1. mrkurtcobain

    OP mrkurtcobain GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    I decided a few weeks back to hard mod my device, I did so and when I went to put battery in, I accidentally put it in backwards because the case wasn't on to guide it the right way. Anyways I was recommended to change my daughter board.
    So I replaced my daughter board and now its doing something else. The light comes on, and stays on for about 2 seconds, then the screens flicker on for like 1 millisecond and there is a slight popping sound from the speakers, and then it shuts itself off. I've tried opening the device slowly and still nothing, can you tell me whats wrong now?
     
  2. endoverend

    endoverend AKA zooksman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,846
    Country:
    United States
    Check your ribbon cables and your fuses.
     
  3. mrkurtcobain

    OP mrkurtcobain GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    I have to wait until my meter gets here to check fuses, but I checked all the cables I messed with and they are all connected nice, none of them are damaged as far as the eye can see with a glass lens.
     
  4. endoverend

    endoverend AKA zooksman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,846
    Country:
    United States
    This issue is well documented, and the ribbon cables are typically always the problem. Check to make sure there are no tears and that they are all seated properly. Try powering on the system while the top screen is hinged at different angles. The only other thing that typically causes this problem is a damaged LCD, but considering you replaced the daughterboard the ribbon cables are most likely your problem. Check the one connected to the top screen.
     
  5. mrkurtcobain

    OP mrkurtcobain GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    Like Ive said I have checked all of the ribbon cables that I touch or would even of had access to when doing the hard mod. Should I check the ones that I cant see as well?
     
  6. endoverend

    endoverend AKA zooksman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,846
    Country:
    United States
    I would, because that's the only thing I can think would cause the problem. Or you could wait around to see if other people have any ideas.
     
  7. milerwan

    milerwan Seasoned technician
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    France
    The issue seems to come from top screen ribbons which are not correctly inserted or maybe torn.

    Try to see if the both top and bottom LCD flashes or just one of the two.
     
  8. mrkurtcobain

    OP mrkurtcobain GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    JUST THE TOP SCREEN FLASHES
     
  9. milerwan

    milerwan Seasoned technician
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    France
    Ok so the matter is surely with the Power ribbon of bottom screen.
    Check the black connector, this one should not be raised.

    If it was raised, remove the ribbon and attempt to reasonably press it to get a better constraint.
    Especially be careful to not break it.
     
    Last edited by milerwan, Mar 24, 2016
  10. Huey Lewis

    Huey Lewis Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Same issue after removing the motherboard.
    Dumb question, is the 3 ribbon cables that connect the top screen, is there a guide that shows which cable goes where? Or is it as obvious as it looks.
    Also, how would you know if it's the fuses or the ribbon cables?
     
  11. milerwan

    milerwan Seasoned technician
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    France
    What screen flashes ?
    The screen that flashes is ok, the matter will be with the other so check the ribbons of it.
     
  12. Vinny83

    Vinny83 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Your problem has to do with the three ribbons in the corner. You have the longest one back words. Flip it and it should work
     
    JMONHEYMON likes this.
  13. JMONHEYMON

    JMONHEYMON Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    thank you it helped me
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - issue,