New Battlefield 3 Details Emerge

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Livin in a box, Jul 18, 2011.

Jul 18, 2011
  1. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Over on the tek-9.org forums, a user by the name of 'GOLD.i3DGwendoline' is now your best friend. They've leaked some Battlefield 3 screenshots from an 'Alpha Trial' of Battlefield 3, as well as some brand new information regarding graphics and gameplay. It's all below.

    Remember, those are early-build multiplayer screenshots, which we're very keen to point out won't be representative of the final game (don't get your panties in a twist, folks). However, DICE have a lot of work to do; they've said before that there should be no difference between online and offline graphics.

    The user also left some insightful new details, though we're a bit doubtful about the fact Graphic Detail was set to 'high':

    "At first, The game says I need nvidia driver 275.35, while the last one is 275.33.
    So maybe there will be more graphic options when it is enabled...
    The only options I could change where resolution, which I took 1680x1024.
    Graphic Detail: High"

    - Maps looks good.
    - Graphic settings is bugged, probably since the recommended driver version is not yet released.
    - Very low recoil, tough there is bulletspread.
    - Bullets bounce off metal.
    - Surround sound is REALLY good, the sound of the rockets that flew by my head made me smile, explosions are really nice, a good deep drum.
    - You can see your own legs when you look down, tough your weapon will stick thru your own leg... =x
    - You do not walk fully silent when crouching.
    - Infinite sprint.
    - Tank can swim and jump (funny bug rofl)
    "

    And in case you wanted to know what sort of machine could run that at 510 FPS:

    "AMD PhenomII 965 @ 4.5Gghz
    4x2048MB DDR3-2133Mhz
    2x 80GB Intel X-25 SSD on an Areca RAID controller.
    1x GTX460, little bit clocked.
    "[/p]

    Source

    You can get to the leaked screens via the source link above too.

    The game is looking pretty good and those specs aren't monstrously high which is nice. I'm really looking forward to this game, Steam or no Steam!
     
  2. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    Is tht 510 or 51 fps? i dont think many ppl have a GTX460 Card and 4.5 ghz?
    Is there any game these days that "requires" Quad Processor? even witcher for me doesnt to get the best graphics.
    very nice graphics actually. they can really put in beautiful quality which i believe games like assassin is missing. probably Rev^n will be put tht in (though the trailer didnt show so)
     
  3. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's 510 FPS. That CPU is overclocked too, the stock for that is 3.4GHz and the GTX460 is a high middle range card, so it's not that bad really.
     
  4. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    While the graphics are stuck at high, its really running at low settings, and the reason he is getting massive FPS is because he is in windows mode, thus making the resolution go down to sub "HD" rez's. (600p)
     
  5. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried running Fraps myself and the FPS is actually displayed on the left with no black background- unless there's an option to move it or whether it does it automatically in certain games or something, could it not have been Photoshopped in?
     
  6. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    lol... Open up fraps, go to FPS, look on the right side, I have my keybind set to /, I prefer mine on the top right.

    Also, you see a black background when you take SS's with fraps.
    See my dirt 3 SS,
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  7. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    That's one theory gone.
     
  8. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Check my post again .
     
  9. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK...that helped. :\
     
  10. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Images are gone, anyone mirrored them?
     
  11. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've downloaded them all, but they will be mirrored across multiple sites by now. I'll upload them to the temp later is they've gone down everywhere.
     
  12. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Infinite sprint makes me very very happy [​IMG]
    Low recoil not so though, but we'll see if it's really that bad with all the guns on the game.
     
  13. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The recoil in Bad Company 2 wasn't that bad, though some guns had a bit too much and some not enough. If BF3 ends up with more or less the same recoil as Bad Company 2 then I'll be happy.
     
  14. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    ...So is this a going to be like Battlefield or Bad Company, because so far I've been hearing the latter. If so, do not want.
     
  15. Livin in a box
    OP

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What was wrong with Bad Company 2?
     
  16. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    I just like the original Battlefield more, Bad Company feels more a lot less like it, to the point where I don't even consider it Battlefield.
     
  17. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I can't wait! Bad Company 2 was awesome and this looks even better.
     
  18. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Opinion respected, I thought Bad Company 2 was a turn for the better. A good balance of guns- some with low recoil and a few with higher although some were just too good and too easy to use (like the AN-94). Hope the recoil is about the same level and not any lower.

    Infinite sprint- kind of iffy about it although I found that it worked quite well in Bad Company 2.

    Tank can jump- just had a funny vision.

    One of the most anticipated games in a long time for me. Still hard to believe that it's finally coming after the whole "where's BC3?!" phase.
     

Share This Page