member ferdi-t GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Groningen
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't know if this is true (I mean, I could verify it through some first hand experience, but for obvious reasons I won't), so better be careful.

    http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=111073415645971

    Although it' s a hassle, from a security-point of view this whole thing with the 360 reflashing itself is actually kinda cool.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. misteromar

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
    This is massive, so does it change the key? If you want to reflash must you extract the key again?

    I never thought they would do this for fear of bricking drives.
     
  4. omarroms

    Member omarroms GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    I updated to the new dashboard first and it did updated the firmwire version. I updated to the new LT v1.9 using the same key and everything still works. It only changes the firmwire version.
     
  5. ferdi-t
    OP

    Member ferdi-t GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Groningen
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So basically the people who win out are the ones modding 360s for money. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page