Hacking Question New 6.0 Games on 4.1.0?

Marax

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
215
Country
Gambia, The
Hello,

I have a Question about the new 6.0 Games.

I have a NSP from the new M Party.

My Switch is on 4.1.0

Tinfoil says that the game requires a newer FW.

Is there any way to Bypass that ?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Tinfoil is able to ignore the version, but idk how does that actually works.
I tried it before and it just gave me an error.
Is there any way to Bypass that ?
Just update using ChoiDoujourNX and add autoRCM so that you don't burn the fuses. I would advise to update to 5.1.0, since I believe 6.0 still has a few problems here and there.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,334
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,206
Country
Norway
Hello,

I have a Question about the new 6.0 Games.

I have a NSP from the new M Party.

My Switch is on 4.1.0

Tinfoil says that the game requires a newer FW.

Is there any way to Bypass that ?
Probably not on 4.1 I would guess. I've heard that 6.0 games don't use new encryption keys, but even if they use the encryption keys from 5.x you'd have to update to at least that firmware.
 

Taorn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
1,296
Country
United States
Hello,

I have a Question about the new 6.0 Games.

I have a NSP from the new M Party.

My Switch is on 4.1.0

Tinfoil says that the game requires a newer FW.

Is there any way to Bypass that ?

Mario Party does not need 6. 5 is fine. You will need to update your Switch at least to that version.
 
Last edited by Taorn,
  • Like
Reactions: Erol

loon111

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
182
Trophies
0
XP
586
Country
Hi , mine is on 5.1 or something, an i use sx pro, is it safe to update online? Or shall i stay as am u think?

Regards
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
How is it work? Can I downgrade, after install to 5.1 with ChoiDujourNX?
Yes, but it involves a complicated process where you have to mount the file system. Just update, apply autoRCM and forget.
 

Bigjokker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
330
Country
United States
Hello,
I have a Question about the new 6.0 Games.
I have a NSP from the new M Party.
My Switch is on 4.1.0
Tinfoil says that the game requires a newer FW.
Is there any way to Bypass that ?

You can try repacking game with hacpack. Was told would remove firmware requirement. I'm on 6.0 so haven't tested.
 
Last edited by Bigjokker,
  • Like
Reactions: loler55

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,638
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,220
Country
United States
You can try repacking game with hacpack. Was told would remove firmware requirement. I'm on 6.0, so haven't tested.
It can remove the masterkey encryption on higher firmwares but not for other files such as the .NSO which is most likely hardcoded to run on higher firmwares. I tried rebuilding Freedom Planet for firmware 4.1 but was unable to run it because of the .NSO file requiring firmware 5.X
 
  • Like
Reactions: loler55

Bigjokker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
330
Country
United States
Talking to @The-4n he said the main file doesn't contain any firmware requirements but if the game uses a feature added to the new firmware it will crash.
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,273
Trophies
1
XP
3,901
Country
United Kingdom
I haven't heard of any games that require 6.0 yet (only the latest updates to older games).

Going into the manual on sonic wouldn't work until I updated to 6, but the game worked fine.

I suspect it's more to do with it being a separate application and tinfoil doesn't change it, than encryption related though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: loler55

loler55

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
1,029
Trophies
0
XP
1,508
Country
Gambia, The
It can remove the masterkey encryption on higher firmwares but not for other files such as the .NSO which is most likely hardcoded to run on higher firmwares. I tried rebuilding Freedom Planet for firmware 4.1 but was unable to run it because of the .NSO file requiring firmware 5.X
Ohh eventually i can use this to play toad on 3.01;) since sx os 2.0 is broken
 
Last edited by loler55,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Yes